We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful view from up here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rocher des Doms

Rocher des Doms
Book In Advance
$119.81*
and up
Full-day small group tour to Avignon, Pont du Gard, Orange and Chateauneuf du...
Ranked #2 of 88 things to do in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
385 reviews
162 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Beautiful view from up here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

The Rocher des Doms Park and gardens is up a grand entrance to the side of the cathedral (left of the Palace of Popes) and has large gardens with various water features and views back across the city and the Rhone River. This is a good place to relax or picnic, there is a little cafe there and you can also buy ice creams to take away.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 2gnomesinparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    519
    446
    75
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, VA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A view from the ramparts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

This lush garden behind the Palais des Papes overlooks the Rhone, the pont d'Avignon, and Villeneuve. Wonderful spot for a picnic.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“watch out for crazy kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

The views from the Rocher des Doms are great, but the thing my kids loved was the pedal-powered contraptions available for hire on weekends, Wednesday afternoons and holidays. Smaller kids can get around in a kind of trotting gig with wheeled horse out front, while older kids have pedal powered cars to zoom around in. I am sure the odd tourist gets skittled by an out of control kid, but my little darlings certainly had a ball. PS there is also a fairy floss vendor so they can get really hyped up

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PickyKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
203 reviews
157 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“I'd rate it good but no option exists for it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Nice park. Smaller than I expected it to be, but interesting and good views. At least it wasn't as steep and far to get to the top as I was expecting.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ooo-boogar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice views and good place to stroll. Maybe even grab a bite.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We found these gardens more beautiful and worthwhile than the interior of Palais des Papes. Pretty views of the surrounding area, including across the Rhone. They also have a little sandwich shop at the top. There are a lot of stairs so it was a decent walk.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank BehOui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocher des Doms also viewed

 

Been to Rocher des Doms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing