We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Budget Hotel in a Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes
Ranked #6 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent a night here during a winter break. Took a taxi from the train station so had no trouble accessing the hotel (which is not easy to reach if you are driving). It is located right on the main historical square in Avignon, a stone's throw from the Palais des Papes and with numerous restaurants, cafes, etc. right around.

The hotel structure is of recent vintage. Our room was clean, functional and comfortable, though not large. Bathroom had a hair dryer and good amenities. The free Wifi worked okay, though the signal strength was spotty in our room. Staff was brisk and efficient.

At the price, this was a great value.......we would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HK_Observer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Kyriad A, Directeur général at Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2016

Thank you so much for sharing your opinion. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Avignon.

Sincerely,

Laurent D., Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 513 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

In the main square, a minute or two from the Palais des Papes. Room comfortable if small, but with tall windows overlooking the action in the square - not noisy at all, except when they decided to clean the square inch by inch early on Saturday morning. No complaints really, but some minor irritations: Wifi was slow and erratic; bedding not really adequate for October (sheet only, had to go in search of a blanket); the desk isn't manned at night, nor do guests get outside door keys, so you have to ring and wait for someone to come and let you in (this wasn't particularly late - around 11pm). Excellent wet-room style shower; however, much to our amusement the floor sloped towards the door, so that left to its own devices the shower water would cascade into the bedroom. The hotel's solution was a flood-barrier of towels which the unfortunate cleaners have to replace every day; it might have been better to hire a builder who knew which direction water flows in.

Overall, a reasonably comfortable hotel, good value for its location, but could be better with a little more attention to detail: forget about the bathroom floor, but the other things would be easy enough to fix - although maybe in this location there isn't much incentive to improve.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johnbax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Kyriad A, Directeur général at Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2016

Thank you very much for your stay. Since 2012 we have changed the wifi system and it works much better now. Our hotel is staffed 24/7 however at night the receptionist has some duties to perform on the 1st floor. We are sorry that you had to wait at the door.

Once again thank you and we hope to host you another time in Avignon.

Sincerely,

Laurent D., Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Very nice room on 4th floor at front of hotel, (there is a lift) little small but very comfortable double bed, en-suite with good shower etc and very clean. Good buffet breakfast (extra - served on first floor) but well worth it. In a great position, right next to the Palais des Papes, excellent eateries right outside. Opposite opera house where free performances were available. Town Hall opposite has chiming clock, but we liked that! Recommend the Grille right outside for eats.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms at front of hotel very comfortable, but had really small windows making the room a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelchick52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Kyriad A, Directeur général at Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2016

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to have the pleasure to host you once again.

Sincerely,

Laurent D., Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The Kyriad Palais des Papes is not a fancy place, but it is spotless, quiet, and located right smack dab on the Place d'Horologe. Parking was close enough not to be a hassle, and the front desk was very helpful. I would stay again happily.

Room Tip: We were in 55, which was on the back of the hotel and thus very quiet. However, it got direct sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sistahsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Kyriad A, Directeur général at Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2016

Thank you we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Sincerely,

Laurent D., Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Take room 52 - you have a perfect view to the whole place, all of the room and bath have windows from floor to ceiling!!!! Room really small but who cares at this view?!?!? Reception is friendly. No locker room to leave luggage during the day... Perfect location in town! (Parking is outside the place possible but a little walk is necessary, appr. 10-15 minutes).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelrate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Kyriad A, Directeur général at Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2016

Thank you very much. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Sincerely,

Laurent D., Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We booked this hotel at the last minute when all our other choices were booked on a Friday in August, so we considered ourselves lucky to get this 3-star accommodation in the city center on Place d'Horologe. When we made the booking the e-mail advised we should park at the nearby municipal parking lot: "The hotel advises guests to first park the car in the Palais des Papes car park before checking in." THIS CANNOT BE EMPHASIZED TOO MUCH. When we arrived in the city, we drove around to various portals in the wall and crawled through narrow streets seeking a way to the center. We were advised by people on the street, one of whom suggested the parking lot. I thought we should be able to drive right up to drop off our bags. Silly me. We finally got that we could get through the manned barriers into Place d'Horologe if we showed our reservation. Once through, a fatal wrong turn obliged us to return by the same circuitous route to the same manned barrier, to the amusement of the gendarmes. OK, so we were able to get near the hotel but were (again) advised to go to the parking lot, this time by hotel staff. Finally, we parked and dragged our bags to our centrally- located hotel. We went to our non-smoking room reeking of tobacco smoke (in fairness it didn't bother us much after airing out the room) took a bath and headed out to visit the city, by then at night. The rooms were otherwise clean and orderly with free WiFi and they allowed our dog, and the staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was nice the next morning (Eur8) and we got a discount on the parking from the hotel.

Room Tip: Absolutely drive directly to the Palais des Papes car park before checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vvRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Kyriad A, Directeur général at Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2016

Thank you for your comment.

Our hotel is non-smoking but some client do not respect it. It is also true that we prefer our clients not to drive inside the city and go directly to the Parking Palais des Papes.

Once again thank you,

Sincerely,

Laurent D., Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

we toured the south of france kinda last minute so booking was stressful. i found this place on a whim and just went for it with my fingers crossed and a prayer to the gods that it wasn't going to be awful.

it was a surpise!

yes, parking was a wee bit of a nuisance (and pricey at the parkade at palace des papes) but pretty convenient seeing as there is no real street parking in the area. the whole walled area of old avignon is a bit of a maze so leaving our rental car just anywhere was not an option.

we dragged our luggage through the place d'horloge, with all the other tourists, across the cobblestones but really, it seemed awful at the time but in retrospect, after being in other cities this became the norm. (note: its essential to have luggage with wheels in europe. period.)

the hotel is, well, basic. but it was clean and that is all that i ever hope for. and you can't beat the location. after checking in we hit the strip and checked out the palace des papes (a short walk) and then found some food for the evening - a line of restaurants right outside that you can peruse the menus and decide what strikes your fancy). easy.

yes, the linen is minimal and utilitarian but what do you expect for $90 CAD a night? this is budget after all. i looked at a place across the square that was three times as much and really we only needed a place to sleep. maybe if we had spent more than a night i would have preferred better accomodations but it did the trick in a pinch.

my only complaint is that we had to leave our key (it was an actual key) at the desk when we went out... a hassle. just let me, as an adult, hold onto the damn key to my own room. if i am stupid enough to lose it then, yes, charge me a ridiculous amount to replace it but just give me that option.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tinderhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Kyriad A, Directeur général at Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2016

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We do prefer to keep our clients keys for safety reasons, eventhough we know it can be a little hassle.

Once again Thank you,

Sincerely,

Laurent D., Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#7 of 69 in Avignon
1,597 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
809 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
781 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes
0.2 mi away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes

Address: 26 Place de l Horloge, 84000, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range: $49 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of the city, right on the square de l'Horloge and in front of the Opera, just a stone's throw from the Popes'Palace, the Kyriad Avignon Centre Palais des Papes is looking forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyriad Avignon Centre Palais Des Papes Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing