We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel w/ a great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kyriad Avignon - Courtine Gare
Ranked #39 of 68 Hotels in Avignon
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This hotel was clean and comfortable.

It is no more than a 10 minute walk (with luggage in tow) from the Avignon TGV train stop, very do-able for most anyone.

The heat down here is much dryer normally so you don't perspire much, which is good for keeping dry during the walk.

The area was very busy with cars and trucks, with that being said, we had a room on the front side of the hotel (street side) and it was still very quiet in our room.

The sun also rises on the street side, which wasn't too much of an issue because they have some very nice quality room darkening shades that cover the window all the way.

There are no refrigerators available in the rooms so you can improvise by bringing a paper bag or two and rolling the sides down and then lining that with a few plastic bags. You can then fill it with ice from the machine in the lobby.

The bed was nice and soft, almost like one of those memory foam ones; the sheets were crisp too.

The bathroom has a nice spacious shower and the main door also acts as a door for the toilette, which is kind of nice because then someone can still use the sink and the shower while not totally invading someone's privacy while on the can. There is also a blue night light that is in the bathroom, while it's pretty bright, you can shut the door most of the way so the light is not as bright in the room.

The TV had a few english channels on it, not much worth watching though.

The internet connection was very good and stable.

The window in the room opens if you need it to as well.

The air conditioning in the room worked very good too; make sure to read the instructions on how to operate it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onebigfellah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 285 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

We were in Avignon during the theater festival and I'm so glad we didn't stay within the city walls. This hotel was a respite from the crowds and noise in the city center. It's a 10-minute walk from the TGV station,and a 2-minute walk from the bus that will take you into the city (the stop is literally across the street from the hotel). The room was comfortable and well-equipped, and the staff was so friendly. This was a really good value for the amount we paid, even during the high season, and even if you think you want to stay within the city, I would encourage you to think about staying here instead.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed here on the last night of our holiday as we were leaving early on the T.G.V. the next morning. There was nothing much to do once we had arrived other than take the shuttle bus back into Avignon. The hotel room was comfortable and reasonably priced although we didn't have breakfast. The station was within easy reach so we walked there, took about 10minutes.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Shealf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Low quality service, breakfast offer satisfying but slow restocking of missing products. Located in a zone without commerces, it is impossible to get something to drink after 11 pm, even water!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dupontag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicolasinglese, Responsable commercial at Kyriad Avignon - Courtine Gare, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Dear Sir,
First we would like to thank you for your comment about your stay in our hotel last July.
We deeply regret that you were not satisfied with the quality of our service. Please be sure that the satisfaction of our guest is our main aim.
Beside, your comment has been very helpful as we have now set up a service for drinks and snacks after 11pm, at the front desk.
We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you again and that you will appreciate your stay in Kyriad Avignon Gare TGV.
Thank you again,
Best Regards,
Nicolas Inglese / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

No complaints at all about Kyriad in Avignon the rooms especially lots of rooms and the bed was so so good. Some might see the location being a negative but the bus is easy as and is cheap as anything into Avignon city
Centre. I amazed at the negativity on the restaurant I thought it was great and better than most restutants in the city the centre. The bald manager is especially helpful. Most def stay there

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damo000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This hotel has all you need - a clean room, a nice bathroom with a good working shower, awailable free WIFI and free parking. The rooms are quiet and also have a coffe/tea maker.
The bus stops just across the street and for € 1,20 it takes you into the city center in less than 10 minutes.
The staff is nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllenChr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The location being within a few minutes walk of the TGV is a good one and it's easy to walk there if you have wheeled luggage. It is on a direct regular (every 15 mins) bus route into Avignon which is just over one Euro at time of writing (July 2012). This saves you having to pay the exorbitant prices for a hotel within the walls of old Avignon. It's on the main ring road just south of town so is easily accessible for those with a car. The rooms are well equipped although the wifi is patchy. The rooms are clean and quiet and I have no complaints and the aircon works well. The hotel staff are very helpful and speak fluent English. Also if you rent a car then at least this hotel has parking. The only reason this is not a 4/5 is the atrocious restaurant attached to it. The service is appalling, even for France, and the food is distinctly unimpressive. The breakfast is best avoided - especially at 12 Euros per person. If you want to keep your costs down then cross the road and go to the large shopping centre for breakfast where 12 Euros will buy you so much more.

Room Tip: Ask for the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Playfairest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.2 mi away
Adagio Access Avignon
Adagio Access Avignon
#38 of 68 in Avignon
398 reviews
3 mi away
ibis Styles Avignon Sud Hotel
1.8 mi away
Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#15 of 68 in Avignon
303 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Avignon Centre Gare
Ibis Avignon Centre Gare
#16 of 68 in Avignon
397 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyriad Avignon - Courtine Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyriad Avignon - Courtine Gare

Address: 2 Rue Mere Teresa, 84000, Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 68 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range: $77 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kyriad Avignon - Courtine Gare 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 3* hotel, ideally located at the heart of the Provence, just 5mn away from the city centre, the City of the Popes and 500m from Avignon TGV station. The 100 large and comfortable rooms accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children. All rooms have been refurbished and equipped with flat tv screens and offer a complimentary tea and coffee set! The hotel has been all renovated in 2010; free wifi access – free closed car park - ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kyriad Avignon - Courtine Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyriad Avignon Courtine Gare Tgv Hotel Avignon
Avignon Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing