We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a lovely restaurant with charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Mere Germaine

La Mere Germaine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $53
Cuisines: French, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
locust valley
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a lovely restaurant with charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We actually got to the restaurant before opening hour (the French generally do not like that) The owner saw us outside and invited us in an hour early He visited with us over a cup of tea. Dinner was started at 7 PM and was just delicious. We ordered a glass of wine and the owner came over with a very special wine for us to share after that. That also had a musicial that night playing Frank Sinatra music. What else can you ask for???

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sbholzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    84
    27
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great food great location great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful welcome from the Maître his manners and English were impeccable. Limited lunch menu but all dishes were excellent. Fantastic wine and not overpriced. Nice view from terrace everywhere was very clean. My only regret is that we only visited once. We will return and stay overnight to relax and enjoy the ambience. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraga, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We came to this restaurant around 1:30pm and Andre asked us where we want to seat, formal dining room or in the patio. It was a beautiful afternoon, we decided to eat in the patio overlooking the hills and vineyard. Beautiful view or what?

Andre is such a wonderful man and very funny!

Food and service are very good. Price is very reasonable. Of course, Chauteauneuf du Pape vine rouge is excellent. I ordered a bottle and drank most of it...

I will come back to visit Chateauneuf du Pape and dine a this restaurant again.

By the way, Chateauneuf du Pape is such a lovely town...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sooloopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent service, Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We arrived at 1pm on October 9, 2013. Lunch was fabulous and Andre was gorgeous and was hilarious, he quickly thought we were Americans but realized we were wonderful Canadians, except to him we were not "really| Canadians unless we were from Quebec, we quickly made him laugh and said we actually are super real Canadians from the Yukon!! We had such a lovely time and lunch...do not miss this place. View was "simply marvelous" as was the desert...made our day and our month long visit....thank you Andre...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hustons155047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best meal in France trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

La Mere Germaine was the most memorable dinner in our 10-day France trip. Owner Andre made us feel like home. He is energetic, attentive and passionate about his business. The food is so good and not pretentious. The wine selection is superb. We got to try a few different CDPs by gass.
This is a place that will make your trip. We cannot wait to go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ximby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mere Germaine also viewed

Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Vaucluse
Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Vaucluse
 
Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Vaucluse
 
Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Vaucluse
Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Vaucluse
 

Been to La Mere Germaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing