We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and old”
Review of Castel Garoupe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castel Garoupe
Ranked #60 of 86 Hotels in Antibes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We booked it, because it was one of the only hotels avaible.
The tennis court costed 20€ per hour! But there were rackets to loan for free, the quality of those were only decent.
The staff were friendly and where happy to guide you to restaurents. Afterwards we realised that they get paid for recommend the guest to those. But the restaurent was fine.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ulrik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 36 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2010

We had a room downstairs by the parkinglot because we asked for it and even that had a nice view from a covered terrace . Imagine what the rooms upstairs with seeview can do for you.
The poolarea is lovely with its pine and palmtrees, very private,and again: the view!
Breakfast (buffet) was more than you can usually expect from a french breakfast, with yoghurt ,different kinds of bread ,enough to put on it and delicious "caffee au lait "served
at your table on the terras, and yes ,again: with a view ! Our room was very nice ,good size, lovely mix of furniture , tv, big comfortable bathroom and much to our surprise and fun, a kitchenette with some equipment behind a wooden fold- door.
Antibes has besides very good restaurants also a little market (week days till 12 am) with plenty inspiring ingredients for the hobby cook and a romantic diner on the own terras/balcony.
beach 300m. or 3 min. village 5min. supermarket 150m.
Just go to this place, find youself placed back 30 years in time .For us it worked so good that we stayed 5 days longer

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cleo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

The b&b is located in Cap D'Antibes, making it within easy driving distance of Antibes, Cannes, and other locales along the coast. Note though that it fairly isolated in that walking to restaurants and shops is not feasible. However, the parking was free. Our triple room was clean, although a bit outdated, and complete with a balcony view of the pool and tennis courts. It did provide a good night's sleep in that it was quiet, dark, and the beds were comfortable. The hotel with its antique furniture and flower gardens was quite charming. There was a breakfast provided for an additional ten euros that included fresh fruit, yogourt, cereal, toast, fresh pastries, tea, coffee, and juice. Wifi was also available for an extra charge, but the signal was sketchy given the cost. The staff was friendly, helpful, and proficient in English. Generally, the hotel was a nice place to stay if you are looking for something a bit off the beaten path, although it is perhaps a bit expensive for a three star hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Marshall2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

In addition to the paltry musty small room, excessive fees (tennis court 20 euro per hour) and poor location we were the victims of burglary. Having just arrived from Paris where we were on guard from that city's pack of pickpockets, we let our guard down and it cost us. We figured we could leave our window open since we were on the second floor. The room was stifling with an inadequate fan from the 1950s. When we awoke in the morning my wallet and car keys were gone. My wife's red bag was taken with her jewelry and camera. We immeadiately went to the front desk and got little help and no sympathy. The staff blamed us for leaving the window open, yet we were never warned to keep things bolted shut. The hotel charged us for the numerous phone calls we had to make to the US to cancel credit cards and get new ones to salvage our 15th wedding anniversary trip.
Avoid this place, there are many better and safer options closer to the beach and city.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tennistraveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2008

After staying at a friends rental home for 5 days in Claviers, we couldn't take the remote location any longer and decided to leave 3 days early. We were a bit concerned we didn't have reservations for these next few days, but decided to try our luck in Antibes. We had already been to Cannes, and were heading to Italy soon. Surprisingly this hotel had a large room available for our family of 4 during the height of tourist season (although it wasn't inexpensive!)

The location was perfect, just 6 blocks from the beach in a very nice, quiet part of town (on the cape where most of the luxury homes and hotels are located.) The pool area was beautiful, and the hotel was not overun with tourists. Our room was very large, with a comfy bed for 2, and in a small room off the living area (with a sofa, chairs and fridge) there were bunk beds for our 2 teens. The bath was good sized and clean. My favorite part was the beautiful patio that overlooked gardens with a peek at the nearby lighthouse and ocean. We sat out there for much of our stay. The only negative was the expensive breakfast, and the thin towels. The furnishings also were very '70's and could use some updating. But things were clean, and staff was accomodating.

There are not a lot of restaurant choices in the near vicinity, but we were able to find a couple nice ones. We liked being a bit removed from the hustle and bustle of the main city/beach area since we had just spent a very crazy Bastille Day in Cannes with unbelievable traffic. Being in Antibes allowed us to drive to some fabulous museums, yet return to the quiet beach town at night. I would highly recommend this town, and would stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pelaminnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2008

Lovely place. Very quiet and a very good location for exploring the area. Do try and stay on the first or second floor as ground floor faces the car cark, though it is still a lovely view. Would recomend a short stay here for a lovely break.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AgentDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2007

The property was large and in good condition. The pretty grounds added to the ambience. The room was large and in good conditon as was the bathroom. The kitchenette and nice balcony in our room inspired us to hit the local shops for wine and goodies to dine in one night. The staff was friendly and helpful. The public; sand beach is a five minute walk away. Breakfast on the terrace in the AM was a relaxing way to start each day. This stay was a vacation from our vacation and we only wished we had another night here.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank slrossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antibes hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Beau Site
Hotel Beau Site
#23 of 86 in Antibes
173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miramar
Miramar
#32 of 86 in Antibes
27 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Garoupe Gardiole
La Garoupe Gardiole
#33 of 86 in Antibes
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Levant
Hotel du Levant
#46 of 86 in Antibes
75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Imperial Garoupe
Hotel Imperial Garoupe
#56 of 86 in Antibes
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Fabulite
Villa Fabulite
#27 of 86 in Antibes
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castel Garoupe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castel Garoupe

Address: 959 boulevard de la Garoupe, 06160, Antibes, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Antibes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 86 Hotels in Antibes
Price Range: $125 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castel Garoupe 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Castel Garoupe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castel Garoupe Antibes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing