We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT A RESORT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Antibes Hotel, Residence, Beach & Spa
Ranked #10 of 86 Hotels in Antibes
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NOT A RESORT”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Check in not until 3pm, although check out is at 11am. I had been traveling for 24 hours but was told that there would be NO rooms ready until 3pm...they kept their promise! Attitude of the reception staff was incredibly arrogant and rude.
Although all their marketing, web site, brochures and in room, advertises itself as Royal Antibes Beach & Spa, with their own "Private Beach" you have to pay EXTRA for the beach €25 each per bed, and there is NO Spa...yet?
Rooms are clean and comfortable, they should be its a brand new hotel. Check out is slow.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasperblueeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien C, Responsable relations clients at Royal Antibes Hotel, Residence, Beach & Spa, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your review Jasper; we are sincerely frustrated to find out you did not have an amazing stay with us, even more as I cannot recall you told me anything about it when I checked on you.

At the ROYAL, because we really do enjoy our vocation, we will always try to dispense services that go beyond your wellness on the spot. As for example, as hoteliers, we will always keep a piece of advice for our guests so that they can make the reservation that best fits their needs for their next trip, regardless it includes our establishment or not. Happy guests around the world is the best advocacy.
Considering your two contributions on tripadvisor are negative ones, we feel badly about your traveling experience; maybe we can help you get through your next traveling project to find a product/service that truly meets your expectations.

First off, please let me address the check-in / check-out time issue… You may come to know that September is still high season for us in Antibes, and the ROYAL is fortunately full at that time. Logically enough, we base our services on recognized worldwide standards, including for check-in / check-out time – please do check on other hotels and you will find out they carry similar policies. Whenever you wish to enjoy an early check-in/ late check-out, it is always good to make sure it is feasible, by simply calling the Reception.
Even without our guest asking, we will always try to give a room/suite as early as possible. We did offer you a 2:00pm late check-out.

Regarding the hanging piece in your bathroom, shall such a thing occur in anywhere during your next trip, you may want to declare it to the staff before you check out – housekeeping might find the damage as your liability.

As for the ROYAL Beach, access is paying, which is exactly what “private” means as stated on our website and in our room directory. Hotels along the French Riviera are often separated from their private beaches by a road, which legally prevents the structure to function as a resort, hence the paying access. You may book a sunbed on the sand for 25 euros per person, or on the deck for 30 euros per person. Beach towels are provided for free at the Hotel’s Reception.
Referring to my initial offer to help you find the best vacation spot to fit your needs, should you wish to stay at a resort on the French Riviera, there is only one at the moment – as of now, standard rooms are accessible from 510 euros.

Finally, our Reception staff feels very sorry about the fact they came across as arrogant to you. Each member is passionate about his/her work, as every other guest witnessed here on tripadvisor; we’ll be most grateful if you can email us a detailed description of the staff’s service, so we can adjust immediately. And please, do feel free to contact me for your next traveling project, I will gladly help you out. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    250
    59
    25
    10
See reviews for
158
327
24
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

OVERALL the place was overpriced for what they offered.

LOCATION is on the main road along the coast line, which created traffic noise inside the room. Across the street from a "beach" (not much of a beach). It is walking distance to the old village.

ROOMS were obviously intended to be apartments as they have a full kitchen and living room. They feel a bit empty for just 2 people since they are not fully decorated and fully functioning kitchens. (only basic utensils supplied). ALSO the rooms have tons of street noise from the road below!

SERVICE was basic. We had to run down to reception to get the things we needed, they didn't bring it to us.

NO POOL.

RESTAURANT had a good breakfast but it was not included.

WIFI was good in the lobby, slow in the restaurant, and slow in the room.

VALUE was poor. We paid about $400 USD per night, and it was worth maybe half (if that.).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susQnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien C, Responsable relations clients at Royal Antibes Hotel, Residence, Beach & Spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for reviewing you stay at the ROYAL Hotel Residence Beach & Spa. I’m sincerely sorry you did not find the product up to par with your expectations. I would very much appreciate if you could address a detailed feedback to us, so we will see how we can actually improve our service to you. Until then I’m a little confused as to whether you were expecting a hotel suite (without a kitchen) or an apartment with chef’s kitchen.

We do have suites, and apartments, as our name suggests it. All our apartments (Residence) are offered on a hotel basis and with a hotel service. As a product/service, we are geared to meet our clientele’s needs – most of our guests are young families who come to spend quite a bit of time in the locality of Antibes. Therefore, we chose to include kitchens for a more realistic approach to vacations. All features are listed in online product descriptions, but as always, each member of our staff will gladly answer further inquiries.

We sincerely hope to be able to make up for your discomfort and ultimately leave a positive impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The Royal Antibes is a modern style hotel, located across from the beach. What it lacks in personality (has a more corporate feel) it exceeds in terms of quality, decor and the size of the rooms. Rooms are large, beds are king size, bathrooms are very modern and it has a nice restaurant facing the beach. Service was great and front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. I also liked the location; it is nicely positioned within 5 minutes walk from the old port, and about 15 minutes from Cap d'Antibes. Plenty of nice restaurants nearby to choose from. The Royal Beach club across the road is excellent, but be prepared to pay to get in and use the chairs each day. It has a great restaurant on the beach and nice bar. I stayed in June, just before the prices doubled for high season. If you can travel in shoulder season this hotel is an exceptional deal for the level of quality.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MindyJoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Hotel is fabulous . The staff were friendly and the service was impeccable .
The restaurant is amazing , excellent food !! try the steak !!
The Royal Antibes has its own private beach area with bar and restaurant , if you want to experience heaven.. book it .
Thankyou Royal Antibes for making my Birthday the best holiday ever !!!
See you next year
Lizzy

Room Tip: Book a suite facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LIZZY193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I have been staying in the Royal since it opened last year about once a month or more for business. I was positive on the hotel at that time and now even more so! A pleasant surprise is the EXCELLENT hotel restaurant under the same able direction of the Royal Beach - I highly recommend the pasta with fresh tuna and the salmon baked with artichokes.
I must say that even in the hot holiday season the Hotel has maintained its quiet and sleek ambiance - a real Oasis (also consider that with the great location you can leave your car and do just about everything you want to even to walk to Juan Les Pins by the short cut sentier de la vertu).
The staff is top rate - very professional and just the right amount of "firendly" - I left my cell phone in the hotel and the same morning they express mailed it to me in Italy !!!
The rooms are spacious and by now I think I have tried just about all of them - there are a few in the back with a terrace which is nice. Note that the rooms mostly dont have sea view but that really is not a problem since you are right in front of the sea. The chambermaids do a great job and the rooms are very clean. There are more amenities in the bathrooms than in previous months.
The hotel has surpassed expectations even in the busy summer period and more than ever is my continuing top choice for location/quality/price in Antibes.
Keep up the good performance Hotel Royal !

Room Tip: When you book - ask about the room and try to get what you want within your price range- for example...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erobinson1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Me and my girlfriend booked a room at this hotel for a week. Unfortunately it was the biggest mistake we ever did. We booked a standard room and we paid an extra 20$ a day to do a refundable booking. When we got there, the room didn't look like in the pics, it was so small that we couldn't even fit our both laguage in the room. There was no balcony and we over looked an ugly building. On our first night the AC didn't work, it was a nightmare since it was 90 degree outside. We asked the hotel manager to move us to a different room, because it was impossible for us to sleep in a sauna like environment, she told us that unfortunately they were fully booked and that we have to wait till tomorow to get the AC fixes. The next day we decided to check out and find another hotel, since we booked a refundable room we were confident that we can just check out. Well we were wrong, after selling us the room for 20 euro more a night a week prior to our arrival they said the non refundable policy is only on out of season period!!
We could check out but we had to pay for the whole stay regardless. Of course we didn't check out, but we felt taking advantage of. We also didn't know that we had to pay 50 euros a day to use the beach and 16 euros for two beach towel. Have I mentioned that the breakfast was a ripoff and super disgusting!!!! For less than 10 euro you can have a better breakfast at a backery near by!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EMK1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien C, Responsable relations clients at Royal Antibes Hotel, Residence, Beach & Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to detail your experience with us, even though it turned out to be quite frustrating for you. While we cannot make up for what’s already gone in the past, I can only suggest you to call us directly and try another booking with us – let us show you why every other guest witnessed a great experience at the ROYAL and why we stand as the one hotel with most return guests in the area.

The seasonal factor does impact our terms of service and cancellation policy. If you are uncertain of your flexibility regarding your stay, we will advise to make a refundable booking. However, when you start your stay during high season, you are chargeable for the whole amount. Be confident this is clearly stated in every official information.
As for ROYAL Beach, access is paying, as stated on our website and in our room directory. Hotels along the French Riviera are often separated from their private beaches by a road, which legally prevents the structure to function as a resort, hence the paying access. You may book a sunbed on the sand for 25 euros per person, or on the deck for 30 euros per person. Beach towels are provided for free at the Hotel’s Reception.

In a more general manner, when making a reservation through a third-party website, it is always recommended to get in touch with the hotel’s staff and bomb them with all the questions you may ever think of. This will help us get to know you and we will always propose what we feel might be the best option for you. This is why I’m recommending you to call us back and plan your next stay with us, so you won’t stay on a negative impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We had a very pleasant 5 day stay at the Royal Antibes recently, however the initial standard room we were presented with was way too small - the pictures are a little misleading in advance so make sure you are comfortable being in such a small room before booking the standard - it would probably be alright for a night or two but given we were there for 5 days it would not do. We were lucky they had a superior room available and were able to upgrade for a little extra and this was handled very nicely by the staff. We were expecting Spa facilities onsite as per the hotel's name, however this is not built/ready yet and I believe won't be opening until sometime in 2013 - again a little misleading. The decor and service at the hotel is flawless and the location is absolutely perfect for a relaxing holiday, all the staff were friendly and went out of their way to help. As some reviewers have already mentioned the soundproofing is terrible - not what I would expect from such a luxury hotel at all so I would recommend a pair of earplugs if you are a light sleeper!

Room Tip: Standard rooms are tiny, superior room for approx 30 euro a night extra well worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sinnernick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien C, Responsable relations clients at Royal Antibes Hotel, Residence, Beach & Spa, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the ROYAL. We are glad you were satisfied with the upgrade you selected; indeed a standard room is never recommended anywhere in the world for a long stay, especially if you are after spacious comfort during your stay. Our spa shall hold its grand opening in Spring 2013.

We believe in a human and sincere take on luxury service, and we are glad you appreciated our difference.

Please, do contact us directly for your next stay, and we’ll guide you in the discovery of our future spa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antibes hotels
0.8 mi away
La Villa Cap d'Antibes
La Villa Cap d'Antibes
#5 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
285 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Belles Rives
Hotel Belles Rives
#3 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
633 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Petit Castel Hotel
Le Petit Castel Hotel
#1 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sainte Valerie Hotel
Sainte Valerie Hotel
#9 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
250 reviews
0.8 mi away
Garden Beach Hotel
Garden Beach Hotel
#11 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
638 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cap d'Antibes Beach Hotel
Cap d'Antibes Beach Hotel
#18 of 86 in Antibes
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Antibes Hotel, Residence, Beach & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Antibes Hotel, Residence, Beach & Spa

Property: Royal Antibes Hotel, Residence, Beach & Spa
Address: 16 boulevard Marechal Leclerc, 06600, Antibes, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Antibes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Antibes
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Antibes
#4 Luxury Hotel in Antibes
#4 Business Hotel in Antibes
#12 Romantic Hotel in Antibes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Antibes Hotel, Residence, Beach & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROYAL ANTIBES - LUXURY HOTEL, RESIDENCE, BEACH & SPA * * * * ouvert depuis Avril 2011, le ROYAL Antibes propose 64 chambres, suites et appartements entre vieille ville et Cap d'Antibes, a proximite immediate du centre ville et du Musee Picasso. Face a la mer, avec sa Plage privee, 2 restaurants, 1 lounge bar avec terrasse exterieure, parking prive et son Spa partenaire "Cinq Mondes", le Royal Antibes est le premier hotel de Luxe d'Antibes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Antibes Hotel, Residence, Beach & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Antibes Hotel, Residence, Beach Hotel Antibes
Royal Antibes Hotel, Residence, Beach And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing