We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camp Du Pylone”
Review of CAMPING du PYLONE

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antibes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
CAMPING du PYLONE
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Camp Du Pylone”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We have stayed at this camp site the last 2 years, and we have had two really lovely holiday's, we are looking to go back next year too. I do not normally comment on these sites as most people only go on to have a moan, but after reading a few i felt i would. On both occassions we have stayed with Gem Holiday's run by Dave Croft And Gemma (Sorry Gemma cant remember your last name) but on both occasions they have both been very welcoming and assisted us whenever we needed it. We did have a problem with our boiler whilst there, and within 15mins of reporting it, they were there with a boiler engineer fixing it for us and this was all at 8pm in the evening. Now i agree the caravans are not by any means on a prestige level and if you are looking for this then i would say this whole site has no more than 5 caravan too book. But everything this site has to offer, and it excellent transport links to the South of France are second to none. The managers of the restaurant are lovely and brought us drinks on many occasions and got us tables when there were que's It can feel a pain paying for the pool daily (2 euro's each) but when you price up a family holiday in spain or a well know camp in France (key camp) for 4 you are looking at an easy £3000 for flight accomodation etc, and here you pay on average £1650 for flights from the uk, accomodation, transfers, linen and towel hire and pool charges, so i think this speaks for itself. You dont get the ritz for paying peanuts, but our caravans where clean, definately not of the best standards but all we did was sleep and shower there, and the site showeres are immaculate. I think what some people are forgetting is you are actually at a camp site and there standards are not on a level with uk, have you ever looked at haven holiday's have a look at what they charge for a 2 bed caravan in August in there standard range, (inhabitable). If you are looking for a budget holiday with kids this is fab, the weather/food and overall experience is lovely. Also on both occassions we have received our cleaning deposit back from Gem and Dave, also they accidently overcharged us and when i queried this we were refunded without any fuss. i would definately reccommend Gemma and Dave and this camp site. Also with the 2 caravans we have had we have viewed there pics via there web site and they are very like for like, clean, basic, dated but worth a cheep hols.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CK123Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    103
    46
    25
    25
See reviews for
171
52
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
HERTFORDSHIRE
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Stayed at Camp Du Pylone in August 2011 with husband and son. Rented mobile home from Le Mirage Holidays. Camp site OK, lots for younger kids to do, didn't use the swimming pool as my hubby and son wouldn't wear the speedo type swimwear! and I don't think I could have stomached some of the sights either!! Camp site in a good location, near a pebble beach, close to marineland and fun fair, and about equal distance between Cannes and Nice so good location for exploring the coast. We went for R&R mainly were we could please ourselves - which this was good for. If you are planning on going then make sure you get a mobile home away from the bar area as it can be noisey at night.

Room Tip: Rent a mobile home away from the bar area as it can be noisey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HERTSHEROS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozel, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2011

A bit like a tin of sardines! Very closely packed caravans. Terrible shower and toilet blocks. The pool was nice (a little grubby) however you have to follow a huge list of rules! The bar and staff was great as was the bakery. Ok location however the trains are infrequent.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fragglecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stayed in August- 2 adults and 3 young children and had an amazing holiday.
Camp du Pylone is not the neat, ultra modern type of site used by keycamp etc but it is probably half the price with the best location imaginable in this part of France.
We stayed in a 2 bed van, managed by Gemma and it was great. Not brand new by any stretch of the imagination but perfectly well equipped and really clean.
We found the site to be friendly and hospitable with all nationalities getting on and enjoying the entertainment. We did witness the incident mentioned in previous posts but to be honest, it was well managed by the site security and definately seemed to be a one off.
Overall, if you want to see the sights Monaco, Nice, Cannes etc and enjoy all the local theme parks with a family, we couldn't recommend this site more highly. We can't say how good trains or buses were as we bravely drove all the way down!!
As soon as we can find a 3 bed van for the dates we want next Aug, we'll be booking again!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank live4hols_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

My husband, son and I returned from a 13 day holiday to campu du pylone on the 3rd September. This was our first holiday in the south of France and it had been recommended to me by friends and family. We booked our caravan through Gem Holidays ran by Gemma Ryan and Dave Croft. From the front the caravan looked okay, however on entering we found a dated, ill-equipped (excuse for a caravan) unfit for purpose. No seating, no oven, inadequate kitchen facilities, dirty and awful bed linen. We are not complainers and never said anything at the time through fear of them kicking us out and us having no accommodation. I paid almost £800 and have since learned that we were ripped off. Other caravans which were like palaces were half the price!! We lived with the awful caravan as Camp du Pylone and the whole 'South of France' experience made up for it. Can't fault the site, restaurant, shop etc - brilliant. Shame about the shabby caravan we had to stay in, no wonder Gemma couldn't supply photos of the interior!! My biggest gripe is that on departure day we were told we had to be out at 9.00am so at the crack of dawn we cleaned the caravan throughly, it looked better than when we arrived!! When Dave took us back to the airport I asked for my security bond (£50) to which he said we were not entitled to as we had left the caravan filthy and it needed a specialist clean - what a cheek!! What a con!! We left the caravan spotless and Dave Croft (who wears dark shades by the way) is ripping people off - don't book with them. I would hate anyone else to experience what we did. I repeat Camp du Pylone is lovely, just be careful about the caravan you book, steer well clear of Gem Holidays!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We recently stayed here in a mobile home booked through Jo and Damien’s Riviera Mobile Homes.

The site is situated in a nice area with good transport links and many local beaches and towns to visit. The actual site is ok, with facilities including bar, shop, pool, take-away food and free Wi-Fi.

Unfortunately, as other contributors have noted, this site is very “Brits abroad”, and we also witnessed incidents of British rowdy behavior involving the local police.

Regarding our mobile home, it was basic but clean, tidy, and value for the amount we paid. If I were to visit again I would rent a newer, better-equipped van. I would not, however, book through the same company as we had issues regarding the return of our full deposit.

Overall, an average campsite, but choose a nice van.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Friendly_Gardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

August 2011 was our 3rd time at Camp du Pylone. Our teenage daughter loves it and we find that there is a good mix of adult/child activities to enjoy. The big bonus is the availability of public transport so you don't need to hire a car. All bus journeys along the coast are just 1 euro and the train is more expensive but is fantastic and more comfortable for longer journeys. Family Carte Isabelle day train tickets cost 35 euros for 2 adults and 2 children under 16 so they save you money. You are so near to some fantastic places to visit, Vence/Saint Paul du Vence, Grasse and Nice are our favourites and Antibes is a lovely town which is just 10 minutes away on the number 10/200 bus, which are every 10 minutes or so from Biot. Biot is a lovely village too. If you are into art, the Fernand Leger museum in Biot is a must, as is the museum of contemporary art in Nice and the chapel designed by Matisse in Vence.

We tend to shop at the Intermarche in Antibes, which is reasonably priced and the number 10 bus takes you there and back to Biot, so only a few minutes walk with your shopping. There is a great fruit and veg stall in front of the store. Needless to say, supermarket shopping is much cheaper than the campsite shop. However, the onsite bakery is reasonably priced and the bread and cakes are lovely. You can't beat one of their almond croissants for breakfast! Groceries and eating out are much expensive than the UK but then you are in the South of France. The bar is not to everyones taste, with often cheesy entertainment, but we have met some lovely people in there and have had some great nights. Jo and Christian the bar/restaurant managers are really lovely people. The restaurant is nice but doesn't have many veggie options, be prepared for cheese omelette or pizza margherita, but the food is fresh and tasty.

It really feels like you are coming home when you get off the plane and arrive at the site. However, choose your mobile home very carefully as it seems that this makes or breaks your holiday. We cannot recommend Anne and Harvey Christie enough, they really make sure that you have a great holiday and you can guarantee that the mobile home will be clean and modern. They are also quick to respond to any needs you might have when on site, it's great to have the security of knowing there's someone around if you need any advice or help with anything.

The beach is literally 5 minutes from the campsite, but it is pebbly. Sandy beach lovers would much prefer the beach at Cannes-La-Bocca, which is 20 minutes on the train, a lovely small beach which is just next to the train station (but you don't hear the trains!)

A great site for teenagers. The restaurant converts to a disco at 11:30pm and you know that the kids are safe in there. The fair at Antibesland, over the road from the site is also popular with young people but the rides are expensive, about 5 euros a go. One of the main reasons we love the site is that is is old fashioned, but in a good way, the kids are safe and happy and there's always plenty of other kids for them to spend time with.

All in all, a fantastic place to have a summer holiday. We will be going back there for many years to come. It really is an escape from the chaos of life.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antibes hotels
2.5 mi away
Royal Antibes Hotel, Residence, Beach & Spa
2.7 mi away
Les Strelitzias
Les Strelitzias
#7 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
489 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Antibes
Ibis Styles Antibes
#14 of 86 in Antibes
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Marineland Hotel
Marineland Hotel
#37 of 86 in Antibes
239 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Port Prestige
2.6 mi away
Astor Hotel
Astor Hotel
#2 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CAMPING du PYLONE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CAMPING du PYLONE

Property: CAMPING du PYLONE
Address: 189 avenue du Pylone, 06600, Antibes, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Antibes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Antibes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — CAMPING du PYLONE 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the Coast, at just 200 meters far from the Sea, 4 km far from Antibes center, between Nice and Cannes, you can take advantage completely and easily of your stay on Riviera thanks to the closeness of the Station of Biot (Train & Bus)... Relaxation and discovery of Côte d'Azur and Provence. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camping Du Pylone Hotel Antibes
Du Pylone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing