We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely chateau with beautiful views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostellerie Chateau des Fines Roches
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed for two nights at this hotel in a room on the first floor overlooking the pool and the vineyards beyond. It was beautiful. The staff were lovely and we were happy we chose to stay in a real chateau. The room was decorated in a simple provincial style which worked well given the location.

The only real negatives were that the rather small shower/bathroom. It would have been lovely with a big old bath. Plus the hotel rules stated that you could not bring picnics and eat them on the terrace. We understand that there is a restaurant there however somewhere else to sit and drink a bottle of wine and watch the sun go down would have been perfect.

We did dine at the restaurant one was night and we were very happy with the food and wine.

Chateauneuf-du-Pape itself is a short drive away although it was mostly shut over the weekend (everything shuts at noon Saturday until Monday morning). The scenery is just stunning though and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wonderlusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 380 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2012

The restaurant was recommended by a local person who called and made a reservation for us. We arrived at 12h45 were shown to the reserved table on the terrace. Some very nice bread rolls were put on the table with the wine list. Half an hour later we summoned the owner/manager to identify ourselves and request a waiter to take our order. The order duly taken for a carpaccio and a melon with jambon we waited while other tables who had arrived after us were served. Twenty minutes later the starters arrived. They were simple and tasty. At 14h15 just when we were ready ro call for the bill our main course arrived, what a disappointment. The menu had listed 4 dishes, pork, beef, lamb and fish. We had asked the waiter for his suggestion and he recommended the lamb. What arrived was a single tiny lamb chop (lots of fat), a grilled half of tomato with pesto and crumbs and small baked potato with a little cream (or something similar). The chop was almost in edible and the potato looked and tasted as if it had been heated in a micro-wave. Unhappily we paid the bill for the meal including a Demi bottle of local vin Blanc (30 euro) making a total of 80 euro. While paying directly to the owner/manager, we expressed our unhappiness, he apologized and mentioned some problems. The restaurant is listed as "cuisine gastronomique" and unfortunately the meal was definitely the worst that we experienced in our 10 days in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed here one night now in July, and this place I really can recommend if you like good wines, good food, and living like a king in a castle!
Not much to complain about here,just a little expensive but worth it I would say.
Room with view over lovely vineyards, gourmet food and wine, and nice little pool for cooling of in the garden.
What more can you ask?

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trolljegeren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

In retrospect, this castle was a highlight of our European tour. Although the hotel and its restaurant were still closed for the season, we were given the best room (over the main entrance) with a view of the vineyards and a queen-size bed with a canopy. The jovial receptionist Juliette, who lives nearby, met us at the door ten minutes after my phone call. We were given the keys to the castle as we were the only occupants. It was quite a romantic experience: we were alone in the whole dark castle, with a fierce wind, the mistral, howling all night. By the morning, the wind calmed down, and it was a beautiful day in Chateauneuf-du-Pape. We cannot wait to return and try their menu gourmand.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank entropy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed one night at this fine chateau and thoroughly enjoyed every aspect. Room was small but adequate so probably not great value for money unless you consider the location and setting of the building in the vineyard. Food was very good and wine excellent, if expensive. We had breakfast on the terrace.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank britabroadUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We booked a "chambre privilege" and were given the choice of a large ground floor room with a bathroom (the room had a fire place as well) or a mordernized room on the second floor with a shower. We selected the room on the 2nd floor because of the view over the vineyards. The room was comfortable and clean, thedouble bed good and big enough for a couple.A large flat TV screen on one of the walls; however the lack of pictures on the walls left a slightly cold feeling in the room. A large modern shower and a smaller room for shaving, etc. was avalable. Separate toilet!

Despite staying at the beginning of October, the weather was warm enough to allow us to eat dinner outside on the terrace in front of the castle/hotel and to let us enjoy the romantic view over the vineyards of Chateauneuf-Du-Pape. We selected the "Menu Gormand" which was an excellent four course meal with a selection of approximately four dishes for each course. However not cheap, even for French standards! We drank a bottle of wine from their own vineyard. Excellent wine, albeit expensive for a local wine.

Breakfast, which again was taken on the terrace, was typically French and consisted of orange juice, bread and croissants, a selection of 3 cold meets, jam and joughurt. Eggs were neither available nor offered. And all that for 17 Euros per person, which we considered to be over-priced.

Fazit: If you want to spend a night in a real castle, then this is the place to visit. Comfortable, good food and good wine if you prepared to pay the price. One or twice in a life time is worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MIKEGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We finished our Canal de Midi cruise and wanted to explore the wine region. It was a little more than we wanted to spend but it was worth it!!! The rooms were beautifully decorated and spacious. We had big windows we could open wide and view the sweep of the vineyards. The vineyard itself was impressive and had great outdoor seating for wine.

Now the restaurant in the hotel was to die for. Thoroughly enjoyed the dinner and wish we would have ate their twice. The staff was polite and courteous. It does not get much better than this.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cajseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chateauneuf-du-Pape
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Sommellerie
Hotel La Sommellerie
#2 of 4 in Chateauneuf-du-Pape
109 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hotel Crillon le Brave
Hotel Crillon le Brave
#1 of 2 in Crillon-le-Brave
754 reviews
6.3 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
Chateau de Massillan
Chateau de Massillan
#1 of 1 in Uchaux
313 reviews
13.6 mi away
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit...
#1 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
283 reviews
1 mi away
La Garbure
La Garbure
#4 of 4 in Chateauneuf-du-Pape
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie Chateau des Fines Roches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie Chateau des Fines Roches

Address: 1901 route de Sorgues, 84230 Chateauneuf-du-Pape, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Chateauneuf-du-Pape
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chateauneuf-du-Pape
Price Range: $151 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hostellerie Chateau des Fines Roches 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poets and artists from Provence came to this castle build in the middle of the vineyards of Châteauneuf du Pape at the end of the XIXth century. Home to the Marquis Folco de Baroncelli, in a mix of medieval and Provencal fantasy benefiting from a warm weather and the special spirit brought by the exceptional view going from the popes palace in Avignon to the Luberon and far beyond. This exclusive 4 Stars Hotel situated between Avignon and Orange will offer you all the charms of an authentic castle as well as the extraordinary services and relaxation opportunities of the magical Provence Region in France. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostellerie Chateau des Fines Roches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Chateau Des Fines Roches Hotel Chateauneuf-Du-Pape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing