We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“had a great time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marineland

Marineland
Book In Advance
More Info
$474.78*
and up
Private Tour: 6-Hour Family Friendly Sightseeing Tour of the French Riviera...
Ranked #9 of 94 things to do in Antibes
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bienvenue au coeur du plus grand parc marin d'Europe !Fonde en 1970, Marineland est le reflet de la passion d'un homme : le Comte Roland de la Poype. En ouvrant les portes du Parc antibois, le Comte se dote d'une mission bien precise : transmettre sa passion pour le monde marin a un large public afin de lui faire decouvrir cet univers fascinant.Au fil du temps, Marineland diversifie son offre et enrichit son espace avec l'ouverture de plusieurs parcs thematiques : La Ferme du Far West, Adventure Golf et Aquasplash. Depuis juillet 2006, l'Espace Marineland fait partie du groupe espagnol Parques Reunidos : leader europeen sur le segment des parcs animaliers et aquatiques. L'Espace Marineland vous invite a la rencontre du monde marin : a travers ses spectacles, mais aussi ses expositions et animations pedagogiques, c'est la richesse de la faune marine qui est devoilee. Dauphins, orques, otaries, manchots, requins... pres de 35 especes evoluent dans notre Parc pour vous eblouir le temps d'une visite forte en emotion !La preservation des animaux, appelee plus generalement la conservation des especes, est aussi le message de fond que le parc cherche a promouvoir aupres de ses visiteurs. La Fondation Marineland, creee en 2011, renforce cet engagement. Les naissances que nous avons regulierement sur le Parc, temoignent egalement de cet objectif essentiel pour un parc animalier.En 2013 ce sont des bebes otaries et des bebes manchots qui ont vu le jour !En 2014 nous esperons encore d'autres naissances et surprises a vous faire vivre et partager !Nos trois autres Parcs : Aquasplash ouvert en juin, Kids Island et Adventure Golf toute l'annee, vous permettent aussi de diversifi er votre visite a l'Espace Marineland ! Des jeux aquatiques aux parcours de mini-golf, en passant par l'univers de Kids Island ou les lemuriens et autres activites vous attendent: vous variez les univers et les plaisirs !Vous etes chaque annee nombreux a venir sur nos Parcs et nous vous en remercions, nos equipes restent a votre disposition pour repondre toujours au mieux a vos attentes de visite.Decouvrez toutes l'actualite de Marineland sur facebook et profitez de reportages complets et inedits grace a la web TV Marineland !
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“had a great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Had a great day here, loved the orca and dolphin shows. A wonderful experience meeting the dolphins. Plenty to do and see and definitely would need the 2 day pass to get around the 4 parks as on the one day pass you would never have enough time to do them all

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allyf388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    735
    1,079
    725
    396
    306
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had original plans to visit the Marineland/Kid’s Island on Sunday, but due to change of plans we had to postpone the visit to Monday. Actually we were a little bit skeptical, if there would be enough attractions for a half a day visit since the Kid’s Island was closed. However, the half a day that we were able to spend there, went really quickly and we even had to hurry through most of the attractions. Tickets are pricy, but on the other hand I have never seen an Orca show and it was well worth it. For me everything else was just a plus. From the tourist office (Cannes) we were able find 12 euro discount flyer (3 euros/per ticket) and it was naturally a welcome surprise. Maybe because it was Monday and the Kid’s Island was not open, there were not too many people in the Marineland. Naturally some of the restaurants were closed, but those that were open were not even full, except for some short periods. I found the Marineland a really children friendly place and for most attractions you were able go with a pushchair. There was even couple of playgrounds. Orca show great, sea lions nice. We even missed to the dolphin show, but there was enough to see even without that. We arrived with a train to the Biot train stations, which was only a couple of hundred meters away.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NNe196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing family experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

A must do in the French riviera. A day packed with a lot of fun activities and spectacular dolphin and Orcas shows. We bought the combined ticket of Marineland with the wild west farm and mini golf which is only a little more expensive than the Marineland only ticket and is a good bargain if you want to spend the whole day. The night shows are different from the ones in the day and are a lot less crowded with a few surprises :), but they are only offered in August.
A lot of food options are available inside the park but don't expect prices to be cheap :). If you come by car you can quit the park and have a nice lunch in Antibes with the cost of an extra parking ticket (7 euros).
Mini golf was more fun at night as it was not crowded and the scorching sun wasn't around anymore.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank usmanfarrokh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
299 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“What an experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Bought combined tickets for this attraction & Aquasplash located next door. Good price considering that it was high season & it's prominent location on the Côte d'Azur in Biot.
We paid£145 for 2 days entertainment for a family of 4 at the water park & 2 adults and 1 child @Marineland. Parking costs €7per day. Food & drinks are quite expensive. Lots of people bring discreet picnics.
Marineland itself is fantastic. Well laid out with shows throughout the day with seals, sea lions, killer whales and dolphins. There are also penguins, sharks & a polar bear displays. All of the shows were busy. We reached the killer whale arena 45 mins early to get a great view with a seat in the shade.
All in all a great day out with something for everyone!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kat35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Hopeless website but an interesting experience once there”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Even the English version of the website is tricky to interpret; there is just not enough information given. A contact number for general enquiries, such as directions, is not given. We booked VIP tickets but there really is very little information about where to park and meet given. We discovered most of what we were supposed to do by reading through other reviews on TA.

So you follow the signs to marineland, once in the vicinity of Antibes, turn up at car park 1 just before 9am, drive right to the top where the information desk is, and hang around there till they stop setting up shop and someone comes out to let everyone in. Even though the website says a maximum of 12 people in each VIP group, there were 16 in ours.

Breakfast - best plan is to have it before you arrive as it is not served till after 11am and even then comprises only a glass of orange juice, a selection of mini croissants and a drink from a machine.

Moan over.

If you have mixed feelings about keeping animals of any kind in captivity, then this is an educational visit. The keepers will answer any questions thrown at them, and I asked some pretty pertinent ones. The animals are all part of conservation programmes and were mostly born in captivity via artificial insemination. The animals are trained in the process so that they have no idea when the actual event is going to occur, and therefore there is a limited amount of stress involved.
Semen is exchanged between "conservation parks" the world over and therefore inbreeding is avoided. Whether or not "released" individuals (e.g. polar bears) would actually survive in the wild remains to be seen.

However, the fact that the animals are breeding must mean that they are being extrememly well looked after and to all intents and purposes, happy enough if we can anthropomorphise. Certainly the orca show was quite a spectacle and hats off to the trainers, who enjoy their work. Everything is done to a reward, food of course, and we saw impatient orca waiting for the show to start as they knew lunch would be coming.

The show starts at 14:30 and lasts around 30 mins. If I understood correctly, the sequence is mixed up every time so that the animals do not habituate and thus become bored, also a very good system of management.

The rest of the place became busy toward lunchtime. The shark tunnel is quite a spectacle.
VIP tickets definately worth it. Photos (that they take) cost 10 euro each, and can be printed to CD for 25 euro extra. Car parking is not included in the VIP ticket cost. But somehow after all the impassioned explanations from the keepers and trainers, one does not seem to mind these extras as it is all for the animals upkeep and facilities. Some of the staff are even volunteers.

A very special treat indeed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank fishscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marineland also viewed

Antibes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Antibes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Antibes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Antibes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Marineland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing