We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of La Banasterie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Banasterie
Ranked #9 of 55 Avignon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The room we stayed in was beautiful. I would say that the building has lots of charm and character. The location is great- right in the middle of the old town and close to all the sights. The service was excellent. The french breakfast is the usual croissants, baguettes, yogurt and jams. However, the hot chocolate they make is the best I have ever had! If I ever make it back to Avignon I will return to La Banasterie.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    65
    11
    9
    5
See reviews for
40
190
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2012

A 2 minute walk from the Popes Palace but tucked away in a quiet street , it was a perfect combination. We stayed in one of the apartment type rooms which was ideal for 2 adults & 2 kids - very stylishly appointed with everything we needed including a modern kitchen area . The House is a really interesting place, with great decor and nice touches all over . Really is a great place to stay. Would definately return

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Each year, we enjoy the Avignon festival and the pleasure of being in Avignon would be incomplete without a stay at La Banasterie. We love this renovated house with its intricate architecture and always appreciate the spacious and comfortable rooms. The breakfasts are superb and Jean-Michel always has good recommendations for restaurants. The location at the heart of the medical city is ideal to easily explore the city. We highly recommend this very cozy and friendly B&B.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed there a couple of years ago in October. Sorry for the delayed post.
However, this is a great place to spend time in Avignon. Charming hosts, funky, artful and pleasant rooms of excellent size.
Once you find it, it is close to everything.
Very quiet. Very fine, I would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Stayed at the top of the stairs w/ sitting room and excellent bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobburgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

La Banasterie is a remarkable renovation of a building, set around a narrow courtyard, which dates back to the 17th century. It's full of character, lovely objects and furniture - and steep staircases and low lintels. If you are travelling with a huge suitcase you may have problems negotiating access to your room! It's in a first class location for discovering the astounding sights of Avignon. The owner's son enthusiastically told us about restaurants, places to visit etc and had a clear insider's understanding. (Good tip from him: visit the Palais des Papes in late afternoon if visiting during the summer - when it's roasting outside the rooms of the palace are cool!) The breakfast was fine but not the wonder that the website suggests. We liked the place and it's style.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B-RReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

La Banasterie is an outstanding bed&breakfast, which for us has become synonymous with classy elegance and historical feel that we look for in Avignon.
We love the spacious rooms renovated and decorated with talent, and we stayed in several of them over the years. The location, barely 100 meters from the Palais des Papes and close to most other sites intra muros, is very convenient. We enjoy the great French breakfasts and the nice and helpful hosts.
We can only strongly recommend La Banasterie for a classy and elegant stay in Avignon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s20100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed at La Banasterie for the first week of our honeymoon in Avignon. The host Michel very nice, made us feel so welcome and relaxed and really focused on the details that made our stay special. Michel treats guests as friends and family, giving great recommendations for places to visit and eat. Our room was lovely, very comfortable bed and bathroom. Also the breakfast provided was excellent.

Fantastic and highly recommended. A really special place,we'd love to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordi_Lau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#6 of 69 in Avignon
1,490 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
778 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Mirande Hotel
La Mirande Hotel
#8 of 69 in Avignon
394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes
0.2 mi away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Banasterie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Banasterie

Property: La Banasterie
Address: 11 rue de la Banasterie, 84000, Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first B&B in Avignon (created in 2001), La Banasterie is a beautiful 16th century residence, 50 meters from the Pope's palace and two steps from the Pont Saint-Benezet which is one of the most romantic places in Avignon.With chocolate, red ochre or Naples yellow colored walls, the Guest House La Banasterie offers 2 rooms and 3 suites with refined decor, appreciable comfort and 2 apartments with full kitchens.We have a library, internet lounge with computer and free acces and depending on the rooms you choose, a shaded terrace, balcony or a patio with fountain.La Banasterie is a warm atmosphere, accentuated at night by the lights and candles you can enjoy comfortably in armchairs and sofas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Banasterie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Banasterie Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing