We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Riviera
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Beaulieu-sur-Mer
Austin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent Value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Riviera. As other reviewers have mentioned, they run a tight ship. But this has resulted in a very pleasant, clean and quiet place to stay. Their request for keeping noise level down is understandable - when my husband was on the phone I could hear him downstairs; but we never heard any of the other guests. They don't allow eating in the room so when we got sandwiches at the grocery store we ate in the breakfast room (I hope that was okay - we didn't actually ask!).

We found the room and bathroom to be plenty large. The location is great, with easy access to the train and buses. Up the road a bit is a laundry service where a gentleman washed, dried and folded a single load for 10 euros (a bit expensive perhaps but, hey, we were on vacation). Wifi was very intermittent, which was a little frustrating since we were hoping to download a movie to watch at night. Service was excellent - you really feel like you are staying with friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IvySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    32
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
55
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

the hotel riviera is a tightly run ship; very simple, no frills, but super clean, and well located with friendly, helpful owners. we loved walking out to st jean for lunch and the beach or dining down at the marina. it's a beautiful region and the hotel riviera allows you to experience it at a very modest room rate. I would say it's popular with the experienced traveler (self-sufficient, cost conscious, but discerning). there are no elevators, and rooms are compact. there's a nice small outdoor space and indoor sitting room with stacks of multi-national magazines and books to borrow.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank peartreehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for three nights the room was small but very clean. Toilet was minute, anyone who is tall (or wide) might have an issue! Friendly owners who recommended very good restaurants etc. Wifi was intermittent but that wasn't a huge problem. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had a very happy week staying at Hotel Riviera in July. Anne and Jacques made us feel really at home and the hotel was very comfortable. The hotel is small and friendly. The room had everything we needed and was spotless, and the daily maid did a fantastic job each day. The bed was really comfortable and with air-con and shutters we slept soundly. The street is extremely quiet. We were never disturbed, even though its only 5 mins from the station. The hotel is in a great location to access everything. The area has everything we wanted with beaches, great places to eat and stunning coastal walks. We would happily return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Riviera for 2 nights, in June 2013. We found our hosts friendly and most helpful in advising where to get the bus to Monaco, where to eat dinner etc. Our room was comfortable and spotlessly clean. The hotel is in the centre of town, situated close to beach, bus stop and 5 minutes from the station. They were redoing the roads in the town, while we were there, to make them into pedestrian walks but somehow we did not hear the noise from the hotel! The petit dejeuner, French breakfast, was good, served in a courtyard where we could get WiFi and our emails while we had breakfast. We would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craighall56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Hotel Riviera is a lovely place to stay. The welcome was absolutely fantastic - the hosts were friendly, welcoming and gave me great advice on places to eat and things to do in the local area. The room was comfortable and well decorated, and just ideal. The town is lovely - right on the coast with great walks to nearby villages. The hotel is right near the centre of Beaulieu and very close to a bus route and the train station, so you really do not need to hire a car. It was a fantastic holiday - and I can't wait to go back soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingatestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed in Hotel Riviera for 4 nights in mid-March 2013 taking a short break to meet friends. The room was perfectly adequate for the short stay, spotlessly clean and extreemly quiet. Some hotels in Beaulieu Sur Mer suffer from noise from the railway or roads, but not this one as it was a good distance from both.
It was a family run hotel and the owners, Anne and Jacques, were attentive, friendly and helpful and provided good advice (in English) for both the local restaurants, sights and activities in the area. As it is a family run hotel there is no night service but we did not find this a problem.
The location of the hotel was excellent. A couple of minutes walk from the 100 bus stop (with fares at1€ for any journey or 4€ for a day pass), a short walk to the town centre and railway station and close to the beaches. Although we hired a car for the day to go to the mountains, a car was not necessary due to the very good public transport. Both Nice and Monaco were easily accessible.
Beaulieu Sur Mer has a nice mix of things to see and do and we will certainly be back to the Hotel Riviera.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaulieu-sur-Mer
0.1 mi away
La Reserve de Beaulieu Hotel & Spa
La Reserve de Beaulieu Hotel & S...
#1 of 14 in Beaulieu-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal-Riviera
Hotel Royal-Riviera
#2 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton Beaulieu
Hotel Carlton Beaulieu
#6 of 14 in Beaulieu-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Beaulieu-sur-Mer
Ibis Styles Beaulieu-sur-Mer
#2 of 14 in Beaulieu-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Select
Hotel Select
#5 of 14 in Beaulieu-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inter Hotel Frisia
Inter Hotel Frisia
#4 of 14 in Beaulieu-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Property: Hotel Riviera
Address: 6 rue Paul Doumer, 06310 Beaulieu-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Beaulieu-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Beaulieu-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
hotel RIVIERA is a little charming hotel,it's look like a family house,with his quiet patio around provencal foutain and his palm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing