We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Imperial Garoupe
Ranked #57 of 86 Hotels in Antibes
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
67 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Location”
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Is what I assume you pay for. Rooms were small and particularly dated. Staff is very lovely and the overall property is beautiful. Did not try breakfast/dinner. Beach is a walk down a private path but was closed when we were there. The location is the best part. Choices are limited in this specific area so splurge at Cap du Roc

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eton1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    18
    7
    11
    18
See reviews for
12
41
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

service absolutely despicable, untolerable for a restaurant with this reputation and especially with these prices! a Maitre-D stepping on your hand bag and explaining you're making his job harder, wines left untouched on the service table with no waiter in sight to assist you, sommelier rushing you out of the restaurant at the end of the dinner....if you're looking for a nice evening in a classy restaurant, AVOID THIS VENUE!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank matthieu_paname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Antibes hotels

BCN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

My borther, his wife and 19 month old baby were robbed while sleeping at the hotel Imperial (a 5 star property) on their 1st night. A robber entered the hotel private property and their room to steal cash and wedding rings. Rather than try to comfort them, or assist in making alternative arrangements (my sister-in-law very upset at the idea that her baby was in such danger, and so no longer wanted to stay there), hotel management spent the morning trying to remove themselves from any possible responsabilty in the robbery by proving that my family left the french doors to their room unlocked. They also informed them that while they were sorry for any incovenience THIS may have caused, they would still be charged the full rate for the room. So, you decide!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
Helpful?
11 Thank cmed1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saas-fee, schweiz
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2009

we stayed in the imperial garoupe for three days on our way home from the south of spain. we would like to recommend this place to food lovers! the two dinners we had in the hotel were a true experience. with two feet on the ground the cuisine was spectaculary refined and surprising. intense and harmonic flavours complimented freshest produc prepared with utmost care - and always - with a seducing twist.
we had a couple of michelin starred dinners on that specific trip. what we experienced with chef philippe jégo was certainly the highlight. needless to say that the hotel offers impeccable accomodation and service in all other aspects. we would certainly go back, should we be in the region.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clearwaters73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2009

We occupied in !3 Junior Suites of this hotel for a MONTH! + almost everyday had lunch there + ordered to the room (since we were with a child). We were two families with 3 kids. Each of the families spent on average EUR 25,000 per room, including food and beverages. However, we were treated as if Manager/Owner did us a favor by letting us in his hotel. He would almost everyday say something to remind us that he is watching us and that we have to do this or that and that we should not move furniture (like chairs and coffee tables) in our room etc... Once I went to grocery shop to buy special baby food and when I arrived to the hotel he would look at me in a way like I am stealing something from him and requested his staff to ask me some ridiculous questions.

Bottom line is that, this is a fantastic real estate in a very beautiful place with AWFULL Manager/Owner.

When we were leaving he would not even say bye and behaved like he is fed up with us. We are not the only family feeling this way. There were 3 other families, who said they'll NEVER COME BACK!!!

You can only go back there when the owner is changed, otherwise you will spend a lot of money and remain unsatisfied and disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank OygulMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
93 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2009

I was a bit surprised by the reviews of this property. I found the staff and management to be most welcoming, friendly and very charming. The hotel had a relaxed, yet elegant feel to it. The warmth of the terra cotta colors throughout the resort have a relaxing effect, while mediterrean influences and fountains were a real highlight. I would without a doubt stay here again. Magnifique!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank francetraveltrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA000
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2008

Whilst in a nice location, I wouldn't recommend anyone staying at the Garoupe for the atmosphere and the hotel did seem rather empty, which was extremely odd for Cannes Festival week when it is almost impossible to get a room anywhere.

More to the point, the owner of the hotel treated us in an appalling way. He was manifestly rude and unpleasant over the most trivial of issues. Besides the obvious culture of fear that his employee's are subjected to, you could see that this person has no clue as to how a pleasant customer service experience should be achieved.

As a specific example : my colleagues and I asked a waiter if we could take our breakfast at one of the tables in the sun on the veranda. The waiter was clearly reluctant to let us do this seemingly quite uncontroversial thing but he was extremely helpful and finally said that if we just had tea and toast (and did it quietly) we could sit there rather than in the breakfast room. The next thing we knew, the owner (who is in his late fifties), was screaming at the waiter in full view of staff and guests and demanding to know why he had served us there rather than in the allocated room.

When I confronted him, he shouted that we should "eat where we were told, and why were we not following the rules?" He continued in this vein, generally upsetting the waiter and embarrassing us. Shocked by this outburst, I pointed out to the screaming owner that we were guests at the hotel and I asked how he could treat us this way? His response; “If you don't like it, get out. In fact, get out anyway. If you don't like our rules then we don't want you here!”

We were obviously all flabbergasted by this outburst and very upset by our treatment.

This hotel promotes itself as being on a par with other genuinely high quality hotels on the Cap such as the Du Cap Eden Roc and the Belles Rives. I've stayed at both and the Garoupe, (or rather it's owner), is deluding itself.

I warn people not to stay at this hotel.

  • Liked — Nothing in particular
  • Disliked — The Orwellian nightmare that is the owner and his 1984 style approach to the leisure industry !
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
Helpful?
12 Thank GA000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antibes hotels
0.9 mi away
Cap d'Antibes Beach Hotel
Cap d'Antibes Beach Hotel
#18 of 86 in Antibes
215 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Fabulite
Villa Fabulite
#28 of 86 in Antibes
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Miramar
Miramar
#50 of 86 in Antibes
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Levant
Hotel du Levant
#49 of 86 in Antibes
69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castel Garoupe
Castel Garoupe
#66 of 86 in Antibes
33 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Juana
Hotel Juana
#6 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imperial Garoupe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial Garoupe

Property: Hotel Imperial Garoupe
Address: 770 Chemin de la Garoupe, 06160, Antibes, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Antibes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Antibes
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Antibes
#14 Luxury Hotel in Antibes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Imperial Garoupe 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cap d'Antibes is a precious destination offering, through its pine forest, an exceptional panorama which has inspired the most famous artists since the 19th century. It is in this precious environment, hidden from view to protect their privacy, that the hotel Imperial Garoupe*****, member of Relais & Chateaux, ensures its guests a complete peace to enjoy their stay. A property of character, personalized spacious bedrooms and suites, an exceptional location, this is the soul of the Imperial Garoupe. 35 Rooms and suites Villa 5 rooms 5* hotel service Gastronomic Restaurant Swimming pool Private Beach Wellness Area Meeting Room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, HRS, Priceline, Agoda and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Hotel Imperial Garoupe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Garoupe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing