We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best "formula" lunches in Provence”
Review of Chez Serge

Chez Serge
Ranked #1 of 65 Restaurants in Carpentras
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $37 - $88
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
155 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“One of the best "formula" lunches in Provence”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We heard very good things about this charming restaurant. We reserved a table at noon, which turned out to be a wise decision. We had a table in a courtyard where grapewines climbed the walls and there were ripe grapes hanging - it was, after all mid-September. By 12:15 the courtyard was completely full and the newcomers were taking the inside tables. The 15 Euro prix-fixe lunch included a tasty salad, very well prepared dorade (orata for us) and desert. We added a carafe of rose and ended up with a great lunch for 40 Euros for two. The place is run by young, competent and pleasant professionals. Patrons were mostly locals. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CPLongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    317
    103
    40
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
202 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“A totally unexpected treat”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We recently stayed at the Hotel du Fiacre in Carpentras and asked the desk person for dinner recommendations, especially because it was a Sunday night and many restaurants were closed. We found Chez Serge and were amazed to find a very trendy bistro with a line of people waiting to get it. We did not have a reservation but because we were there when it opened, they found a spot for us. The staff is friendly and terrific (and speak enough English to help with the finer points of the menu and wine list) and the food was outstanding. Beautiful dishes, unique flavors and combinations - one of the best meals of the trip.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank efpatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Amazing food and service”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was our last meal of our two week trip to Europe and it was our best one by far. The food was incredible and the service was top-notch. We were a group of 5 (4 adults and one child) and we all had amazing food. We wish we had more time to come here again. We had to make reservations a few days ahead of time to get in for dinner. The chicken and steak were excellent. The mashed potatoes were very good (my son loved them). As was the tomato lasagne appetizer. The desserts were out of this world. Everyone at the table had something different. I had the raspberry macaron and it was to die for. This is a great location for couples but they also did well with our 8 year old son. Don't miss this one. Except for my son, we all did the set menu (35 Euros).

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cheersman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Loved It”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed just down the street at the lovely Maison Trevier and walked to Chez Serge 3 times. It was great food and wine! I wish I lived in Carpentras to eat there more!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Don T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very good bistro”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We have had a dinner on July 3rd at Chez Serge. It is a very good bistro. In summer we recommend that you seat outside.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wilson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Serge also viewed

 
Pernes-les-Fontaines, Vaucluse
Carpentras, Vaucluse
 

Been to Chez Serge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing