We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Deligtful experience”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Le Mas du Coq

Le Mas du Coq 18th Century Farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Le Mas du Coq 18th Century Farmhouse
Private Pool Farmhouse Terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Le Mas du Coq 18th Century Farmhouse
Private Pool
Farmhouse Terrace
Terrace
End of Terrace
Private Pool
Garden
View through Pagoda
Provencal Kitchen
Provencal Kitchen
Living Room
Living Room
Study
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Main Bedroom with SuperKing Bed
Ensuite Bathroom
Main Bedroom
Ensuite Bathroom
Twin Single Bedded Room
Les Taillades
Gordes
Roussillon
Fontaine de Vaucluse
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Cavaillon, Luberon, Vaucluse, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Likev13
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Deligtful experience”
Reviewed June 4, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The 2 weeks we spent in Provence exceeded our expectations on many levels. This is a beautiful home, central to so many areas, and Alison and Julian were the perfect hosts. The home is spacious and comfortable, (with the smell of jasmine drifting through the windows during our stay - loved it!) and the the gardens and pool beautifully maintained and inviting. Alison and Julian bent over backwards to help us with anything we asked for, but were not interfering or overbearing - just right! Cavaillon is not a town that we particularly wanted to visit, but what it does offer is convenience. There are excellent supermarkets very nearby, and a chocolate shop we visited several times. The house is also ideally situated to explore much of what Provence has to offer - hill top and other villages, markets, historical sights, larger cities like Aix and Avignon and even down to the Mediterranean. We enjoy walking and our hosts had even purchased information in English and French to help us chose from the many and varied options available; the house is just a short drive from many of them. We spent the days exploring, returning home for a dip in the pool and to prepare meals with local produce in the beautiful kitchen. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MB2207201...
Winchester, Massachusetts
1 review
“Perfect Provencal Getaway”
Reviewed January 24, 2014 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed at this home with our extended family - ourselves, our children, and the grandparents. It was the perfect home for this group. The bedrooms were large enough and accommodating enough to provide each part of our family privacy while also having grand gathering spaces that we could all be together. The kitchen, family room and patio space were delightful for coming together and sharing a meal or just some down time.

We particularly appreciated the cleanliness of the space. Upon arrival all of the beds were beautifully made up and quality towels were provided. Everything practially sparkled.

The pool and grounds were charming. The house sits next to a road, but you are magically transported to your own little piece of Provence once inside the walls. The owner kept the pool immacualtely clean - and we enjoyed the pool every day that we were there. It was the perfect size for our 3,7 and 9 year old to play in. Pool toys were even provided! We made use of the outdoor grill and pizza oven for which wood and charcoal were nicely provided. It was so quiet and peaceful in the garden area that we spent most nights outside enjoying the spoils from the markets in the am!

While Cavaillon is not known as a Provence hot spot it did have some of the best restaurants in all of Provence, including a Michelin 1 star that we also enjoyed (and welcomed our children!) Also, the house is so central to all of the well-known towns you are in the perfect location to hit all of the fabulous markets each morning - hop one town a day! Also, there is an Auchon close by - like a French Target with grocery - perfect for picking up an necessities.

We would definitely stay there again and heartily recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort
Liked least: The town of Cavaillon
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JL N
Bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Magical, friendly and a superb stay. If only I could come again.”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We arrived in Avignon and though not part of the usual service, due to not being able to hire a car in time, Alison picked us up. Friendly and kind start, I thought. Then on arrival I tried not to sound too impressed but in fact, was blown away by the utter charm and beauty of the place. If you want traditional France with all the mod cons, then this is it. As a writer, i adored the setting and location which facilitated travel to the local area. the house itself was impeccably clean and yet homey enough to feel absolutely comfortable. Beds are great, (expect to sleep like a log) and the linen & towels were fresh, clean and of excellent quality. The kitchen is a great place for family gatherings and Alison and Julian have a great range of cook books on hand too. Loads of workspace for food preparation.

Old world charm, super comfy sofas to snuggle into, plenty of hot water and hosts (Alison and Julian) who were on hand when needed but also gave as much privacy as we wanted for writing and socialising.

There's a fab, well maintained pool and you might need it. The pool furniture is great and pool toys for kids were available. Yes, I was tempted!!!! There are two eating areas outside, an outdoor pizza oven and fantastically for all, a BBQ! My review doesn't really capture how beautiful and mellow it was to sit outside in the evenings, enjoying life here. This place is both indoor and outdoor friendly.

I'm very fussy and I travel a lot so my summary is: great location, great accommodation, great hosts and if you decide to rent this place, it will be a great decision you have made. A big hit all round and the only sadness is that home for me is Australia as otherwise, we'd be tempted to rent it again next year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen R
High Peak
2 reviews
“Fantastic house, with a lovely pool, well situated for exploring Provence”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

A lovely house, tucked away down a quiet road, but within a few minutes drive of shops. The garden is enclosed and very private, with a great pool which the children really enjoyed, and a shady terrace and plenty of other outdoor seating.

The house is very well situated for exploring the area, and there is more than enough to do within a reasonable driving distance to keep you occupied for a couple of weeks.

The owners are friendly, very helpful and non intrusive.

Would not hesitate to recommend, and definitely intend to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool, air-con, well equipped kitchen and lovel shady terrace.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth T
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
1 review
“An amazing home away from home location for a stay in Provence, France!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Our stay at Le Mas du Coq farmhouse from June 22-29, 2013 was WONERFUL!
There were 4 adults in our party.
Would we recommend this property – ABSOLUTELY!

Start with location, location, location – it’s ideal for exploring the Provence region of France. The farmhouse itself is situated on a quiet rural road but within 5 minutes of shopping opportunities including a huge grocery/Walmart type store, gas station, and bakery. Daily markets for fresh fruits and vegetables, cheese, olives, meat, wine etc. are scattered around nearby towns and easily accessible. Note: The local markets are basically open during the morning only.
The farmhouse is just amazing. We wondered at first if we had stumbled onto a gorgeous movie set! The spacious farm kitchen was so well stocked with tableware, pots, pans, cutlery, small appliances and anything needed to prepare a meal. We enjoyed buying items at the markets and assembling a feast of local produce, baguettes, cheese etc. topped off with a dessert from our favorite local bakery – Marie’s
Note: we recommend the golden brown rotisserie chickens found at the markets – perfectly cooked and ready to eat.
We ate virtually every meal outside on the large wooden table. ..perfect under a canopy of jasmine.
The rest of the house was equally lovely although we did not have time to take full advantage of the living room or family room….we were too busy out enjoying the sights and local area! Le Mas du Coq was attractively decorated yet homey. The bedrooms were comfortable and roomy – the bathrooms, bright and cheerful. The closet space was also generous. Everything was spotless and fresh linens covered each bed.

The pool was tucked into a quiet corner of the yard with comfortable chaise lounges and a huge umbrella. It was cleaned and maintained daily. A great relaxation spot!
A washing machine was available on the premises and we did use it throughout the week.
2 Notes: it is not a large capacity washer so load size had to be adjusted accordingly AND there is no dryer so we used the outdoor clothesline and drying rack provided inside.

There’s a great barbeque area where we grilled sausages using the charcoal thoughtfully provided. An attached outdoor oven was also available. Our hosts, Alison and Julian were so friendly and thoughtful. A very helpful notebook awaited us with important information about the farmhouse, appliances, local area, emergency details etc. In addition there was a basket of travel books and brochures which came in handy as we planned our week. In addition, they provided some basic necessities for us such as butter, jam, bread, coffee and wine on our arrival!

Another wonderful feature was the free wifi.
The locked gate and sturdy doors offered the assurance of security and safety.
There are no suggestions, recommendations, or improvements we could make. As a perfect home away from home it was certainly our favorite place to stay during the 2 week vacation and a great alternative to the bland "cookie cutter" hotel rooms.
Alison and Julian were always very quick to respond to us via email during the planning phases of our trip and when we had questions during our stay. Thanks for all you did to make this a memorable week!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Eating outside at the large table beneath the vines and blooming jasmine.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luckylady...
Pawleys Island, South Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Perfect lodging in Provence”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

I highly recommend Le Mas du Coq for your vacation rental in Provence. The house itself and the property far exceeded our expectations and the photos did not do it justice. Everything was perfect for our group of 3 ladies. The house was immaculate, bed and bedding so comfortable, and a kitchen so fully equipped you didn't even know you were in a rental. It was more like being in your own home. Every detail was there, including dry ice in the freezer for a picnic cooler, plus picnic baskets for both picnics and market buying. We all thoroughly enjoyed the private pool and we were also able to grill several nights and charcoal was provided by the owner. The owners, Alison and Julian, were so helpful in every way, and made our stay just that much better. Plus, we were able to choose from a large selection of English DVD movies, plus many great CD's for our listening pleasure. This would be a great house for a family or a group of friends to enjoy the Vaucluse area of Provence...short distances to hill towns and great sights of the area. You hardly needed the air conditioning, but it worked fabulously. Anyone would love Le Mas du Coq.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara W
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Villa Tamaris - Beautiful, private, well located rental perfect for longer term stays”
Reviewed November 17, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

I spent three months (September/October/November) at Villa Tamaris, a two-bedroom rental on the same property as the Mas du Coq, and found it to be an amazing country retreat. It is perfect for those on vacation or those seeking a peaceful, quiet place to write or paint, as I was. The property is well located: close to the amenities of Cavaillon ( a year-round town) as well as providing easy access to the hill top towns of the Luberon and the A7 motorway. The area around the villa is quiet and it is a short walk to the hiking trails of the Luberon.

The villa itself is well maintained and outfitted with everything one needs to make fantastic meals from the offerings of the local markets. The owners are easily available to answer questions and are very discreet/respectful of their guests privacy. The outdoor living space is amazing! In addition to a pool (for use until early October), it has an outdoor kitchen, eating and lounge area which can be used all Fall.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's location, the outdoor space.
Liked least: The second bedroom, the smaller of the two, is better suited to children/teens than adults.
Traveling group: Solo
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 27, 2013
This review refers to Villa Tamaris and not Le Mas du Coq Farmhouse, the latter being the rental property advertised here on Trip Advisor and Holiday Lettings. Villa Tamaris is a two-bedroom villa available for long term let on the same estate as the Farmhouse but the two properties are entirely separate from each other, providing total privacy for the advertised property. Comments in this review about furnishings etc. relate to long term winter letting and do not relate to the facilities provided in the Farmhouse.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing