We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Five-Star" Hostess and Accommodations”
Review of L'Ombre du Palais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
L'Ombre du Palais
Ranked #11 of 55 Avignon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Five-Star" Hostess and Accommodations”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

You cannot find a better place to stay. Our hostess, Sabine, is the sweetest, happiest person that made us feel so welcome. She treated us "better than family". I hated to leave. This B&B is very clean, the breakfast was continental and good. She makes the best apricot jam. Breads were delicious, nothing like in the states. Her helper, Madeline, was a delight and very efficient. Sabine went out of her way to make arrangements for train and bus schedules, as well as directions. She suggested places to visit which were great. Her suggestions included the days to go because of special market days. She was very, very knowledgeable. She suggested places to eat that were great but not too expensive. If we ever get another opportunity to visit Avignon, we would not stay anywhere else. The location is excellent and safe.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankandjanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alombredupalais, Propriétaire at L'Ombre du Palais, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful advice about my House,,,,It was a real pleasure to meet you,
All the best for you,,,,
Warm regards,sabine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    23
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
37
132
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Upland, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Madame Sabine takes hospitality to a whole other level. She is L'Ombre du Palais. From the moment you meet Sabine she is warm and welcoming with excellent English. Her home is like a beautifully decorated museum. She is passionate about her city and has excellent recommendations for restaurants and activities although her best recommendation was to slow down and just enjoy. Her property is located in the square across from the Palais du Papes (hence the name which means "in the shadow of the palace"). It's about a 20 minute walk from Avignon Centre train station although most fast trains arrive at Avignon TGV which is out of town and requires an additional bus or taxi ride into town. She has 3 or 4 rooms which are all located on the ground floor. We stayed in the Kandinsky room which was very large, comfortable, peaceful, and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was served upstairs either at the dining table or on the patio if the weather is warmer. Breakfast included tea or coffee, yogurt, fruit confit, breads, and jams. Sabine was there each morning to present breakfast with the help of sweet Madeline. Sabine also lives on this floor with her kitchen, salon and office area so you really feel as though you are a personal guest in her home. Sabine is an excellent cook and you have an option of her cooking dinner for you. The food and company were excellent and we would recommend. Madeline also walked with us to the meeting place of the tour we had booked on the first day to ensure we were picked up without any problems and made us a fantastic packed lunch the morning we had to leave early to catch the train to Bordeaux. Sabine, thank you for making us feel so welcome. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and getting to know you, fell in love with Provence, and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twoAmericantourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We couldn't believe how fortunate we were to stay with Sabine - the only problem was that it was only for two nights - I could have stayed forever. We hadn't planned ahead and feel truly blessed to have found Sabine's place so close to the Palais des Papes. Sabine was gracious, warm and welcoming and a beautiful, classy lady, full of mystery - I could have talked to her for hours. The food she served was delicious and elegantly presented in an atmosphere of beauty and history; we enjoyed the view and the music and the glasses of wine on our arrival and in the evening. She provided great recommendations for places to visit in the environs around Avignon, sharing books and maps with us. This was the highlight of our trip to France and we highly recommend it to everyone travelling to France.

Room Tip: Each room is decorated according to a famous artist and they are all amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trudytothemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cordova, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

my wife and I stayed 5 fabulous nights at Sabine's B & B. Best B & B experience we ever had.
Beautiful clean room, great breakfast, afternoon wine and snacks but best of all was Sabine herself.
She couldn't do enough to make our stay a memorable one. Her recommendations for restaurants and sightseeing were perfect. Her recommendation of Michelle for our private driver and tour guide was perfect.

Great location along with Sabine's beautiful personality made for the perfect conclusion to our trip to France.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilbert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Thea and I stayed with Sabine for 6 nights in early October. This was our base for exploring Provence with a driver\ guide This was a great combination. Previous reviewers have already encapsulated the wonderful experience of L'Ombre du Palais in their comments which I also endorse. Our stay with Sabine was the most memorable in our 5 weeks in France and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ermil-Thea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Sabine Ferrand’s L'Ombre du Palais is why my husband and I love to travel. How often do you get a comfortable, tastefully decorated room, a knock your eyes out guest terrace with a terrific view of the main sights, a tasty French breakfast and a hostess who takes care of your every need? We arrived late (by American standards, right on time by French) and were greeted with a wonderful pre-arranged meal. Each morning Sabine made recommendations on our itinerary, and placed hard-to-get reservations for restaurants that served local, delicious food at reasonable prices. When Joe came down with a cold, she sent down herbal tea, cakes and mystery green pills from Italy that resuscitated him. For our TGV rail departure, she prepared a picnic of frommage and jambon sandwiches, hard boiled eggs, chocolate, and tea cakes. We were the envy of all the Pringle eating passengers on the train! This is a great place to stay – just book it!

Room Tip: The Kadinsky room was fairly quiet, but overlooked the Mecure Hotel which could be noisier in peak s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristiJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Sabine's house is a delight and so is she. I stayed there with my two children, Josh age 10 and Esther age 12 who were entranced watching the sun set from the roof terrace. Sabine was most accommodating in creating a dinner that suited their tastes. The location is extraordinarily central but with luggage it was worth taking a taxi from the station as there are restrictions about cars entering the city centre. The house is a treasure trove of interesting objects and pictures with each room named after an artist. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catw195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#6 of 69 in Avignon
1,514 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
786 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes
0.1 mi away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
0.1 mi away
La Mirande Hotel
La Mirande Hotel
#8 of 69 in Avignon
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Ombre du Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Ombre du Palais

Property: L'Ombre du Palais
Address: 6 rue de la Vieille Juiverie | Place du Palais des Papes, 84000, Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your L'Ombre du Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing