We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A GREAT stay in Avignon”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Banasterie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Banasterie
Ranked #9 of 51 Avignon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A GREAT stay in Avignon”
Reviewed December 31, 2006

My husband and I stayed at La Banasterie during the Christmas holiday after reading the very positive reviews. The rooms are tastefully decorated and spacious and the proprietors were especially helpful in arranging restaurant reservations on Christmas Eve and Day. I usually don't go for the floral "fluff" that most B&Bs exude, but this one was very romantic and I went for it big time (candlelight on the stairs, scented lavender hangers in the closets and the bathroom had a nice, deep soaking tub). The breakfasts were simply but thoughtfully prepared with fresh fruit and breads--just a lot of nice touches. We would stay here again in a second.

I foolishly booked us at Hotel d'Europe, a high-end hotel in town, for the final two nights of the stay in Avignon, thinking it would be very upscale and a different kind of experience. Big mistake! We cursed ourselves for not staying at La Banasterie the entire time. Read my review of that hotel for more details.

  • Liked — Decor and nice touches
  • Disliked — The chocolates everywhere where too tempting to not eat all the time!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank sdixon2899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    62
    11
    9
    5
See reviews for
38
187
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2006

I booked our stay online. The proprietor e-mailed me back promptly with the 'annex' option for two adults and two eight year old children.

Avignon is a lovely town with narrow winding streets. The taxi driver knew of the hotel immediately and took us there. A quick drive from the TGV station.

The hotel's location is very nice. It is just around the corner from the beaten path. The town square, which is a block away, has a wonderful carousel for the children. We walked all over the old city with ease.

The proprietor also suggested restaurants and talked extensively with our car rental company in French, helping us immensely with a computer glitch.

We went up a narrow winding staircase to our very roomy apartment. A full kitchen, full bathroom (toilet in a different room than the bathtub) a large dining area where there are two twin beds or daybeds and one room separated by antique french doors with a queen bed.

It was clean and quaint. In the morning a nice breakfast of bread, jam, coffee and hot chocolate was hung on our door.

We really liked it there and would stay there again without any hesitation.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
9 Thank daisyandmarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2006

Wonderful, romantic break.
Set in the heart of Avignon (but far enough away from the main square to avoid crowds/ noise).
Superb interiors and superb breakfast.
Excellent recommendations from the proprieters regarding restaurants/ cafes etc.
Cute private terrace we weren't expecting..

Just be careful if you don't have SATNAV - it was extremely diffficult to locate due to the quaint inner citadel road system and one way streets.

Other than that - go there!
Honeymoon/ second honeymoon - they light tea lights on the stone courtyard and steps!!
We opened the window one night and smooth jazz came wafting through from somewhere...it was fab
Wonderful...

  • Liked — Unique, charming, room suite and terrace
  • Disliked — Several flights of stairs - luggage was an issue
  • Tips/Secrets — SATNAV - very difficult to navigate the inner citadel
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank THP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2006

A stay at this guest house is just wonderful. I cannot say enough good things about it.

The location just a few steps behind the Palais des Papes is extremely good.

The rooms are great, Francoise and Jean-Michel are very friendly, breakfast is excellent and their recommendations of restaurants were excellent. You should try Les 5 Sens!!

Interested in antiqes..... just ask Francoise for good advices and take the bus to Villeneuve Avignon Saturdays morning until 13.

If you are looking for a real nice and quiet base from which to explore Avignon I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Magnar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2006

I loved La Banasterie! We stayed in an annex, not the main property, so I am not sure how it compares exactly. The owners were very friendly and helpful, the room was great, the breakfast just wonderful, and the location was very convenient. I would absolutely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamehammah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2006

We stayed at La Banasterie in early Oct. 2006 and found this ideally located charming small hotel to be a great experience and one of the favorite hotels of our trip. Chocolates in the reception area at all times, fruit and chocolates in our tastefully decorated room upon arrival, candles on the stairs and wonderful breakfasts all made this a place we would certainly return to. Jean Michel was most helpful in recommending excellent restaurants and anything else we needed.

  • Liked — charm and location
  • Disliked — no dislikes
  • Tips/Secrets — for anyone wanting a small intimate hotel with charm
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank freddevinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2006

We stayed at La Banasterie for three nights in late September 2006. Two nights were in the main house, but we were forced to stay in the annex the third night due to a mistake by the owners upon making our reservation. We would only recommend staying in the annex for longer stays in Avignon (each room has a kitchinette) AND if you don't mind a tight stairwell and feeling as though you rented an apartment versus being in a B&B. Our rooms and the public areas were clean (despite what other reviews have stated). The rooms in the main house are wonderfully decorated and are worth the money. We recommend reserving a room that has access to the private terrace. Great location in Avignon (close to the Palais des Papes). Overall, we would stay in La Banasterie again. Owners are polite, but not terribly warm or inviting.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Critical_But_Fair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#6 of 69 in Avignon
1,392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
742 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Mirande Hotel
La Mirande Hotel
#8 of 69 in Avignon
374 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.1 mi away
Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Banasterie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Banasterie

Property: La Banasterie
Address: 11 rue de la Banasterie, 84000, Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first B&B in Avignon (created in 2001), La Banasterie is a beautiful 16th century residence, 50 meters from the Pope's palace and two steps from the Pont Saint-Benezet which is one of the most romantic places in Avignon.With chocolate, red ochre or Naples yellow colored walls, the Guest House La Banasterie offers 2 rooms and 3 suites with refined decor, appreciable comfort and 2 apartments with full kitchens.We have a library, internet lounge with computer and free acces and depending on the rooms you choose, a shaded terrace, balcony or a patio with fountain.La Banasterie is a warm atmosphere, accentuated at night by the lights and candles you can enjoy comfortably in armchairs and sofas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Banasterie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Banasterie Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing