We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service and food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Jardin de la Tour

Le Jardin de la Tour
Reserve with
Le Jardin de la Tour is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #84 of 588 Restaurants in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
“Great service and food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

We went for lunch and we had the place to ourselves... I think its more of an evening place but it is open for lunch. Jean-Marc prepared us great food and treated the kids as if they were his own.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    33
    17
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really, really good food - will visit again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

The food at Le Jardin de la Tour in Avignon was seriously good. Some memorable dishes include the bouillabaise soup which was a rich, saffron-coloured broth full of beautiful sea-flavours. My Father, whom I dined with, doesn't typically like fish, but even he raved about the soup.

The very personable and engaging Chef Jean Marc Larrue also presented us with a side dish of crisp bread, to be topped with a garlic-gruyere spread, and further topped with shaved parmesan - so delicious, we had to stop ourselves from enjoying this so that we could also enjoy the mains.

I had a wonderful main of seared octopus. In my opinion, a chef that can take a tasteless creature and cook it so that it actually tastes good, with a brilliant texture, is an excellent chef. Chef Larrue did exactly that. Best octopus dish I've ever had.

Was still thinking about the wonderful dinner the next morning. Chef Larrue's honest, unpretentious and delicious cooking at Le Jardin de la Tour is not to be missed. If you'd like to have the award-winning bouillabaise, don't forget to place an order 24 hours in advance. Two thumbs up to Chef Larrue!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz_L_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Chef Larrue presents a dining experience not to miss when you visit Avignon. Each course is presented that it is a joy to look at. But with all meals, it is in the tasting that determines if it is worthy. Every course was delicious and a good portion. The wines worked well with each course.
If you have time and Chef Larrue is available, take a cooking class. It is an experience you won't forget.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rover266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Edison, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We enjoyed a lovely and memorable evening at Le Jardin de la Tour. The food was delicious and carefully prepared. The service was attentive; the wines were matched beautifully with each course. Chef Mark was very charming, explaining each dish offered for each course. It is a little difficult to find, but well worth the search.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A "MUST-GO" when in Avignon, France”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I had heard of Le Jardin de la Tour and this chef before ever visiting France. I am so glad we made time for this culinary experience. Chef Jean Marc Larrue took such good care with every course. Each serving was art on the plate and pleasure to the palate. In other words, folks, it was delicious and beautiful. Between courses, we were delighted to hear about the beginnings of the restaurant from a machine factory, to resourcing the materials, and of the people and events that built this eclectic adventure. There are many good French restaurants in Avignon, but there is only ONE like Le Jardin de la Tour.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CB-BeenThereDoneThat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Jardin de la Tour also viewed

Avignon, Vaucluse
Avignon, Vaucluse
 

Been to Le Jardin de la Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing