We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of best restaurants anywhere”
Review of L'AGAPE

L'AGAPE
Ranked #69 of 644 Restaurants in Avignon
Cuisines: French, Contemporary, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed June 15, 2016 via mobile

We had two 32E meals (appetizer, main and dessert) and all dishes were perfect, innovative with every element perfectly balanced. Service for us was friendly and efficient. Modern decor on square in old town, opposite side than Popes Palace so more locals than crass tourists. Highest recommendation.

Date of visit: June 2016
2  Thank humanone
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (767)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 70 of 767 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2016

the food was excellent (also in small portions) and so was the wine. but out experience there was not entirely pleasant: we were ignored and sat in front of out empty plates for a long time, while french speaking costumers were served much better. not a way to attract tourists or to get good reviews

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank ShlomitL6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2016

On the recommendation of locals we chose this restaurant after walking past it repeatedly and rejecting it for other restaurants in the area that had more variety on their menus. The staff is friendly and helpful, the presentation of the food is exceptional and the wine list is extensive. That said, the menu was very limited and the fish was undercooked and the duck was just okay. We are not picky eaters and we have no problem with spending money for a fine dining experience, but we have had so many wonderful meals, during our month in Avignon that we found this restaurant a little disappointing, especially considering the cost.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2016

This is a lively restaurant (just two years old) with a young and enthusiastic team. The food is very good and great attention is paid to presentation. For the main course we all chose lamb, it was a picture on the plate and very pleasing in the mouth, but two small pieces of meat with a dab of two sauces was just a little too precious. That said, we had been presented with two amuse-bouches before the meal and given slices of bread made in house with both our starter and the main course – so generosity is not an issue. We would all have appreciated just a bit more on the plate for the main course.
We ate here on 29 April 2016; a three course menu with aperitif and wine was about €55 per person.
8/10

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DrPPJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2016 via mobile

L'Agape had BEAUTIFUL presentation, AMAZING taste, and service that was attentive and warm! We will return to eat here anytime we are visiting Avignon.
It truly was a great experience.

Date of visit: April 2016
4  Thank agrangeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'AGAPE also viewed

 

Been to L'AGAPE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.