We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for fish and seafood”
Review of L'Oursin

L'Oursin
Reserve with
L'Oursin is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #104 of 660 Restaurants in Antibes
Price range: $23 - $58
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
UK
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Good for fish and seafood”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Perfect fish soup, sit outside and just enjoy, but do not come here if you only eat meat or veg! If arrive early in the evening you probably don't need to reserve a table, but, it would be better to if you want to be sure of getting a good 'spot' for people watching. The staff are lovely, many seem to have been there since before God was born!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UK0AP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    138
    57
    35
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“average (overrated) seafood restaurant in Antibes”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Went here on the advice of tour books to have some oysters during our stay in Antibes. In fairness to the restaurant, they were about to close and were very nice to seat us. Lovely outdoor seating in picturesque, atmospheric square. The seafood platters themselves--raw oysters, scallops, clams, and shrimp--were only passable. We've definitely had better. These were perfectly fine but somewhat overpriced and nothing you couldn't get at an average seafood restaurant in the U.S., especially considering the proximity of the sea. Didn't dislike it but wouldn't come back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank henrypussycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was recommended to me by a local chef I met in the marche. Pretty little place, good seafood. For lunch I had a nice velouté of vegetables and a linguini with fruits fe mers (mostly mussels and clams). It was tasty but ratio of seafood to pasta was underwhelming.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ellie1819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Seafood And Eat It”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Excellent selection of crustacean in the cabinet at the main entrance. You can eat outside in the main square weather permitting or inside as if on a yacht! Very interesting interior decor makes you feel like you are sailing the high seas and so you might be with the seafaring menu. Beware you need to may need to dance a few hornpipes to work off the calories. Portions are very generous. My tuna niscoise starter would have fed an entire crew! Excellent value and interesting waiter who presented everything with a flourish and Voila! Would definitely return for seconds once I've spliced the mainbrace and flogged a few pirates!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JackieWSandhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food - interesting service!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We loved the seafood salad and the sea bass (filleted at the table) was superb. The banana flambe was disappointing - bananas were hard and hardly any sauce - but maybe we're spoiled as we usually have it in Tenerife where it is often prepared at the table.

The service was different or, perhaps more accurately, indifferent initially but our waiter seemed to relax more as the lunch-time rush eased. So maybe go closer to 2pm than 12pm.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank glamourgil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Oursin also viewed

Antibes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Antibes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Antibes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to L'Oursin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing