We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for TGV ... and good otherwise too!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kyriad Avignon - Courtine Gare
Ranked #39 of 68 Hotels in Avignon
Reviewed July 5, 2011

The hotel is located close to the TGV station so provides a good point of access. Its about a 10min walk from the station or the BLUE bus takes a few mins and costs 1.20Euros. There isn't really much else close to the hotel. However, the BLUE bus I mentioned also goes into the centre of Avignon (bit too far to walk so the bus is ideal). Don't let the fact that the hotel is far from the town centre put you off from staying there as the bus service is quite regular and only has 3 stops (centre, hotel, TGV) so its pretty reliable and quick.

In terms of the hotel itself, rooms are pretty standard fare for a 3*. Not huge but more than adequate. You get a decent bathroom, TV, tea/coffee making facilities etc. Overall, was clean and comfortable.

The hotel has a restaurant on site which we didnt use but it looked to have a decent menu. Breakfast is standard Euro fare ... continental buffet.

Overall, recommended especially for overnight stays when you need to get the TGV.

By the way, Avignon is a lovely town and the centre is worth a visit!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThisGuyLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 284 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2011

We walked for one & half hours to get to the historic village! A little advise on how to get there would have been a wonderful help. We asked for a map but was given no advise that the village was SO far away. The Hotel was very comfortable, clean and quiet and helpful in every other way. Thank You!

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank zoomreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

This hotel is far from the train station and downtown. However, it is very clean and quiet. The breakfast was average. There is a restaurant in the hotel, which is nice. The front desk employees were extremely helpful. The bus is about 1/2 block from the front of the hotel, you can take this downtown and back. I was more concerned with a clean room and safe location. This hotel meets both those needs.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfreels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

If you're planning on finding this place via foot from TGV Avignon station late at night, my advice is to figure out path to hotel in advance. Its not as straightforward as you might think.

That said, the rooms are clean, the satellite TVs have English channels (incl trashy euro porn), and its well-located if you're picking up a rental vehicle the following day. Nice comfy beds as well which was a nice change from apartment-style accommodations in Paris.

If you're arriving on a weekend, my advice is to arrive without a reservation (or call ahead -- most staff seemed to speak passable english) as available rates were 10 euros cheaper than what you'll find online. Good value regardless.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dehuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

My wife and I stayed here at the beginning of May for six nights. We arrived at the TGV station and a brief walk to the hotel was all that was needed. Check-in was straight-forward and the room fine, the staff excellent. The room was not large, but adequate. Our room faced the front of the hotel where a fairly busy main road was close by. Yet the soundproofing was excellent and the air-conditioning, although not the best, was fine. The rooms were quiet at night. Breakfast ok, although 10€ possibly a bit much for cold buffet! The coffee machine, at breakfast, was good and did bean-to-cup espresso (yum).
The interesting thing was, and perhaps unusual for us, although we were there for six nights we never had to go to or call reception for anything! That must mean we had all we expected and it was good.
There was only one disappointment. We booked online via the parent Kyriad website and there it gave us a booking that said a room with two double beds. This was not strictly correct as the room had one double bed and almost a double sofa bed made up. The double bed was fine but the sofa bed was not brill for six nights, and had hard metal edges.
Location wise it suited us well, without a car. The Navette shuttle bus 1.20€ was easy, regular, and reliable. There is only one intermediate stop for the shuttle which is called Bon Fleur, and very close to the hotel. You can download a timetable from the www.----.fr website. This proved excellent in going to the old town and back even later on in the evening when most other local buses have finished. In easy walking distance is a handy Lidel and a large Carrefour supermarkets.
We would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PhilOfWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

We stayed at both Kyriad hotels in Avignon. This one by the TGV train station had a much bigger room. It even had a couch and sitting area. (The Kyriad in the center of town had such tiny rooms we could barley fit our suitcase on the floor....)
If you have a car, this is the place to stay! (If you are on foot, I would stay at the one inside the old city walls. I also wrote a review on that hotel.) Nice, secure parking lot. I wasn't really interested in staying in a chain hotel, but after other France hotel experiences, this was like a nice American hotel. Easy to find as it is literally down the street leading away from the TGV station.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzette38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Spent 5 nights at the hotel - it is now a Kyriad hotel. Very practical hotel for exploring Provence. Great if you have a car and want to explore the villages around. Easy to access with the Hertz rental, TGV station and bus station very close. Basic but great value for money. Very helpful staff who often went out of their way. And a great environment around the TV at the bar during the world cup matches.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magic_Carpet_Ride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.2 mi away
Adagio Access Avignon
Adagio Access Avignon
#38 of 68 in Avignon
397 reviews
3 mi away
ibis Styles Avignon Sud Hotel
1.8 mi away
Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#16 of 68 in Avignon
302 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Avignon Centre Gare
Ibis Avignon Centre Gare
#17 of 68 in Avignon
394 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyriad Avignon - Courtine Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyriad Avignon - Courtine Gare

Address: 2 Rue Mere Teresa, 84000, Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 68 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range: $76 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kyriad Avignon - Courtine Gare 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 3* hotel, ideally located at the heart of the Provence, just 5mn away from the city centre, the City of the Popes and 500m from Avignon TGV station. The 100 large and comfortable rooms accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children. All rooms have been refurbished and equipped with flat tv screens and offer a complimentary tea and coffee set! The hotel has been all renovated in 2010; free wifi access – free closed car park - ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kyriad Avignon - Courtine Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyriad Avignon Courtine Gare Tgv Hotel Avignon
Avignon Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing