We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the ice cream here”
Review of La Princiere

La Princiere
Ranked #1 of 18 Dessert in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Try the ice cream here”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Lovely ice cream on a hot afternoon. Situated in a small but pretty square amongst a lot of other cafes, but worth seeking out for the great selection of ices. They do crepes as well (which we didn't try but I'm sure are equally delicious).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynne24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    64
    24
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
“Amazing ice-cream in Avignon!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stumbled by chance on this tiny crèperie-ice cream place on a nice Avignon plaza. Amazing pistachio ice-cream (REALLY amazing! You can taste REAL pistachio nuts…), and excellent creations (goji berries, gaspacho sorbet…). Very nice and helpful staff, which took time to chat with us to give us good advice about restaurants near the place where we were staying. It is always a pleasure to meet people who care about the food they prepare and are so eager to share their enthusiasm with their clients. A must!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthieu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“White Peach Ice Cream”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was beautiful! Never had this before. Friendly service service and we are able to try some before deciding.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“La Princiere takes Ice Cream to the next level”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I love it when an owner is excited about their food and excited she was! Just seconds after we walked in the door she started passing out samples of ice cream. It was strawberry and usually I am not a fan but it was incredible! I ordered my first strawberry ice cream ever and savored every bite! She challenged us to try and figure out the two flavors in her 'mystery' ice cream, allowing us only one guess each. Laughing as we guessed wrong and offering another taste when we had one of the ingredients right. I can't remember the last time getting ice cream was that much fun! The owner is a ice cream genius and there is true passion in what she is doing. The result is some pretty tasty ice cream! 5 mmm's out of 5

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nora G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Roses & caramel ice cream? Why not?”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The woman behind La Princiere's creation is a character! We recently sampled the daily "mystery" and were challenged to guess the two flavors. After we all failed the challenge, we were told the flavors were rose and caramel. Then she let us sample the ice cream again to see if we could then identify the flavors. It was a lot of fun. We then ordered our ice creams (though no one took roses & caramel); chocolate, coffee, strawberry, tiramisu - all delicious!

Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MontrealSoxFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Princiere also viewed

Avignon, Vaucluse
Avignon, Vaucluse
 

Been to La Princiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing