We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Brigadier du Theatre

Le Brigadier du Theatre
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
Le Brigadier du Theatre is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #92 of 588 Restaurants in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $41
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A quality restoration(catering) with a card(map) in the flavours of Provence Situated in the heart of the old town of Avignon, just a step from the palace of the popes and the Bridge(Deck) Saint Bénezet.You will also be in the center of all the activities festival-goers during summer. The opera is quite close, as well as the City hall and the famous place(square) of the Clock. Parking lot of the palace of the popes, the parking lot of Les Halles, parking lot of the paths of Oulle, Parking lot of the oratory for your vehicle. Opened every day noon(south) and evening ( Except Tuesday, as museums) Welcome(Reception) noon(south) 12h00 / 13h30. In the evening 19h00 / 22h00 And + state-of-the-art days Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Diners-club, are accepted.Do not hesitate to reserve the number of places is limited
Bangkok
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

A little daunted that there was only one occupied table when we arrived. The manager put us at ease and guided us though the menu and recommended a moderately priced Cote d'Rhone which was absolutely perfect with the slow cooked lamb, seriously good. I would recommend the restaurant as one of the best value for quality in Avignon.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ATHA-BGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    110
    37
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
211 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Outstanding food in a small, quiet setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Our best dinner by far in Avignon. Very small, intimate restaurant not far from the Merry-Go-Round in the main square in Avignon. Wonderful menu with several top seafood and meat choices with the expected great wine list. You'll need reservations several days in advance if there in the busy time of the year. A bit more upscale than some other spots in Avignon. Dinner with wine will run $175+, but it's worth it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jnenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
364 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Gem on Rue Racine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

A few restaurants on Rue Racine were recommended by our hotel manager. We ventured out without a reservation and found our way to Le Brigadier. We were seated immediately since it was not crowded. My wife ordered crusty goat’s cheese with Serrano ham and eggplant, medallions of monkfish with mushrooms and ham, and gingerbread cake iced with hot chocolate. I tried the crispy salmon/spinach and almond crackers with Parmesan cheese, gratin of potatoes with la brandade de morue (mashed cod). The 3 course meal was 32 euros each; with a bottle of local wine the total came to 109 euros. The meal was quite enjoyable and the service was excellent. The restaurant has a quiet elegance and is a romantic setting. We lingered over the meal for almost three hours, talking with a young couple on an anniversary trip, who generously shared some of their wine. A great evening at a great restaurant. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WC-Travelers-75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

The ambiance here was nicer then many of the restuarants we saw in Avignon. Our food was well prepared and good enough that we returned a second time when friends joined us. In the French tradition we lingered and ate slowly and loved every minute of being there. The service was very good and the gentlemen who served us were very pleasant. We would definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a wonderful find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

As we wandered the streets late on our first afternoon in Avignon, we stopped to look at the menu of Le Brigadier. A gentleman advised that the restaurant would be open for dinner at 7PM and asked if we would like to make a reservation. We gave him our name and returned to enjoy a wonderful dinner in this beautifully appointed small restaurant just a few blocks off the main square. The meal was a treat from start to finish.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan79912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Brigadier du Theatre also viewed

 
Avignon, Vaucluse
 
Avignon, Vaucluse
 

Been to Le Brigadier du Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing