We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre At Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel du Palais des Papes
Ranked #32 of 68 Hotels in Avignon
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We chose this hotel in Avignon at the last minute because of a change in plans and as it was just for one night it was't the end of the world but it is unlikely we will stay here again when we return.
I specifically asked for a quiet room, if possible and the young lady looked to her manager who said the room she gave was sufficient. She looked at us with our backpacks and maybe assumed we didn't have money because we came to France to have a carless vacation walking the GR trails. The room itself was OK, large enough and clean but it was on an alley leading to the Palais which has non stop foot traffic. It was very noisy most of the night and has a row of huge bright lights right outside the room that lit the square....and the room all night. The room had shutters but if you close them you suffocate.

The girl at the front desk was multilingual and very helpful but when I asked for quiet she should have offered us a different room, even if it would be more expensive.....and we didn't have the cheapest room.

Overall, not the best value in Avignon.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room directly facing either of the two squares the hotel is on. You will hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 346 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2012

The hotel is in a great location, literally across the street from the Palace. You could not do better!
The staff was very welcoming and helpful. But the room itself was one of the worse I have been in for quite some time.

It was quite small with only a tiny cabinet to store your clothes. My suitcase remained on the floor the entire trip. The room consisted of a bed and cheap nightstand plus a hard chair that would make the furniture at IKEA look like something from Ligne Roset! The TV only had French channels. The telephone did not work. If you arrive after "curfew", you must ring the bell at the door and wait for the porter to open up. One night, I did so and stood outside for about 15 minutes before he finally came. I then went to my room to get a shower only to find there was no hot water. They must turn this off after a certain time.

They advertise free wireless but this does not work in the rooms. You must go into the "lobby" or restaurant.

I hate to be so negative on the hotel as the staff was indeed great as was the restaurant, but for a three star hotel, some things need to change.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DamienHarveston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel du Palais des Papes. The hotel is at the corner of two major public spaces in Avignon - the Place de l'Horloge and the Place du Palais des Papes. Our third floor triple room had a charming view over the Place de l'Horloge. The english speaking staff was quite accommodating and, after coming from Paris, the room rate seemed quite reasonable. My wife, daughter and I would go back in a minute!

Room Tip: Room 16 looks over the Place de l'Horloge from the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Very clean rooms and beautiful as the hotel is in an old Medieval house overlooking the Palace of the Popes and the Cathedral; Perhaps Popes walked in those very rooms!

Excellent Restaurant downstairs, and professional friendly staff.

There is no room service though if you need it

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Epicurienbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We loved this hotel. The room was number 22 and faced the ramparts of the PalaIs. Lovely rooms with a medieval feel. Bathroom was really nice, we were very pleasantly surprised. Hotel restaurant is a must, food was wonderful prices were average 80euros including a bottle of wine.
Cold breakfast with coffee a bit of a rip cannot make any cooked food like eggs or bacon, so it was coffee, juice and two croissants which honestly for France were not fresh from that morning...lots of other places to get a breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank devon2325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Avignon is already a very beautiful place. The hotel is just next to the popes palace, you can see the place from the window. The decoration of the restaurant was amazing in the christmas period, very warm and welcoming. We stayed just one night, did not have any problems with the staff. The room was clean and comfortable and it was warm. It is not very cheap, but we do not regret the money we paid, it was nice stay at Avignon.

Room Tip: The rooms are not the same, since the hotel was an old building before. You should ask if you want s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ernietiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We checked into the Hotel du Palais des Papes (not the Kyriad) and were really disappointed with the "superior" room that came with a broken fan and no air con because although we had booked several weeks before they had run out of rooms with the advertised air con. Not great in 30+ degree weather. We stayed in a number of other 2 and 3 star hotels during a two month trip in France and Italy that were completely adequate, and often exceeded our expectations, but this hotel was completely below par. It may have a nice cafe and location but the room was appalling: hot and stuffy, hard bed, and exposed wires in the hallway outside the room. We left that night, took the hit of the one night we had already paid for and avoided a ruined stay in Avignon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rbg1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 68 in Avignon
1,616 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes
0.0 mi away
Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 68 in Avignon
821 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Mirande Hotel
La Mirande Hotel
#8 of 68 in Avignon
425 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
#14 of 68 in Avignon
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Palais des Papes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Palais des Papes

Address: 3 Place du Palais, 84000, Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 68 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range: $83 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Palais des Papes 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel du Palais des Papes , located in the heart of the historical center , owned by the Donche - Gay family since 1924, offers a charming stay in a typically medieval atmosphere with the intent to immerse you in history and at the same time, you can benefit of all technological comfort . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel du Palais des Papes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Palais Des Papes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing