We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No air conditioning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ibis Budget Avignon Centre
Ranked #17 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“No air conditioning”
Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Came here with a tour group, half the group had rooms with no AC. It was 38 degrees Celcius(100.4 Fahrenheit) outside. I suppose it is a budget accommodation and you get what you pay for, but no AC when the temperature was so hot is unacceptable.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pastel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction2011, Responsable relations clients at Ibis Budget Avignon Centre, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Madam / Sir,

We didn't have any problem with air conditioning this summer...That's why we don't understand your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    525
    191
    33
    21
See reviews for
235
387
88
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The room is clean. Though the location is not in the walled city, it is still within walking distance. The kettle put in the public area is a very good arrangement. I can't find this in any other hotels in France. If you always require hot water, I would suggest you to bring your own kettle to the trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 447connie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We (2A, 2C) paid 188.34 Eu for 3 nights and stayed in a no-frills but surprisingly comfortable, pretty large, very quiet, clean family room (r 332) with a queen bed, an overhead single bunk, an extra single bed and a view of the city walls. The shower was good and strong (and safe for the kids as it flashed different coloured lights depending on the temperature) and there was OK air conditioning. BBC World was not working on the TV meaning there were no English channels during our stay..

We used the microwave in the foyer for some meals There's a Carrefour supermarket on the road between the train station and the town (about 15 miinutes stroll but handy if you're on your way back from sightseeing) which has good salads and cold drinks. There's another (bigger) supermarket less than 5 minutes from the hotel. To get to it turn right out of hotel, right at the first street at the lights, walk through the tunnel and you'll see it ahead on the right.

Location is great. If you come on the bus from the TGV station (1.2 Eu per person), you'll pass the hotel on your right as the road hits the city walls and it's an easy walk back from the stop (head out the gate in the wall and go right at the road that runs alongside till you see the hotel) From the Avignon centre train station, just turn L on the road outside (the same road as above, It runs parallel with the wall) a couple of blocks and the hotel is on your left just across a set of lights. There's no laundry at the hotel but the friendly reception people printed off a map for us to one in town.

The tourist office has a free Avignon passion card that gives you discounts on attraction entry prices after you pay full price for your first one - the brochure with the pass lists all entry prices so you can work out which place to go to first for the biggest savings. .We loved the Palais of the Popes, the Fort at Villeneuve d'Avignon (a short bus ride away, then we walked back to the island and took the free ferry back to Avignon - be aware it stops over lunch time), and the bridge,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
120 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

well, it was 6-days stay for neurosurgical course in Avignon. Usually, in previous years, all accommodations in different places were excellent. This time excellent was the city - but not the hotel. Our lectures were at Pope palace and it was amazing.
Back to hotel. when I entered the room I was sure that there should be some space behind the corner, but there wasn't. Small window. In the bathroom there were difficult to move not to break anything. No place to put anything in front of you while you brush your teeth. If I were a fat person it would be impossible to go to the toilet. And this was not a single room, I shared it with my colleague.
You know, it was difficult first two days. Later I got used to.
So: If you're small, alone, and completely out of money - welcome.
Otherwise - NO :-)
PS
The best in this hotel was breakfast in a courtyard

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MosesMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.4 mi away
Ibis Avignon Centre Gare
Ibis Avignon Centre Gare
#18 of 69 in Avignon
326 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#13 of 69 in Avignon
753 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#6 of 69 in Avignon
1,459 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Avignon Centre Pont de l'Europe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Avignon Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Avignon Centre

Property: Ibis Budget Avignon Centre
Address: 8 boulevard Saint Dominique, 84000, Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Avignon
#4 Business Hotel in Avignon
#8 Family Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Avignon Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal locationSettled in a building originally designed for a hotel of the upper range, IBIS BUDGET Avignon City Center offers you very large rooms, compared to other hotels of his category.Located in front of the ramparts, 5 minutes walking from the Avignon Center railway station, our establishment is the ideal place when visiting Avignon (Pont Saint Benezet & Popes' Palace at 10 minutes on foot), and its surroundings (lavender fields, Pont du gard, Nimes, Arles, Orange....) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Ibis Budget Avignon Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Avignon Centre Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing