We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Le Colbert

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Le Colbert
Ranked #14 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a lovely place, clean, safe, intimate. It's located within easy walking distance of the train station and the many interesting shops and restaurants inside the walls of Avignon. Check-in was quick and pleasant, my room was small but well maintained with a good bed, clean bathroom and a view of the terrace at the back of the hotel and the rooftops beyond. I was a little concerned getting back to the hotel late-ish one night but the main streets were full of people enjoying the evening. The only other people walking on the narrow side street where the hotel is located were a father and his little girl - it seemed quite safe.
The hotel has clearly been decorated with a great deal of taste and attention to detail - the colours, the posters, the fixtures - everything has been chosen carefully. There was a tiny edge of impatience from Annie (the woman in charge) but I'm sure the endless string of questions from tourists must eventually wear. But mostly she was extremely gracious. She served a lovely breakfast of bread, croissants, frittata, lots of good coffee and then a dessert! all beautifully presented - more than I needed or could finish. Patrice was also very sweet and kind, even sending me home with some dried lavender. Both speak enough English and are wonderful sources of information about the city. This isn't like a Holiday Inn or a Delta. It isn't chrome-shiny and it's much more personal and intimate than that. And elegant, in a gently worn way.

Room Tip: Be prepared to carry your own bag up the stairs - there are three or four flights. If that will be h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathieak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    115
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
31
290
42
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Randolph, Vermont
Level Contributor
277 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Conveniently located near the station and shuttle bus, Le Colbert is comfortable and everything works. What made it memorable for us, however, was how Patrice, the innkeeper, spent a lot of time advising us on what else to see and do while in Provence. Definitely a keeper.

Room Tip: On a quiet side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StepMorris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Hotel Le Colbert like a comfortable B & B--cozy but not twee, ornate but not suffocating, it is a graceful and safe retreat. Reception is cordial and business-like, with a quick lesson on how to access the hotel at any time while maintaining security. My room was small but comfortable, with the toilet (no bidet) separate from the bath (still no bidet). Extra touches like a universal adapter for electrical appliances from all countries, free wifi, a room safe, and attention to detail make this quiet hotel ideal. 12 euros for breakfast is a good deal because along with the usual bread, butter and jam you get a plate of delicacies, a home made treat ( I got a crepe one morning and a slice of apple tart the next), and a huge pot of coffee. The owners have made everything just about perfect; even the 60-stair climb from reception to the top floor is an elegant and amusing one.

Room Tip: If you can't or don't want to climb a lot of stairs, insist on a room as close to the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Thanks to Patrice and Annie....for making our stay in Avignon so memorable. Patrice and Annie are a very friendly couple, we really enjoy our stay in their small cosy family hotel. Not forgetting the breakfast that Annie make ....I wish it could be a bigger portion though. It's simple delicious and awesome. Must try if you are staying there.
Room is small but it's clean and very convenient....lots of restaurants around the area and tourist infor counter and supermarket nearby.
Patrice is so nice as to recommend to us some nice dinner place...which we really enjoy our food.....I will definitely stay there again if I ever make another trip to Avignon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoleneTYL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel is located in a renovated old townhouse in walking distance from main train station. This train station is different from the TGV train station which is located outside the city and you need to take a bus or a taxi to get inside the Avignon city walls. The hotel is remodeled with a lot of taste and does not have an elevator. Our room was on third flood and we needed to carry our luggage up the stairs. The room was small, with a comfortable bed but without much space around the bed. The bathroom was very small and there was only a hand held shower. WiFi was available in the room and was reliable. The hotel is run by Annie and Patrice who were both helpful and pleasant. The homemade breakfast was rather expensive but very good. The hotel is very close to tourist information center and the papal palace is in walking distance. For those on a budget on the main street (Jean Jaures) there is also a grocery store- Carrefour. We enjoyed our stay even I wish we had a bigger room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Hotel Le Colbert is owned by Patrice and his wife, who makes a fabulous breakfast. Patrice welcomed us warmly when we arrived and helped us carry our luggage to our room, which was on the top floor. There is no elevator, and the spiral staircase is narrow, so anyone who is not comfortable with carrying their luggage several floors would have a problem. We were delighted with our top floor room, with a window looking out over the rooftops of Avignon and the hotel patio below. Patrice provided good recommendations for restaurants and advice on sightseeing. The hotel is on a quiet sidestreet near the bus stop where the bus from the TGV stations arrives, and also near the other train station. It is easy walking to all the major sites in Avignon. Although the bathroom was clean and well-designed, the shower head was handheld, making it a little tricky to shower and stay warm. But that did not detract from the overall value of the hotel.

Room Tip: If you are not comfortable climbing stairs, you need a room on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Lots of the accomodation in Avignon is very expensive if you want to stay inside the walls of the city. You could do a lot worse than stay here, it's decent value for money, in a good location near the tourist office and not far to the main squares and restaurants. Rooms were big enough and the facilties were very clean, nothing to complain about really!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hairygarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
#13 of 69 in Avignon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#10 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Colbert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Colbert

Property: Hotel Le Colbert
Address: 7 rue Agricol Perdiguier, 84000, Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Avignon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
#3 Business Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Colbert Hotel in Avignon is an authentic little "hotel of charm", located right in the heart of the historic center of Avignon. The hotel stayed in a small and typical quiet street ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Le Colbert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Colbert Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing