We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Place to Relax and Enjoy the South of...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Avignon, Vaucluse, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
acostajor...
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to Relax and Enjoy the South of France”
Reviewed June 28, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed for 5 days with our sons and girlfriends. It is a house about 20 minutes out of Avignon in a very quite area away from traffic and noise. The grounds are beautiful and you overlook the valley. You have a wonderful breakfast cooked and served by the very friendly owners, Michel and Francoise. They also can prepare dinner for you; we had dinner prepared by them every night. Every dish they prepared was wonderful; the best eating during our 2 week stay in Europe.
The owners are wonderful people who share the house with you and are great hosts. Michel was very helpful with suggestions for day trips. He is fluent in French, Spanish, and communicates well in English.
Our whole group really enjoyed our stay here and we would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Liked best: The hosts
Liked least: Distance from stores
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert T
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A wonderful week at Lou Sauvadou”
Reviewed May 21, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We were two couples on a week's holiday and Lou Sauvadou proved a comfortable and convenient base for exploring Provence from Avignon to Aix and from the Roman ruins of Arles to the "village perches" of the Luberon.

Michel and Francoise Girard were most hospitable and accommodating, offering full breakfasts daily and very tasty dinners (with wine and with herbs from their garden) on request. While their English and our French was limited, communication was no problem. In fact, it was fun (with Google Translator filling in the blanks). When the weather turned damp and grey, Michel prepared a warm fire.

The rooms were comfortable. One was ensuite; two shared a bath.
On-site parking and laundry were most convenient.

GPS was invaluable in locating Lou Sauvadou amid the tight, hillside homes above Sauveterre. The views from Lou Sauvadou were a treat, especially with the sun rising behind Mt. Ventoux.

Their two dogs were the quietest, most unobtrusive pets I've seen.

We would happily book here again. Bob, Shelley, Spike, and Cam

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Francoise and Michel
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph B
Wyckoff, New Jersey
1 review
“Fantastic ”
Reviewed May 4, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

They have received a lot of fantastic reviews in the past. Eveyone who gave them 5 stars were so right. If we could give them 6 we would. Michel and Francois are charming and wonderful hosts. The dinners they made for us incredible and the property and views were magnificent
We truly hope to return.
The Barsalona's

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 5, 2016
Oh Joe & Joanne
Thank you. Your stay would not have been as wonderful without you!

Michel & Françoise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison C
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
“Charming chateau in gorgeous setting”
Reviewed October 21, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a wonderful time at Francoise and Michel's home in Sauveterre. Their breakfast was delicious and we had two dinners which they prepared - also magnificent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Francoise and Michel and the setting
Liked least: the shower
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen B
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gracious hospitality in a lovely location”
Reviewed October 8, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Francoise and Michel were delightful and solicitous hosts, without being intrusive, and they also provided light breakfasts and delicious evening meals for us. Lou Sauvadou has everything one needs and has outstanding views over the Rhone valley, toward Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Le Mont Ventoux. Sauveterre enjoys a great central location from which to do day trips around the vineyards and to Avignon, Aix, Orange, Le Pont du Gard, Marseille, Uzes and other amazing Roman and mediaeval sites. We flew to/from Marseilles airport and hired a car from there, less than an hour's ride from Sauveterre: couldn't have been easier. Altogether just the relaxation we needed. We'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Friendly hosts, magnificent views
Liked least: Had a bit of difficulty finding the addrees at first
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam C
Hilton Head, South Carolina
1 review
“FANTASTIQUE!”
Reviewed October 1, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

What a wonderful home to spend time in while exploring Provence! My husband and I fully agree with the thorough review that Ellis, our friend who organized our stay chez les Girards, so please read his review and follow his and our advice and stay here when in the region. Our hosts were the BEST: informative, generous, flexible and fun! We shall surely return when visiting Provence!

Traveling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis M
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The Best BB We Have Every Seen in Europe”
Reviewed September 29, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We were two couples traveling in a rental car around N. Italy and S. France. We allotted three days and four nights to sample Avignon, Arles, San Remy, Pont du Gard, and Les Baux. This home is centrally located and had excellent reviews on TripAdvisor, so we tried it and are very glad we did!

First, the owners, Michel & Françoise Girard, are everything one can wish for in a host. Their sightseeing and restaurant advice was indispensable. For example, they told us about a "back road" to Les Baux where the medieval hilltop town could be seen in its grand setting, but also told us that, with our tight schedule, a walk up into the town might not be the best use of our time. We were happy to follow that advice. By that time we had walked through 4 or 5 other medieval walled cities, and a drive-by was sufficient.

Michel recommended the little town of Uzès instead. It's quite near Pont du Gard. We had a lovely lunch in Uzès and did the self guided walking tour mapped out by the Tourist Office, and there was no tourist mob.

Secondly, Michel & Françoise like to cook dinner for guests and we gladly took advantage of that offer twice, with excellent results. The home cooked excellent food was a welcome relief from restaurants. (The B&B is located in a residential area, ten minutes from the restaurant scene in Villeneuve-lès-Avignon, the next village.) The meals started with and hour of wine and snacks and ended with a delicious liqueur. a fun evening to end a perfect day in Provence. Two dogs and several friends and neighbors who dropped by make for happy and very French evenings.

The home itself is quite large with three spacious guest rooms upstairs above the family quarters, although guests are free to use the family space downstairs, which has a lovely view of the plains and mountains of Provence. The cooked to order breakfast is served at the family dinning room table. Parking is very secure, in a locked courtyard. A clothes washer is available.

For those with cars, we give the Lou Souvadou, in the little village of Sauveterre, just 12 minutes north of Avignon, a very high recommendation.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing