We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a -rahter rough- pub”
Review of The Hop Store

The Hop Store
Ranked #236 of 646 Restaurants in Antibes
Price range: $13 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Based just metres from the Port of Antibes in the Old Town.
Juan-les-Pins, France
Level Contributor
169 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“It's a -rahter rough- pub”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I was rather shocked by all the excellent reviews, which are bizarrely all people having one single review.

It's a pub, rather lively, but not a place I would ever think having a dinner. People are usually workers on boats that brag about how great they are. Staff is rather rude - pub is full anyway, why they should care?

Stop there for an expensive pint if you feel like, don't ever consider this for dinner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank krotas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    89
    28
    15
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, British Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Veggie burger needs improvement”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Their beer selection is good, but the veggie burger is essentially a bun full of tater tots. The atmosphere is kind of awkward and cold, and they really like showing music videos on their oversized screens. The service was alright.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OnTheBallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mediocre veggie burger, subpar atmosphere...”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

As much as I loved Antibes, I admit, it was not the most hospitable place for Vegetarians. This proved to be a bit of a trouble one night as my girlfriend and I traversed the town looking for a decent place to get a bite to eat. We stumbled upon The Hop Store and noticed that they had a veggie burger. What luck! We both ordered a beer and a veggie burger. The beer was fine but the veggie burger was not very good. It was essentially hash browns (seriously), a bunch of random vegetables with a slice of cheese thrown on top. In my desperation to make it more palatable I smothered it with mustard to little avail. The decor was not very impressive either. We were subjected to annoying music videos of the most recent pop hits which,quite frankly, I am not fond of. It took a long time for us to get the bill when we wanted to leave because the waitress was too busy being accosted by some local hooligans. All in all it was a disappointing experience and I am honestly confused as to why this place is rated so highly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JFo_1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Could not recommend a better place to go”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Having recently found myself in the south of france, I was recommend to try the hop store in Antibes. So I decided to go for lunch with some friends. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, I was told to try one of their burgers, so I did. I have travelled a lot worldwide and I can safely say is that it was probably one of the best burgers I've ever had in my life and the fries were second to none. We stayed for the afternoon enjoying the sun on the terrace, the table service was fantastic and made us very comfortable. We ended up staying longer than expected and ended up having dinner, a fantastic salad. Next we knew it was buzzing with a melting pot of nationalities, all there for a great night of live music.

I have been back to the hop store many times since, each as good as the first. I would not only recommend the burger to people, but also the great English breakfast and the Fantastic Sunday Roast. There are certainly no places that can match it in Antibes for not only the great atmosphere but the welcoming, friendly and helpful staff, not forgetting the food. And very few places on the whole of the riviera that can come close.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
94 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“don't know what the fuss is about”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

It's an ok bar, but full of drunk yachties...a breed of their own. Food is ok, nothing special, staff can be rude...but its South of France so its normal. The quay down the road is a friendlier place....but still full of yachties!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveeMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hop Store also viewed

Antibes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Antibes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Antibes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Antibes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to The Hop Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing