We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La BARNasterie”
Review of La Banasterie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Banasterie
Ranked #9 of 55 Avignon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jericho, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“La BARNasterie”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

No chickens and goats allowed. However, the B & B website encourages human habitation. This is indeed unfortunate, I have seen cleaner barns. The place is downright filthy. A centuries-old building, with dirt to match, is located on a narrow and quiet street centrally located in Avignon. Quiet during the day but not at night where a steady stream of loud and intoxicated individuals saunter by. Engaging and helpful proprietors are described in the website. This may be true in the absence of guests. However, God help you if you need an extra towel or dinner reservation at an hour earlier than 10 p.m. An earlier reservation will prompt the comment, "So you want to be surrounded by Americans. The French do not eat at this hour." Just charming! Climbing the narrow and curving stairs to the rooms is an adventure in itself. You need not schedule any climbing expeditions in the nearby mountains because climbing to the room is daunting enough. Adding insult to injury, do not return to the BARN after dark. You will traverse the stairs by candlelight. The flimsy railings will not support the weight of a child and are decorated with hanging fabrics. So even in complete sobriety, the stairs are a firetrap. Not a fire extinguisher in sight. Now to be fair, scattered throughout the BARN, there are many morsels of chocolate. Unfortunately, they appear to be petrified and rock solid. Unless you know a good dentist in Avignon, eat chocolate at your own risk. I did note a vacuum cleaner with the cleaning crew. Apparently, the crew was not instructed in operation of the vacuum and/or they deemed vacuuming unnecessary. The BARN has an actual room key for each room. When leaving, the key stays behind. As a result, guests carry passports and other valuables rather than leave behind in the absent safe. You may have read that inhabitants of Provence (Peter Mayle) have an aversion to modern plumbing. This extends to the BARN where the stench of sewage permeates the bathroom and beyond. I recommend the BARN to those with sight and smell impairment, teeth like the big guy in a James Bond movie, those who are accomplished mountain climbers and who do not mind rudeness in the extreme. Check out photos attached.

Room Tip: Go to Hotel Europa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Discerning007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labanasterie, Propriétaire at La Banasterie, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you "nice unknown writer" I 'm happy to see that you loved everythings in La Banasterie ! Atmosphere with canddles , chocolate from the best chocolate maker in Avignon. You have good taste thank you to post a picture of the antic chair, I see that you saw immediatly that it was vintage chair from the "Louvre 's garden 1930", (signed at the back). Same for the mirror 1920 and the carpet in silk from Radjasthan a little bit " effiloché", that's true ! Sorry for the stairs...In this house classified as historical monument, there was no lift in 1521 when it was built. You appreciate the street too ! one of the nicest of the city where sometimes you have happy young people passing by...at 50 meters from of the most beautiful monument of France the Palais des Papes, that I am sure you have appreciate as well... jean michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    67
    11
    9
    5
See reviews for
41
193
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

As we were on a 3 week trip in France we had a car and quite a lot of luggage which made this hotel difficult as parking is at the Pope's palace and we had a hard time finding the hotel.
Our host was very helpful to us when we finally arrived and rode with us to park the car and show us the route back. His son also carried our luggage up several flights of narrow stairs.
We can't complain about the service - they also recommended restaurants to us.
Our room was not great and the breakfast was fine but we had been spoiled by our prior experiences in other locations and wished we had just made Avignon a day trip.
The price was very reasonable and good for budget travelers who travel light!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelly31410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This is an interesting B&B in a good location, with a host Michael (Jean Michelle's son) who was nice and helpful. It really kind of ended there. The room that we booked, on the top floor, was advertised to have balconies. We saw ourselves having our morning coffee and evening wine overlooking Avignon. Not to be...a postage stamp could not fit out there. We also had great difficulty negotiating the two sets of very steep steps to our room. The living room had a dining table, 4 straight-backed chairs and two day beds. A couple of comfortable chairs would have been wonderful. I feel that the web-site misrepresented the place insofar as balconies and lack of information regarding the steps. It would also greatly benefit from a deep cleaning.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed three nights and enjoyed them greatly. Jean Michelle was a great host. Great location for our day trips around Provence. Loved the location and sense of history with the narrow streets and traditional feel of France. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Only spent 2 nights but it was perfect. Jean Michelle was very helpful with dinner recommendations in the area. Was the perfect layover on our way to the chaos of Paris. Will stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed in the Criollo suite for 2 nights and loved it. La Banastrie is quite central in the old town and you can walk to either of the main squares in <10 minutes. Being right around the corner from the Pope's Palace (with ample parking for ~10E per day) was also very convenient. The house is quite rustic looking with curved, narrow staircases and multiple levels. Our room was wonderful and quite spacious, and everything that we needed was there and working. The common rooms were really interesting and spread out all over the 3 floors of the house. Michel was quite helpful though sometimes hard to find.

Room Tip: Criollo on the top floor has a queen bed and also a single in the sitting area. Lots of room for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dm16tor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslyn Heights, New York
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Dissappointed. The website was so attractive even promising hot chocolate. Fromers found virtues which we did not.We climbed 2 flights of narrow stairs to a very sparsely furnished bedroom. Difficult to find, difficult to maneuver the car through very narrow streets. No hot water one morning and breakfast was very ordinary. We left a day early.

Room Tip: I don' know if there is a good room. Other guests felt the way we did
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labanasterie, Propriétaire at La Banasterie, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
you are right, we did't serve you any hot chocolate on the evening because we never serve hot chocolate on evening since the Banasterie opened 12 years ago. You read it on Frommer's and I contact Frommer's to tell them to cancel that. I didn't know about this review. it's a mistake from Frommer's but not yours. So sorry. But you had as all ours customers chocolates in your room and in the house. And of course we serve hot chocolate for breakfast. About your comment as usual our guests like our breakfast, it's a continental one with differents breads, 3 kind of viennoiseries ("pain au chocolat", croissant, cake with grapes...), yaourt, cheese, butter and jame, fresh fruit salad, orange juice, coffee, chocolate or tea. A french breakfast maybe different of one you have usually with eggs, beans or sausages...But we are in France. About the stairs your room (35 m2) with private terrace all furnished was at the second floor with narrow stairs and 22 steps that's true but it's a house from 15 th century without lift. As you can see on the website, it's wrote that house is not adapted for children or people with reduced mobility and remember my son went up your luggage to your room and went down them at your departure. About the city with narrow streets, don't forget that Avignon is a medieval city from 14th century...About the cold water, it was a problem from electric reseau of the city in the district during the nigth. You were not lucky ! but for this reason you did'nt payed the totality of your stay even if you leaved before.I hope you had better stays in other places. Sincerely.
Jean Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#6 of 69 in Avignon
1,514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
786 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Mirande Hotel
La Mirande Hotel
#8 of 69 in Avignon
405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes
0.3 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#14 of 69 in Avignon
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Banasterie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Banasterie

Property: La Banasterie
Address: 11 rue de la Banasterie, 84000, Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first B&B in Avignon (created in 2001), La Banasterie is a beautiful 16th century residence, 50 meters from the Pope's palace and two steps from the Pont Saint-Benezet which is one of the most romantic places in Avignon.With chocolate, red ochre or Naples yellow colored walls, the Guest House La Banasterie offers 2 rooms and 3 suites with refined decor, appreciable comfort and 2 apartments with full kitchens.We have a library, internet lounge with computer and free acces and depending on the rooms you choose, a shaded terrace, balcony or a patio with fountain.La Banasterie is a warm atmosphere, accentuated at night by the lights and candles you can enjoy comfortably in armchairs and sofas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Banasterie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Banasterie Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing