We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place! Going back next year!”
Review of Camping du Pylone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camping du Pylone
Reviewed August 10, 2011

What a fantastic campsite! Great people, very friendly with a real community spirit. Clean and well kept. Great pool area. Great bar area with the choice of eating in the restaurant which was excellent or there is a varied takeaway food menu which was very good and great value. There is a pizza hut which serves freshly cooked pizza, the best we had ever tased! Reasonably priced supermarket and not to forget their own little bakery shop which was just superb! Great location for the bus and train which is cheap and takes you up and down the french riviera. We rented our mobile home from Christina and it was perfect. Mary looked after us when we were there and was extremely helpful. We loved it!

Room Tip: Read reviews online when deciding who to rent mobile homes from.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank natalie3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
There are newer reviews for Camping du Pylone
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 343 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2011

loved every minute of my holiday here,i stayed here for 1 week in june, weather was lovely, very warm, mobile home was clean and comfortable thanks to jim and hilary who we booked it through. campsite was well managed, no noise at nite apart from the planes landing but after a few nights we got used to that too, restaurant is lovely and quite reasonably priced too, train station is just at bottom of the road and gives access to anywhere along the cote d azur, buses are very cheap too 1 euro almost anywhere. just outside the site is fun fair which is great fun also nearby is a waterpark and marineland. i stil cant get over how clean the whole area and surroundings areas are, hardly any rubbish to be seen, especially compared the ireland!!. i have already booked my holiday in same site for this year, i totally fell in love iwth this place! cant say enough about it, def reccommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nicki25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We have stayed at Camp du Pylone five times over the past three years. We have thoroughly enjoyed ourselves every time and are quite unable to resist returning.

It is a very friendly, family run site suitable for all ages. Our son (aged 5) absolutely loves it. The main pool is large and well cared for. There is also a very shallow baby pool. You do have to pay to use the pool in July & August, but it is free the rest of the time. Men, please note that French regulations mean that swimming shorts are not allowed in public pools!

The site contains around a thousand caravans of varying ages and conditions. Please ensure when booking a caravan that it has had a gas safety check as not all of them have!! We have in the main been very lucky with our caravans; however, stay away from renting one from Dianne at Family Sun Holidays. She forgot to inform the manager of our booking which resulted in us being placed in an alternative, smaller, caravan which was very old and tired with the inner door handle missing (amongst other things). She then refused to give us a discount ,despite being in a two bedroom caravan when we had booked a three bedroom one! We have stayed in lovely caravans which we have booked through Harvey Christie and Peter Jones.

Eurocamp this is not, but unlike most Eurocamp sites it is ideally placed to explore the South of France with the bus stop, train station and beach five minutes walk from the camp entrance. You will not need a car to get about which means everyone can take advantage of the cheap but delicious wine! This time we used the bus a lot and it is great as you can travel almost anywhere for 1 Euro!

Jo and Christian, who run the bar and restaurant, are really, really lovely, friendly people. The food in the restaurant is great and very reasonably priced. Also, the pizzas are delicious!! The nightly entertainment is excellent and there is something for everyone. Friday bingo is a particular favourite with large prizes (one of which we won this time!).

Unfortunately, we are unable to return to Camp du Pylone this year, but I do not doubt that we will be back again in 2012!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Holty003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We loved this holiday, it was the first time to the south of france and staying in a mobile home so we didnt know what to expect but were pleasantly suprised. The campsite itself is nothing spectacular but is quiet and clean and in the perfect location for exploring the area. There are lots of older caravans so do some research and choose carefully, ours was fine, clean but was quite old, next time I would book with jo and damien (riviera mobile homes) as their vans looked better and jo is very friendly and down to earth. Transfers are expensive we paid 135 euro for 6 of us so would get on the train next time the train station is just down the road.We travelled around by train and bus and there are some beautiful resorts along the coast the best you will ever see antibes, juan le pins cannes, etc.
One tip- it is very expensive so go to the big intermarche which is 1 stop on the train and stock up on beer, wine (rose 9 euro for 5 litres), fizzy drinks (2 euro for 6 cans) etc and you will save a fortune

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
6  Thank pickets123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Just thought I'd add my comments as I feel qualified after having stayed at the site on four occasions at different times of the year. Myself and husband stayed most recently in a lovely van which made all the difference to our stay. This was in a privately owned van called Saffron which is located in a good area of the site - check out their website http://sites.google.com/site/saffronbiot/home. On previous occasion stayed in a debby vacance van which as one previous writer said are basic in the extreme. Couldn't disagree more about other commentators about the strictness of the site. This is exactly what makes the site a nice family orientated one - chavs would not feel welcome at this site. I had relatives come and visit me whilst I was staying there and it doesn't seem a hardship to have a system where people are monitored. Couldn't have a better location for visiting all places in the south of France - from walking round the Cap de Ferrat or just taking a picnic to the beach opposite the site. Will definitely be visiting again in the near future

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
9  Thank kaffsteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

We arrived mid May and rented our mobile though private owners who were fine. Very reasonable rates and the mobile was clean and tidy. The pool was lovely, we spent a few hours there most days and then travelled out on the train or bus to vist local areas. There is lots to see nearby. We went to the Cannes festival which was interesting and even travelled to Italy for the day. The public transport is fairly cheap too.
With regard to the speedo rule we are girls so it didn't apply to us but this is just the law in France. It would be the same at any site in France. We are planning to go back in Septmeber.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
4  Thank kpamrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Basic site, nice enough and quiet but is quite run down in places, bit of a poor pool area to say they are so fussy about it ie. men cannot wear shorts into it, only speedo type trunks and my goodness you better obey or you are told in no uncertain terms to get out! and as someone else pointed out, the toilets dont even have toilet paper. Also extortionate prices for ice creams-we payed £8.00 for 4 magnums! Bar area ok, again quite old fashioned, whole place could do with a revamp. Best thing about it was the pizza place and the bakery. Wont be in a rush back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sporkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antibes hotels
1.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Antibes
Ibis Styles Antibes
#16 of 86 in Antibes
690 reviews
2.5 mi away
Royal Antibes Hotel, Residence, Beach & Spa
0.3 mi away
Marineland Hotel
Marineland Hotel
#43 of 86 in Antibes
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Port Prestige
3.0 mi away
Sainte Valerie Hotel
Sainte Valerie Hotel
#8 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
264 reviews
3.2 mi away
La Villa Cap d'Antibes
La Villa Cap d'Antibes
#5 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping du Pylone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping du Pylone

Address: 189 avenue du Pylone, 06600, Antibes, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Antibes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Antibes
Price Range: $94 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Camping du Pylone 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the Coast, at just 200 meters far from the Sea, 4 km far from Antibes center, between Nice and Cannes, you can take advantage completely and easily of your stay on Riviera thanks to the closeness of the Station of Biot (Train & Bus)... Relaxation and discovery of Côte d'Azur and Provence. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camping Du Pylone Hotel Antibes
Du Pylone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing