We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Park, Great Location...”
Review of CAMPING du PYLONE

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antibes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
CAMPING du PYLONE
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Park, Great Location...”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My fiancee and I went with friends to this site where we stayed in their static home, and we had a blast!

The site has a shop, a bakery, bar, pizzeria, restaurant and a stage where entertainment is provided every night free of charge, The bar also has a Happy Hour service so make sure you get down to enjoy some cheaper drinks. All the prices at the on site facilities are reasonable when compared with the local, larger supermarkets which are a 10 minute train journey away.
There are lots of activities and play areas for kids and some of the residents on site provide fishing / boating trips also.

Local towns Juan Le Pins and Biot are both beautiful and well worth a visit.

The site has lost one star on this review simply because the on site swimming pool charges for entrance (5 Euros) and then charges for sunbeds (5 Euros) once you've been admitted. A little harsh on the regulars - but the local beach is 5 minutes walk away and more than makes up for lack of a free pool.

We had a great time, we hope you do too!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Z4nder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    103
    47
    25
    25
See reviews for
172
52
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Excellent ! Just come back from holiday there with my partner in September and so it was out of peak season. Because of this, all the children had gone back to school and so the site was lovely and quiet ! We bought food from the fresh bakery very regularly which was amazing !!! Also, the fresh hand made pizza was absolutely to die for ! The only downside is that the wifi can only be connected at the front of the site. Apart from that, the holiday was lovely ! :) Very close to the beach and very close to the train station and bus station from which you can travel all the way to Cannes for only one euro ! And only one stop on the train from a supermarket :) ! Also, feel safe as there is 24 hour security and the gates are locked with a man manning the gate !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Catrina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We enjoyed two lovely weeks here this year. The site is kept clean - the bakery is exc ellent - the shop has all you need and the bar/restaurant has a fixed price menu which is very reasonable. Only grumble would be the football on the large screens which can be turned up very loud at times.
You really dont need a car - buses and trains are within a few minutes walk. Marineland is well worth a visit (if you see all the shows and have lunch you can easily pass a nice day there). The Adventure golf along side Marineland is great fun ! We visited Monaco/Cannes and enjoyed the beaches at Villeneuve and Juan les Pins (easily reached by train - and nobody seems to mind you getting on the trains with beach chairs/rubber rings and beach bags!) Its worth going on the No. 10 to Biot village - its a typical hill village with lots of arty/crafty shops and good restaurants. There were stalls when we went but do not know if this is every day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kathynunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

It looks really quaint when u drive in and loads of greenery and trees. the caravans range from basic to luxurious(you get what u pay for ). The roads and paths are well kept proper cement so ok for buggy /wheelchair . The pool and kids play area are clean. there is a baby pool too. The water was freezing in Sept. If you plan to go in the summer you should try to get aircon as the caravans at night are soooo stuffy and if you open the window you risk the moskitos depending when you go. The buses are brilliant only 1€ kids free. you must eat at The auberge on site wonderful food. the onsite bakery is lovely too! I was disappointed with local stony beach and manmade beach at Antibes as it was windy it was cold and rough and also no toilets on beach BUT a lovely site to use as a base to visit Antibes Nice Monaco Monte Carlo etc. on a budget.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We hired a caravan from Jo and Damien, the forth time from them.We always try to pick one thats 5 mins walk from the shop and bar. The van is not the most modern but after all you only sleep in it. On the site we found that the prices are the same as the intermache and we only went there because we had taken our car.The bakery is superb and the lady who runs this,is a very cheerful lady considering the hours she puts in.The bar is expensive but double up at happy hour after all this is the south of france.The pizzeria is great ,excellent pizzas but with the exception of the pizza maker the other staff need to liven up and not panic when there are lots of people waiting.The surrounding towns and cities are amazing but in ventimiglia the market seems to have gone down in standard every other stall selling the same thing. The buses to Biot are brilliant and the drivers tell you when to get off, the trains are a little expensive but worth it compared to british trains.Two things worth remembering, one : take enough insect repellent with you and you wont get bitten, but I ran out and the shop was expensive and seemed to make the mossies bite me more.The second is we drove down from Liverpool and on the way home we where 1 hour from Nice when the engine blew in our car.I paid for RAC european cover and it was well worth it they paid for the towing,taxi, hire car to Calais and hire car to Liverpool from Dover, you have been warned take enough cover.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank angelefc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I've been coming here since I was little and still love each trip. I usually stay in caravans but have camped for a few weeks last year too.
Pro's - Constant staff presence makes you feel safe, pizzeria is excellent, they clean the shower blocks often, they've had some great bands playing as night entertainment, the office keep stuff safe for you, gate staff are always happy to help and multilingual, great location for beaches and buses etc, the onsite supermarket has a good selection and Intermarche is only a half hours walk away, pool is free from 1st Sept, there are places to park your bike, leaflets and book swap at reception, always have camping spot available due to the camps size.
Con's - Supermarket staff are not always as attentive as they should be, sometimes it can get noisy at night if you're staying near the bar area, drinks are kinda expensive, WiFi is temperamental, pool expensive in peak season.
Also to note - People have mentioned the lifeguards being overly rule conscious but I can assure you as a trained lifeguard and swimming instructor it's all for a reason! When the lifeguards were not present from Sept 1st I couldn't sit by the pool and relax while children were running and diving into shallow water.
The site is very much equipped for the English during the height of summer, there's an English section in the supermarket with Heinz beans and Scottish shortcake etc, the souvenir shop is open and all the staff start with English unless they know you're French. This all isn't necessarily bad just something to think about if you want to immerse yourself in French living while you're down here.

If you are wanting a camping/caravan/brits abroad holiday atmosphere come in the height of summer... If you want a quieter holiday when the kids are back at school and it's mainly French visitors and caravan owners left, come before or after high season.

Overall I've found my stays at Pylone to be great holidays.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank G-Mercedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We have just returned from Camping du Pylone and cant really praise it enough. We hired a caravan from http://www.holidayriviera.co.uk and must say both Anne and Harvey were great. He picked us up from the airport and drove us to the site where were introduced to our home for two weeks. Clean, Tidy and very welcoming ( They even lent me a bike to get around the camp)

The camp is tidy and has all the things you need. The pizzeria is amazing, the on site resturant was very good and reasonable 16 euros for a 3 course meal, The on site supermarket had everything you needed and was not over priced. The bakery was just wow! Fresh bread everyday!

The staff onsite were very helpful in helping find things to do so overall was great.

The location is amazing! We got on the train to cannes, antibes, monacco, and Italty and the beach is a 5-10 min walk. Yes you do have to cross a busy road, but if you are normal andknow the green cross code even in france it is ok.

We even charted a boat for the day from a guy called Kevin, what a day!!!!!! Well worth the money and everyone knows him so you just have to ask about it...and yes it is called KEVINS BOAT !!!

T

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank robchants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antibes hotels
2.5 mi away
Royal Antibes Hotel, Residence, Beach & Spa
1.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Antibes
Ibis Styles Antibes
#15 of 86 in Antibes
658 reviews
2.8 mi away
Les Strelitzias
Les Strelitzias
#7 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Port Prestige
0.3 mi away
Marineland Hotel
Marineland Hotel
#40 of 86 in Antibes
250 reviews
2.7 mi away
Astor Hotel
Astor Hotel
#4 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CAMPING du PYLONE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CAMPING du PYLONE

Property: CAMPING du PYLONE
Address: 189 avenue du Pylone, 06600, Antibes, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Antibes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Antibes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — CAMPING du PYLONE 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the Coast, at just 200 meters far from the Sea, 4 km far from Antibes center, between Nice and Cannes, you can take advantage completely and easily of your stay on Riviera thanks to the closeness of the Station of Biot (Train & Bus)... Relaxation and discovery of Côte d'Azur and Provence. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camping Du Pylone Hotel Antibes
Du Pylone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing