We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthdays and Anniversary”

Le Comptoir de la Tourraque
Reserve with
Le Comptoir de la Tourraque is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 665 Restaurants in Antibes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $37
Cuisines: French, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Birthdays and Anniversary”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My two friends, cousin and I had a truly wonderful meal at this restaurant last night. We chose the menu at 36 Euros which allowed us to have free choice of the whole menu. We started with a champagne aperitif, followed but a taster of mushroom soup. Starters were delicious as we're the mains. Beautifully cooked and just enough. Good choice of sweet desserts or cheese. To finish we were offered a rum drink with a sugar sphere filled with liqueur, the trick being to drink the rum, then the sphere which bursts in your mouth. This was followed by creme de menthe. The restaurant is quite small and is only open for evening meals. The one waitress coped admirably with the 20 or so people there. The ambiance was great and there was no hurry so we had time to relax and chat between courses. My guess is you would pay between £70 -£90 for similar in London. Very, very good value & very popular, so you need to book a table.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller0014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    85
    20
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cannes, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unassuming Excellence”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Cosy quaint restaurant located in the old town of Antibes excellent quality of food with great service from the champaign peach aperitif to the flaming creme brûlée desert. We will definitely be returning to this restaurant soon - delicious!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Unassuming, cosy, good food”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Le comptoir is in a lovely old building in old-town Antibes, with big old wooden doors at the entrance and a rustic slate & chalk menu hanging on the outside wall. Inside it is cosy and equally rustic. The lone waitress did a good job of giving us a speedy and friendly service and the 30 and 36 euro menus gave a good, if not limited choice.
The food was really quite good - we had just popped in as we fancied dinner out and live locally, so we were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the cooking. I can highly recommend the fois gras starter, I could have happily eaten it again for my main! They seem to have a small obsession with lavender as there was some in most dishes
Wine menu not so great, our bottle of Cote de Rhone really was just cheap plonk with a huge mark-up, but even so I would happily return soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrightonBecki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“CONSISTENTLY EXCELLENT, CONSISTENTLY DIVINE!!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Had just the most wonderful dinner last night at this gorgeous, atmospheric and charming restaurant.
Foie gras de maison, scallops, duck and beautiful 'home-made' deserts all wonderful!!
Will definitely not leave it so long next time!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank crumpet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Creative and cosy - with some föses”
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

This is an excellent restaurant, serving creative food in a cosy, old-fashioned setting. There are some things to improve, however, such as the somewhat whimsy service, the light and still costly wines, and the desserts which are not really at the same level as the other dishes. Until then, Le Comptoir remains a nice but quite pricey experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jorrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Comptoir de la Tourraque also viewed

Antibes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Antibes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Antibes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Antibes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Antibes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Antibes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Comptoir de la Tourraque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing