We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely awful. Do not eat here!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of O Papilles - Le restaurant

O Papilles - Le restaurant
Ranked #37 of 587 Restaurants in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $27
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely awful. Do not eat here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We had high hopes for this place after reading the reviews, but it was overpriced food that was not even worth eating. I ordered the shrimp and my friend ordered the monkfish. My shrimp were poorly seasoned and had an unappetizing flavor. My friend's monkfish came out cold when it was supposed to be hot.

The bad food was not even the most disappointing part of the experience. The worst part was that our waiter was outright nasty to us. We did our best to order the food in french, but that did not satisfy him. For example, when we asked for a second glass of wine, the waiter simply said "no." We laughed because we thought he was kidding, but he was not. Hours later we still had not received the second glass of wine. The waiter refused to serve us and we left as soon as we could get the bill, which unfortunately took forever because we could not get him to bring it. This was one of the worst restaurant experiences I've ever had!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank NMS_NORTHWESTERN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magalie O, Propriétaire at O Papilles - Le restaurant, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour,
vu que vous faites l'effort de communiquer en Français, je me permet de vous répondre dans cette langue. Je suis navré et étonné que nos plats énoncés en plusieurs langues n'aient pas répondus à vos attentes. La lotte vous a été proposé avec un risotto à l' encre de seiche, si pour vous cela vous a semblé repoussant, ce n'est pas le cas de nos autres clients qui ont trouvé cela très original et savoureux. Quand à la sauce au citron confit elle était tout à fait exceptionnelle au dire de nos clients. Peut être n’êtes vous pas habitué à ses saveurs différentes?!!
Notre serveur très qualifié et très apprécié,( il suffit de lire les autres commentaires) a, il est vrai, un petit humour " British", que j'adore et qui plait beaucoup à nos clients. Et jamais en aucun cas ne ce serait permis de refuser un verre de vin. Mais où va t-on???
De plus, Je trouve votre commentaire tout à fait excessif et infondé étant donné que nous demandons à tous nos clients au moment de l’addition, si "tout c'est bien passé..." et nous attendons une réponse sincère, dans le but d'améliorer notre service.
Et je n'ai pas le souvenir d'avoir eu cette échange avec vous.
Bien cordialement.
Magalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    78
    19
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Special dishes in Avignon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

If you look for something different from others in Avignon, I recommend you go inside and try those 'home-made' cuisine.
Besides, I find it difficult to have a nice coffee in Avignon. But this Latte Macciato won't let you down.

Helpful?
Thank Allen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Quaint Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

A quaint restaurant off the beaten track, with great food and the wines were excellent, best I've had while in France for the last 3 weeks. The foie gras, especially, was to die for.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wow...Absolutely Amazing food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Having read good reviews on this place, we decided to give it a try and was so glad we did. It's a little hard to find but so worth the effort.
We ordered lamb and asked for recommendation for wine to pair.
When the food came, we were blown away by its freshness, taste and texture. Everything tasted so amazing. The wine did not fail too. Kudos to the friendly lady chef who cooked everything single handedly. She readily agreed to a photo shot together and with a great sense of humor, posed with two aubergines in hand. Our best dinner so far in France. We'll be back. No doubt about it!

Helpful?
1 Thank 135Maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and friendly service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Chose this place based on reviews and we weren't disappointed. The food was delicious and our waiter was really friendly. I would eat here again the next time I'm in Avignon.

Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Papilles - Le restaurant also viewed

 
Avignon, Vaucluse
Avignon, Vaucluse
 

Been to O Papilles - Le restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing