We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“watch out for crazy kids” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rocher des Doms

Rocher des Doms
Book In Advance
$118.53*
and up
Full-day small group tour to Avignon, Pont du Gard, Orange and Chateauneuf du...
Ranked #2 of 88 things to do in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“watch out for crazy kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

The views from the Rocher des Doms are great, but the thing my kids loved was the pedal-powered contraptions available for hire on weekends, Wednesday afternoons and holidays. Smaller kids can get around in a kind of trotting gig with wheeled horse out front, while older kids have pedal powered cars to zoom around in. I am sure the odd tourist gets skittled by an out of control kid, but my little darlings certainly had a ball. PS there is also a fairy floss vendor so they can get really hyped up

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PickyKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    505
    433
    75
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level Contributor
203 reviews
157 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“I'd rate it good but no option exists for it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Nice park. Smaller than I expected it to be, but interesting and good views. At least it wasn't as steep and far to get to the top as I was expecting.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ooo-boogar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice views and good place to stroll. Maybe even grab a bite.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We found these gardens more beautiful and worthwhile than the interior of Palais des Papes. Pretty views of the surrounding area, including across the Rhone. They also have a little sandwich shop at the top. There are a lot of stairs so it was a decent walk.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank BehOui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, Rhone-Alpes, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pretty park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Beautiful park next to the Palais de Papes, worth a walk thru and a great spot to watch the sunset. There is a restaurant in the middle, but it was closed when we were there on a Tuesday.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tramanda-in-France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The garden is not so fabulous as you are expecting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

As a garden next to Pope Palace, it was not so elegant and beautiful as I was expecting. But the view at top is quite nice and good for relaxing.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Camille K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocher des Doms also viewed

 

Been to Rocher des Doms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing