We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting smell”
Review of Pop' Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pop' Hostel
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Disgusting smell”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Even though the hostel is nice, very well located and artfully decorated, we couldn't enjoy any of this due to the awful smell of our room :( The smell from the bathroom in the room was unbearable! The first thing we found in the room were 2 air fresheners, but even though we used them thoroughly it didn't make a difference. They give you sheets (the beds are not done), but not towels! Anyway we didn't want to spend much time in that bathroom, it was really really disgusting, hope they can fix that! I wouldn't recommend it as it is now!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandrastica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    140
    37
    18
    17
See reviews for
15
56
170
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We arrived on the street of the hostal to find ourselves at the tail-end of a festival/market of some sort. Even amongst the throngs of people walking down the middle of the street, the hostal was easy to locate.

The reception was very busy with numerous check-ins, but very attentive all the same. They all spoke excellent English and were most helpful in directing us to the nearest public parking lots (which was a 10 min walk away at Les Halles).

The decor and ambiance of the reception/common area was fun and inviting. We took advantage of their happy hour between 18:00 and 20:00 before heading out to dinner each evening.

Although our triple room (one single and one bunk bed) was extremely clean, there with barely room to move around, let alone accomodate our hand luggage! It would have also been nice if they had coat hooks and a full length mirror for our use.

The location of Pop Hostel is in the heart of Avignon and on that Saturday afternoon the street was buzzing with activity. Just outside the door is a shopping mecca waiting to be discovered! Sundays in Avignon are very quiet and relaxed and most of the shops are closed; we headed to Les Halles to grab a picnic lunch before exploring this medieval city by foot.

Overall, we recommend the Pop Hostel, but beware that the rooms (at least our room) are very tiny!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tapas_Dimsum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lokeren
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My wife found this hostel on te he internet. I was a little sceptic but it really was ***. Very friendly staff and owner. a magnificent restored old building, a good french breakfast, good bed and bathroom, good tapas at the bar...as 50+ ers we started to feel younger again. Thanks for this very fine stay! Adn price quality an extra * ! so i end up at ****

Room Tip: if you are a couple: reserve a double room on the fourth floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eenstukskewereldzien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The room and the hostel itself were nicely designed.
They had an elevator, which was really helpful with the luggage.
The staff was amazing and really wanted to help us, and we found ourselves amending the plan of our trip after a nice talk with them at night over a glass of beer.
They have a really nice breakfast, and a nice bar with a pool table.
we're pretty sure that this place is more lively during the season, cause we were there off-season and it was really calm.
Also, the location is great, and the old-town is two minutes walk away.
The bed was super comfertable!
They made great use of space, and the young and funky design was inviting.
The room we booked was the double room (private), but we are sure that for singles the dorms are pretty awsome as well.
If you remember it is just a hostel after all, you will see that it is the best value for money you will find in Avignon.
We really enjoyed it :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Idan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Very modern boutique with nice facilities; I especially liked the common area/reception with the bar, computers and long tables where it's easy to socialise and eat something. They have happy hours and wines for 1.50 which was good. Also, the hostel is very well located...just between the Poste (where the bus from the TGV station stops) and the main town square area (around a 5min walk). Staff were friendly and yeah, I was in a 3 bed ensuite mixed dorm on the 4th floor; the bunk beds have curtain which is good for privacy, beds have individual lights and there are plugs as well. Very clean and spacious rooms too. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwithdino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Ideal location right on Rue De La Republique (main street) with a minutes walk to Place D'Horlage.
We were travelling as a couple in a three-bed room on the fourth floor of the hostel (nr rooftop). Aircon/heating unit was sufficient to keep the room warm, but the adjoining private ensuite was absolutely freezing (and huge). Room was basic with bedding and linen, tv and draws. Double bunk bed, another single bed and a skylight. Towels not provided, hired out at €2 each.
Free wireless Internet connection.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apostcardfromus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#8 of 69 in Avignon
1,488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
773 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#13 of 69 in Avignon
281 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#15 of 69 in Avignon
771 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pop' Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pop' Hostel

Property: Pop' Hostel
Address: 17 Rue de la Republique, 84000, Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pop' Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing