We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Guy is absolutely an amazing person” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Caves Saint Charles

Les Caves Saint Charles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: EXCLUSIVE PRIVED TASTING BY APPOINTMENT BOOKING ONLINE ONLY . A new place located in original Pope's cellar dating from the 13th century. Amazing wine tasting of different Chateauneuf du Pape wines by Guy Bremond, a professional head master Sommelier and Mathias Tasting ambassador . Daily tastings, phenomenal experience. Worldwide Shipping Services .
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Geneva
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Guy is absolutely an amazing person”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

His wine cellar is very cosy and we enjoy is typical accent.
We had a great time talking to him and some other guests. With his wife and kids around, it gives a fantastic atmosphere. The "real life".
Guy Bremont is a very welcoming gentleman and have huge knowledges about wine.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BrunoGueuning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    14
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Very friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Tasted some amazing wines in a cozy wine cave. The proprietor was very welcoming and congenial. A very enjoyable experience.

Helpful?
Thank SnugiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Educational and fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Our hosts at Le Vallon directed us to visit Guy for a memorable wine tasting, and we have to say that we are glad that they did. He speaks excellent English and loves telling stories behind the wines. He also appreciates flavors and styles from any source, as we discovered when the conversation strayed over to whiskey. We have decided that for the experience, we owe him a bottle of something that we are pretty sure that he can't obtain locally.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent and entertaining!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

The Chateauneuf-du-Pape AOC is one of the most renowned wines of the southern part of the Loire Valley, particularly for its red wines.

As a "beginner" when it comes to wine, I'd tried certain Chateauneuf-du-Pape wines in Canada but it basically left me wanting to know more. My husband and I decided to book with Guy at les Caves Saint Charles primarily due to the reviews on TripAdvisor but also because we felt we would learn quite a bit.

We sampled about 7 reds and 1 white, all with such a wide range of smells and tastes. I ended up buying about six bottles - we would have preferred shipping but the cost and rules for doing so to Canada is simply ridiculous.

Guy truly was a highlight. He was very knowledgable, easy to talk to had a great sense of humour! If we are ever in the region again we will definitely stop by!

Helpful?
1 Thank xtinecarmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Sublime experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We emailed Guy for an appointment back in March. It was the most enjoyable and detailed tasting that we have ever experienced. His knowledge of the wines was superb. We were very relaxed and felt like we were in his private cave. He spoke English and was very down-to-earth. We are having a case sent to us in cooler weather. Tip: park in the main center in front of the bank- 1€ per hour and walk up to see him. Good signage. Great town.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank llsimms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Caves Saint Charles also viewed

Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Vaucluse
Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Vaucluse
 
Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Vaucluse
 

Been to Les Caves Saint Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing