We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“we would stay here again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thames Residence Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avignon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thames Residence Hotel
Ranked #16 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
miami
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“we would stay here again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

The location of the hotel, the manager's( Philippe) attention to detail, the comforts of an apartment, the free calls home, makes this an ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank josefamiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHILIPPE D, Responsable réception at Thames Residence Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Sorry for the delay for thanking you for the time you spent for writing a nice review about your stay in Avignon in September 2010 ! You wrote a very nice review and gave us an excellent note ! Therefore, you contribute making us today TripAdvisor's number one in Avignon and I wanted to share this Awards with you too ! All our team share this Award with you and thank you very much for your support and contribution to this award ! So, many many thank from all of us, Thames Residence Hotel in Avignon ! And we still hope welcoming you in the future !
Best warm regards
Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    28
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
56
100
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2010

Excellent accommodation and excellent service from the Manager Philippe.
We couldn't fault anything!
All amenities are terrific including under building parking and VOIP phone service enabling very cheap overseas calls.
We highly recommend the apartments!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blossom017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHILIPPE D, Responsable réception at Thames Residence Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Sorry for the delay for thanking you for the time you spent for writing a nice review about your stay in Avignon in September 2009 ! A long time ago ! You wrote a very nice review on TripAdvisor and gave us an excellent note ! Therefore, you contribute making us today TripAdvisor's number one in Avignon and I wanted to share this Awards with you too ! All our team share this Award with you and thank you very much for your support and contribution to this award ! So, many many thank from all of us, Thames Residence Hotel in Avignon ! And we still hope welcoming you in the future !
Best warm regards
Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2010

When you discover the perfect place you feel that it must be shared so that other travellers can have the same PERFECT holiday.
Thames Apartments are very centrally located across the road from the city wall and a three minute walk to the Train and Bus Station to enable visits to other Provence towns . The TGV to Paris a 10-15 minute bus ride to a separate Station and the pickup a five minute walk from Thames Apartments.
In all our travels we have never had the attention to detail that Philippe provides.
He waited until our late arrival and was all smiles. We stayed over Easter and were given chocolate eggs and nothing was too much trouble. Philippe kept in contact prior
to our arrival which was very reassuring as we live on the other side of the world and
made our stay very personal which was lovely.

The apartment was fantastic with small kitchen which enabled us to buy at the local markets and cook French meals in the evening. There was plenty of space with separate bedroom and little sitting room and the apartment was spotless (merci Emannuelle). Having stayed in Hotels in Europe before I was expecting small but very pleasantly surprised. Philippe provided free internet access and phone calls to land lines. As I had an urgent call to make this was made extremely easy.

I would recommend anyone to stay at Thames Apartments. We can't wait to return!
Please have space for us Philippe - the same apartment would be simply grande!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHILIPPE D, Responsable réception at Thames Residence Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
How are you in Sydney ?
Sorry for the delay for thanking you for the time you spent for writing a nice review about your stay in Avignon in Spring 2010 ! A long time ago ! You wrote a very nice review on TripAdvisor and gave us an excellent note ! Therefore, you contribute making us today TripAdvisor's number one in Avignon and I wanted to share this Awards with you too ! All our team share this Award with you and thank you very much for your support and contribution to this award ! So, many many thank from all of us, Thames Residence Hotel in Avignon ! And we still hope welcoming you in the future !
Best warm regards
Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2009

I stayed for one week in this residence and am pleased that I came across it in my seach for accommodation in Avignon. I was looking for something more than the usual hotel room, and this was provided for in the Thames Residence Hotel. I really liked the idea of the kitchenette which allowed me to have my breakfast at whatever time I chose in the comfort of my own room, without having to appear awake! Good for those who are not bright eyed and bushy-tailed first thing in the morning!! Also good for preparing an evening meal or a snack after a long day's sight-seeing.
The situation was ideal, very near the centre and right beside the train and bus stations. The "navette" for the TGV station is just across the road.
The weather was excellent while I was there and I was able to avail of the rooftop terrace when I wanted to just sit and read. The large terrace in front of my room was rather wasted on me as I don't think you could sit there with a great degree of comfort, given that it is on a main road. However once the windows are closed the appartments are perfectly soundproof, so light sleepers can be reassured. The manager, Mr Philippe Dietrich, was most helpful and informative.
Above all, these appartments offer very good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deravona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHILIPPE D, Responsable réception at Thames Residence Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Carmel,
Sorry for the delay for thanking you for the time you spent for writing a nice review about your stay in Avignon in September 2009 for one week ! A long time ago ! You wrote a very nice review on TripAdvisor and gave us an excellent note ! Therefore, you contribute making us today TripAdvisor's number one in Avignon and I wanted to share this Awards with you too ! All our team share this Award with you and thank you very much for your support and contribution to this award ! So, many many thank from all of us, Thames Residence Hotel in Avignon ! And we still hope welcoming you in the future !
Best warm regards
Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

Our stay at the Thames was very pleasant and the apartment was beyond expectations.
Free internet and phone, comfortable apartment in great shape. Phillip was accommodating, hospitable, and very welcoming.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank azovmaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHILIPPE D, Responsable réception at Thames Residence Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Yotam,
Sorry for the delay for thanking you for the time you spent for writing a nice review about your stay in Avignon in October 2009 ! A long time ago ! You wrote a very nice review on TripAdvisor and gave us an excellent note ! Therefore, you contribute making us today TripAdvisor's number one in Avignon and I wanted to share this Awards with you too ! All our team share this Award with you and thank you very much for your support and contribution to this award ! So, many many thank from all of us, Thames Residence Hotel in Avignon ! And we still hope welcoming you in the future !
Best warm regards
Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2009

Very happy with our selection. Correspondence with the manager prior to trip was fantastic and very informative. The apartments were spacious and contained everything that we needed. It was also very quiet which was great for wary travellers. Great location. A very easy walk into the centre of the old city. Also close to trains and buses, as well as restaurants, supermarkets and laundry facilities.. Staff were very helpful. Our toddler was also well catered for. The kitchenette was useful when craving a home cooked meal. We would highly recommend these apartments - especially at the very reasonable price!!! Thanks heaps.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelsyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHILIPPE D, Responsable réception at Thames Residence Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
How are you in Melbourne ?
Sorry for the delay for thanking you for the time you spent for writing a nice review about your stay in Avignon in December 2008 ! A long time ago ! You wrote a very nice review on TripAdvisor and gave us an excellent note ! Therefore, you contribute making us today TripAdvisor's number one in Avignon and I wanted to share this Awards with you too ! All our team share this Award with you and thank you very much for your support and contribution to this award ! So, many many thank from all of us, Thames Residence Hotel in Avignon ! And we still hope welcoming you in the future !
Best warm regards
Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2009

Went after reading TA reviews and not disappointed. Apartments are very spacious,well appointed and North or South facing . Apartments facing North have the best views of the Old City walls and Town and have larger terraces . Apartments facing South currently have views of the station, a car park and a building site.(Though I am assured they get more sun).
The staff are welcoming friendly and very helpful although the parking can be a little trying as the entrance is quite tight for any decent sized estate car or MPV, but once through the entrance the spaces are fine and it has CCTV coverage. HOWEVER it also comes equipped with a large unpleasant man who seems to be the car park attendant and shouts at anyone not able to understand the confusing instructions on the entry barrier. He also seems much more pleasant if a female fails the course rather than a male,and I am informed that he is neither an employee of the hotel or apartments but of a company operating many sites in the area. All that being said the parking is directly under the Hotel and you you can opt for it at reasonable cost.
This is the only reason we have rated the apartments 4 rather than 5 star. Moral, lose the idiot gain a star.
Quick note about Avignon. We went to see the ancient town,architecture etc and arrived around the end of their Festival. Thought it would be less crowded but were badly mistaken. Vast numbers of people and dirty streets,but more importantly all the streets were plastered with adverts for the festival and it was almost impossible to see the buildings and sites as a result.
If you want to see this town for the old buildings and architecture go when there is no festival imminent or just ended.
The town authorities didn't attempt to clear any of the rubbish for at least 3 days after the end and it was very disappointing as a result.
However Orange,Nimes, Chateaneuf du Pape,Pont du Gard etc etc were beautifully kept and the apartments are an excellent base for touring and sightseeing.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHILIPPE D, Responsable réception at Thames Residence Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear jan and Colin, how are you doing ? Hope you are well !
Sorry for the delay for thanking you for the time you spent for writing a nice review about your stay in Avignon in July 2009 ! A long time ago ! You wrote a very nice review on TripAdvisor and gave us an excellent note ! Therefore, you contribute making us today TripAdvisor's number one in Avignon and I wanted to share this Awards with you too ! All our team share this Award with you and thank you very much for your support and contribution to this award ! So, many many thank from all of us, Thames Residence Hotel in Avignon ! And we still hope welcoming you in the future !
Best warm regards
Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#12 of 69 in Avignon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#7 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
#13 of 69 in Avignon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thames Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thames Residence Hotel

Property: Thames Residence Hotel
Address: 36 boulevard Saint Roch, 84000, Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thames is 4 stars aparthotel open in July 2002 and located in the old historical city center of Avignon, just in front of the millennium walls surrounding the old center, 10 minutes walk from the Popes' Palace and Benezet bridge. Largest air conditioned suites and apartments in the old city center, fully equipped for short or long stay. Thames resort Hotel and Apartments' services is less than 400 meters from 90 restaurants with the 10 most well known ones, less than 700 meters from Popes' palace, less than 500 meters from Opera and most well known theaters, next to the old central train station, next to the inter-cities busses'station ! Thames Resort Hotel and apartments'services is one of the only three hotels in Avignon able to propose underground car parking with private and secure lifts direct to the rooms, suites and apartments'floors ! Thames is also one othe the three hotels in the old city center to propose a pool and sundeck on the top of the building ! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing