We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“satisfying but”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of La Mule du Pape

La Mule du Pape
Price range: $20 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Zabbar, Malta
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“satisfying but”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

I was at Chateauneuf-du-Pape on 21st January 2014 - it was raining all the time and not so many people around. But we managed to taste a tot of the glorious wine of this region and to find a restaurant at midday - only one or two are available at that time of the day. I have chosen the plat du jour which was quite good and not so expensive. Finally we ordered a normal dessert, just a small portion of a chocolate cake. When the final bill came, we noticed that the dessert was highly expensive almost three quarters the price for the plat du jour. So, if ever you find yourself there, see that for the dessert, it's better to look somewhere else, if you are on a tight budget. But on the whole, the service was good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank orestemifsud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    112
    43
    33
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, CT
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a casual place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

This was near where we were staying. It is casual and didn't look like anything special but food was actually quite good. We had no problem with service when we were there. We always drink house wine in this area. Not expensive and decent. We ate the pasta. I had a special - ravioli with fois gras and truffle sauce. It was excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SharonCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
356 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Good location - terrible choice!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Just accommodated across the street on September 2, I looked for a close and fast place to eat. Nice location, nice terrace, but this is where all my "nice" stuff ends.

I had to wait 15 minutes to get some attention, I actually had to wave to some girl that was talking to another waiter to come bring me the menu. Food took for ever and was nothing special. Prices were not cheap for the size of the plates. Another 20-30 minutes to get the food.
I asked for a glass of local wine, very disappointing, the glass was half full, it was only 40 grams or so. That cost me 7 euros! Steep considering the make the wine literally 100 meters down the road.
After meal I asked for a tea. The called it "gourmet tea" didnt know what that means. It means the tea was 7.50 euros.
The food was overpriced and plain. Didnt try the pizza everybody said is good, I was just coming from Italy where I had enough pizza for a year. Dont even remember what I had...but it was way overpriced. I guess you pay a lot for location not the food.

If you have time and you are not pressed for time like me shop around, avoid this place. The staff is ignorant and unfriendly. I had to wait a lot to bring the bill and I actually had to go grab the waiter from inside to get my change.

1 star for service, 5 stars for location. You do the average :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aquauomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East coast
Level Contributor
234 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Good food at a good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We ate lunch at La Mule du Pape. We ordered the plat du jour, and had a good meal for a very decent price. It's not often that you see duck as the plat du jour!

Our waitress spoke excellent English and was very friendly. We enjoyed talking with her.

We enjoyed our meal so much, that we had breakfast there the next morning, before leaving town.

We would definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hedo-goer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skara, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Irma N.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

The location was just perfect. The people in Chateaunef-du-Pape is very happy, gently, frendly and they speak English!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Irma19652013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mule du Pape also viewed

Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Vaucluse
Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Vaucluse
 
Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Vaucluse
Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Vaucluse
 

Been to La Mule du Pape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing