We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The ultimate authentic French farmhouse retreat”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Le Mas du Coq

Le Mas du Coq 18th Century Farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Le Mas du Coq 18th Century Farmhouse
Private Pool Farmhouse Terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Le Mas du Coq 18th Century Farmhouse
Private Pool
Farmhouse Terrace
Terrace
End of Terrace
Private Pool
Garden
View through Pagoda
Provencal Kitchen
Provencal Kitchen
Living Room
Living Room
Study
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Main Bedroom with SuperKing Bed
Ensuite Bathroom
Main Bedroom
Ensuite Bathroom
Twin Single Bedded Room
Les Taillades
Gordes
Roussillon
Fontaine de Vaucluse
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Cavaillon, Luberon, Vaucluse, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
knikkinyc
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The ultimate authentic French farmhouse retreat”
Reviewed September 14, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

If you're looking for privacy, lovely outdoor space for dining out, a well-maintained pool, and an authentic, beautifully furnished french farmhouse, then Le Mas Du Coq is for you. Alison and Julian are warm, helpful owners, who live in the house themselves in the winter, so the house and kitchen are extremely well-equipped. They provided a welcome kit including french bread, wine, butter and jam - perfect after a long day of travel when you can't be bothered to work out where the supermarket is! The location is a 5-10 minute drive from Cavaillon the local town, and within 25 minutes of Menerbes and many other classic Provencal hill-top towns, so a great launch point for exploring Provence.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning outside dining table surrounded by vines etc.
Liked least: Nothing much within walking distance - car needed.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaizieAtl...
Atlanta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful home - central to Provence.”
Reviewed May 21, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We have recently returned from an incredible stay at Mas du Coq. Alison & Julian are the best hosts ever - a wonderfully friendly English couple who have made the South of France their home. I must admit that having a rather limited understnding of the french language, it was wonderful to be able to communicate with the owners easily. The Addisons thought of everything to make our stay perfect - from stocking the refrigerator with staples before we arrived (including still warm bagettes from the boulangerie and two bottles of local wine) to arranging taxi pickup when we left. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they welcome feedback as they refine the process of letting their charming Mas. They live in anther home on the property which makes them available anytime for questions or assistance but they never infringe on their guests' privacy. Cavaillon, although not one of the most charming provincal towns, is perfectly located for day trips through all of Provence, the Luberon and Vaucluse areas and has good grocery stores and services within five minutes of the house. The house has great air-conditioning (unusual and necessary in the summer) and comfortable lounging areas as well as a very large and perfectly outfitted kitchen. We could have cooked and served a Thanksgiving dinner for twenty there! One of the features that we most enjoyed was the wonderfully private courtyard and lovely pool area. All downstairs rooms open out onto it and there is a large table and eight chairs under the arbor off the kitchen/keeping room. Alison has done a beautiful job with flowers and shrubs and Julian manicures the yard and looks after the pool like a benevolent ghost - you never see him but when you come home, everything is always in perfect order. The parking is secure behind iron gates and, although there are no long vistas or views, the private garden area is so relaxing with comfortable lounges by the pool and wifi service that extends outside. As a matter of fact, we rarely sat any place other then the kitchen and outdoors. The courtyard also includes a grill and pizza oven. We chose to have a substantial lunch while touring and after a long day out and about, we ate in every evening with items we purchased at the various markets we visited. Each evening was perfect as we relaxed around the large oak kitchen table with a simple dinner and made plans for the next day. We didn't have to worry about having wine with dinner and then driving home. It was a great way to enjoy Provence from our home away from home.
One thing that sets this home apart from many others we have experienced is that the owners outfit it completely. They provide soap, garbage bags, paper towels, bath tissue - all those things that you usually have to rush to the store to purchase before you can actually begin living in the house. We mentioned it to them and they responded that they felt it was a small expense to make sure that visitors enjoyed a relaxing stay. Their main objective in this lovely rental home is to make sure that everyone is comfortable and happy while they are there.
My husband and our friends with whom we traveled all agree that this was a wonderful hideaway and would definitely stay there again. The home seems most perfect for a small family having one large "master" ensuite bedroom, and two smaller bedrooms with a double and twin beds respectively. These two rooms share a divided bath which is very convenient. The furnishings are lovely and homey with some antiques but nothing that is anything but comfortable - the perfect cross between ancient ambience and updated amenities. With the charm of the house and its lovely owners, I can recommend Mas du Coq with no reservations whatsoever! Hope to visit again in the future. Thank you for everything, Alison and Julian.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen and outdoor courtyard
Liked least: size of bed in second bedroom for a couple
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sylvia p
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“a very homely french farmhouse”
Reviewed January 16, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

A very warm welcome from the owners on a cold but bright December Day.
The accomodation is 5 *.but very homely.
We enjoyed the roaring log fire in the lounge and the enviable views of the Luberon mountains.
We will visit again in the summer and enjoy all the excellent facilites to the fullest.
We fully enjoyed our lovely break and enjoyed seeing the lovely Christmas decoration in Provence

w

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare B
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed January 7, 2012 for a stay in July 2011

We could not have had a warmer welcome than that received at Le Mas du Coq, a comfortable, spacious farmhouse with beautiful air conditioned rooms. We enjoyed sitting on the veranda or relaxing by the well maintained private pool with distant views of the Luberon mountains. The local knowledge of our hosts enabled us to experience the wealth of natural, cultural and historical heritage that the region has to offer such as National Parks, Roman sites and perched villages. The Sunday market at Isle sur la Sorgue is an exciting shopping experience. We would like to thank Alsion and Julian for all the little extras that made such a difference and hope to return to La Mas du Coq, a wonderful place to stay in Provence.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home
Liked least: I found no faults
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mholmes22...
NYC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfection in Provence”
Reviewed September 29, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

My 2 young relatives and I spent 10 days at the end of the summer at this very beautiful house in Cavaillon. The house is truly beautiful, with a marvelous kitchen--large, attractive, and wonderfully outfitted. Bedrooms are large, light and extremely comfortable. Every modern convenience has been brought into the house and it is immaculate in every way. There is also plenty of LR space and outdoors a very nice garden with eating place for outdoor dining right off the kitchen. There is also an immaculately clean and attractive swimming pool. Cavaillon is perfectly situated--within easy reach of Aix-en-Provence, Avignon, Cassis, Roussillon, Gordes, Les Baux, Menerbes, Bonnieux, Oppede-le Vieux, Arles, St. Remy, Isle Sur La Sorgue and a host of other delightful towns with wonderful outdoor markets and everything Provence has to offer. The owners couldn't be friendlier or more eager to help. I not only would but already have recommended this place to friends and relatives and look forward to going back the next time Provence is on my agenda.
I have been renting houses in Europe for 30 years--and truly there has never been anything better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Truly everyhting--the house and the loccation in Provence
Liked least: I can't think of anything
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing