We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home”
Review of Le Safranier

Le Safranier
Ranked #163 of 659 Restaurants in Antibes
Price range: $30 - $66
Cuisines: Diner, French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Niche au coeur du vieil Antibes, dans la Commune Libre du Safranier, le restaurant Le Safranier vous invite a un vrai moment d'exception.Venez gouter au calme et au charme de notre grande terrasse ensoleillee, ideale pour un repas d'entreprises, un chaleureux repas de famille ou pour l'intimite d'un diner en amoureux a la chandelle.Decouvrez notre cuisine provencale et notre large variete de plats maison, du simple beignet de fleur de courgette a la cassolette de Saint Jacques et Homard, en passant par les trop longtemps oublies foie de veau poeles et rognons, ou encore le traditionnel aioli - decouvrez bientot notre carte complete dans nos images - laissez vous tout particulierement tenter par nos poissons frais de la peche du jour, cuisines sur le moment.Formule a 16€ le midi (sauf week-end) et a 39€ midi et soir.
Emeryville, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Feels like home”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

The food is very typical from the region, excellent quality and very friendly service

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank mg2708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCavallo, Responsable relations clients at Le Safranier, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour,

Nous sommes heureux de vous signaler un changement de propriétaires (avril 2013), qui s'accompagne d'une nouvelle décoration et d'une nouvelle carte provençale pour le restaurant "Le Safranier".

Cordialement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    158
    57
    32
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great local spot--not to be missed!”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

If you want great seafood and local color--go to La Taverne. My husband and I loved the food, the comfortable ambience, and the spirited staff. It is easy to eat a la carte or the three course menu. Plentiful servings of tasty regional food simply prepared is what is offered. The desserts are what you dream about. Great sangria and wine at a variety of prices. We ate there four times in two weeks...

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnBryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCavallo, Responsable relations clients at Le Safranier, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour,

Nous sommes heureux de vous signaler un changement de propriétaires (avril 2013), qui s'accompagne d'une nouvelle décoration et d'une nouvelle carte provençale pour le restaurant "Le Safranier".

Cordialement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“When ingredients matter”
Reviewed August 27, 2011

This restaurant is great! Deadly simple food, but with great taste and excellent raw materials. I took a octopus salad and a mixed fish grill: simple dishes in which the quality of the ingredients (the fish) makes 99% of the overall. Both were delicious and cooked at the right point. Moreover, the portions were really abundant. You'll sit in a nice small square in the Antibes old town. What else to say? Go for it.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank teoseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCavallo, Responsable relations clients at Le Safranier, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour,

Nous sommes heureux de vous signaler un changement de propriétaires (avril 2013), qui s'accompagne d'une nouvelle décoration et d'une nouvelle carte provençale pour le restaurant "Le Safranier".

Cordialement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

I found this restaurant for the first time in one British food magazine, many years ago. Since that we have eaten there at least once during our holiday, every year in Antibes and never been disappointed.
The first impressien will promise you an uncomplicated dinner in simple setting, plastic chairs, people standing with aperitif waiting for a free table, unconventionally dressed noisy, sweating waiters and waitresses, meny written on a blackboard, big portions fish etc - not a fine dining!
There are not white tablecloth, starched napkins or wine glasses type Riedel - so it is better if you are not overdressed and have good mood. It is better to reserve the table in advance and be ready to spend the whole evening there. It can happend that the service is not fast and you have to wait your bill - but remember, you have holiday and you will enjoy when looking other people and all kind of bustle and hassle.
You will get delicous local sea food, for example whole grilled dorade with cool and light rosé, nice company (people next to you will ask where you are coming from and will be eager to listen your holiday experiences) and maybe the best experience during your holiday in a dark, warm and soft Antibes evening.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ErikHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCavallo, Responsable relations clients at Le Safranier, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour,

Nous sommes heureux de vous signaler un changement de propriétaires (avril 2013), qui s'accompagne d'une nouvelle décoration et d'une nouvelle carte provençale pour le restaurant "Le Safranier".

Cordialement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gem of Antibes”
Reviewed July 12, 2011

For the last five years, we've come to Antibes for our summer holidays. Quite frankly, for the latter two it has been equally important to come back for the Saf experience. We found this place when we first got to Antibes and we thought it to be an almost shabby-chick place with lots of ambience and positive vibe. Later we have found that the place represents tradition and something different to what you find at most other places that may be more touristy. Safranier is what's called a Commune Libre - the community feel in these quarters of the old town is distinct and the Taverne de Safranier encapsulated it all presents it on a plate. There's a good number of events involving the local community that takes place on the square just in front of Taverne. We come back for the festivities on the night before Bastille Day - it's a fantastic experience with lovely food, music and dancing.

The food holds high quality and the best choices and specialities are fish and seafood. Personal favorite is the mini-Bouillabaisse that you pre-order when making your table reservation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank blidsheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCavallo, Responsable relations clients at Le Safranier, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour,

Nous sommes heureux de vous signaler un changement de propriétaires (avril 2013), qui s'accompagne d'une nouvelle décoration et d'une nouvelle carte provençale pour le restaurant "Le Safranier".

Cordialement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Safranier also viewed

Antibes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Antibes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Antibes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Antibes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Safranier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing