We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location but you get what you pay for.”
Review of Hotel de l'Etoile

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de l'Etoile
Ranked #38 of 86 Hotels in Antibes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2011

A hotel that is in an excellent location in the heart of Antibes. A cheap hotel where the majority of staff are helpful and pleasant. This excludes a plump lady with thick dark rimmed glasses who is possibly one of the most ill-mannered, rude people, I have ever come across after travelling to many places around the world.
The rooms are basic but clean but the towels have certainly seen better days. The beds are very small and are more suited for children rather than adults over 6ft. The room was also very noisy and at 0530hrs every day the street cleaners decide to turn their engines on.
In conclusion I would say an adequate hotel for the price but you definitely get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danads42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 117 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2011

We had read the other reviews of this hotel so decided to try it out. We certainly agree with the other reviewers regarding the helpful, friendly service, price and amenities. If you came by car, you are able to park in the loading zone at the front door when you arrive so you can unload your suitcases and get settled in. The front desk clerk even suggested that we unpack, go for lunch and feel well settled in before we bothered to take the car to the parking garage that is about 100m away. Just one caution, the road to the front door of the hotel is one way, as are several roads around the hotel so be sure you are clear on your directions as you head into Antibes.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rainy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

At the price, I was afraid of a flea dump - no need to worry, it turns out the Hotel de l'Etoile is just very reasonably priced for a hotel in Antibes (or anywhere really). Room was small but not the smallest by any means with a decent sized bathroom. No kettle or tea/coffee maker, but there is a fridge. No balcony, but windows do open. Balcony would be a bit of a waste anyway as the hotel is in the centre of town. Location fantastic - right by the train station, 2 minutes to the central shopping areas. Loads of nice cafes just outside the door. Free Wifi, clean and very friendly. Would definitely stay here again (if it wasn't just up the street from where I live now!) and certainly recommend it to friends and family visiting us.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights . It is a good central location, everything you need on your doorstep. It is a basic hotel , spotlessly clean with very friendly helpful staff.
Bedroom was very spacious with fridge and effective air conditioning. I would stay in this hotel when I return to Antibes.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank La-rive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

The hotel is near the train station and a ten-minute walk from the beach or the center of town. The first desk staff we met was extremely helpful and nice; the last was the rudest person we'd encountered so far. The room was basic but had the bonuses of air conditioning and a refrigerator. Plus free wifi. Decent size, clean, bathroom was fine. We ate breakfast one morning, an assortment of pastries plus coffee and juice. Not amazing, but the waitresses were so nice and having such a good time it made for a fun morning. There are a lot of grocery stores around, and a great little cafe across the street. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisanCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

This hotel is an easy walk from the railway station. The room I had was on the fourth floor with a distant view of the water. The room was pretty large (compared to my room in Paris); bed a little worn - indent where others had slept over many years. Bathroom door didn't shut properly and the room/bathroom had a septic smell. Noise from street if window is opened, but that seems to be typical France (and adds to atmosphere). Staff helpful and friendly and spoke English. Free wifi, safe in room and fridge - which is a bonus. They allow dogs in the rooms. Would recommend for an overnight stay, and it is a good price.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travellingschel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Triple room has a perfect sea view over the city roofs. We enjoyed staying there very much. Helpfull service. Recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OlgaFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antibes hotels
0.2 mi away
Modern Hotel
Modern Hotel
#43 of 86 in Antibes
61 reviews
0.7 mi away
Astor Hotel
Astor Hotel
#3 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
375 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Petit Castel Hotel
Le Petit Castel Hotel
#1 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Pre Catelan
Hotel Le Pre Catelan
#20 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
211 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Marjolaine
La Marjolaine
#25 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Place Hotel Antibes
La Place Hotel Antibes
#3 of 86 in Antibes
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Etoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Etoile

Address: 2 avenue Gambetta, 06600, Antibes, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Antibes
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Antibes
Price Range: $64 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de l'Etoile 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de l'Etoile welcomes you all year long and 24 / 24 in the center of Antibes. We offer several room types, each room has free WiFi access , mini- bar, toilet and separate in the room, cable TV, safe. Possibility to order a room service breakfast. Business corner and ironing room available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de l'Etoile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Etoile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing