We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a gem!!”
Review of Le Petit Gourmand

Le Petit Gourmand
Ranked #10 of 596 Restaurants in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: "Le Petit Gourmand" is a typical french food small restaurant providing home made meals cooked by the Chef close to you as if you were at home. 16 seats inside and double possible outside during the beautiful season (outside terrace here may be used more than 6 months per year from Easter).We have a special meal called "Secca d'Entrevaux" (thin slices of dried beef with pesto, potatoe in a owen, hot melted cheese and mesclun). Other "must": fresh pastas with truffle, or fresh raviolis with foie gras inside and a few desserts that you may find all in our "Café Gourmand".The rest of the dishes are proposed according to the season.
cheshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a gem!!”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Food spectacular-try the fois gras ravioli and the special of the day was equally as good. Desserts of creme brule and tarte of the day topped off a wonderful meal. The service was warm and engaging. What a GEM!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank inorganic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurence O, Propriétaire at Le Petit Gourmand, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hello,
Thanks so much for your nice and kind review.
We do not know if really we are a gem, but we do our best to make our Clients as satisfied as possible. it is the only rule for us.
With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    777
    291
    56
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Exquisite Food!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of dining at Le Petit Gourmand. Although I visit Avignon frequently as I have a vacation home nearby and have dined in most of the city's restaurants, I had never come upon this gem right in the center of the old town but am I glad I finally did! The owner and chef Madame Laurence Olivier and her partner are not only terrific hosts but Mme Olivier is a superb chef. It is extremely rare that my friends/house guests and I return to a restaurant two evenings in a row but we surely did with Le Petit Gourmand. In fact, we were planning to return for a third time but were delayed in our travels. Each different dish that my three friends and I tried on both nights was exquisite. The ingredients were fresh off the market and the preparation absolutely perfect. The restaurant is small which makes for a very quaint atmosphere but the attention to detail in both the food and service is excellent.

Le Petit Gourmand is most definitely my favorite restaurant in Avignon. I look forward to returning soon and introducing more friends and house guests to Mme Olivier's exquisite food!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurence O, Propriétaire at Le Petit Gourmand, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hello Maria,
Thanks so much for your very nice review.
As you wish to come back in a few months, you will have the possibility to try other meals as we used to change some of them according to the seasons, keeping only a few of them all along the year.
We hope you will be as satisfied as you and your party was when you recently came.
With our kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
348 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Not as we hoped for”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had lunch at this restaurant when we visited Avignon. I had read all the great comments in trip advisor and was expecting something extraordinary, but it wasn't. It's a very small place, 4 4-5 tables inside and the same outside.
We arrived late, almost everyone had finished lunch and the tables were all still dirty. They cleaned one for us but left all the other tables around us with the used plates. The menu is very limited. What we ordered was very tasty but nothing more except from that. And it wasn't cheap either.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank alkimadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurence O, Propriétaire at Le Petit Gourmand, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hello from Le Petit Gourmand in Avignon,

Thank you for your review about us.
We remember very well when you came. As you were the very last Clients, coming late, we had the time to talk with you explaining from where you came, where you went to. It seemed to be a nice discussion during your late meal.
That means that we were very surprised by the rather bad content of your review telling that in spite the food you ate was tasty, you were not satisfied.

That shows It is very difficult to please everybody.

Indeed, as you have read the reviews about us before coming, you certainly have read that our restaurant is a small one but not a gastronomic one. Sorry for that. But we do all our best to provide our Clients a nice welcoming and a pretty good and fresh food.
You came late for lunch, and as most as the restaurants would have refused to welcome you at a so late time, we have accepted you for a late lunch. Then we have prepared a table for you among the tables, indeed not cleant after the numerous Clients having just left our restaurant. As it was the end of the lunch, we were not in a hurry to do that.
A kind of breathe after having run since the morning to prepare the meals and serve the Clients.
In spite the late time, we have accepted to welcome you.So, it is incredible that you don't understand that, describing our restaurant as a dirty one. Your words are very hard without any condolence or respect for what we make.
We are welcoming people, we have a small restaurant where we take the time to meet the Clents many times during their meal to make sure that all is OK.
We have the reputation to make a simple but good food at a good price, making our success. Globally the average rate with the drinks is around 20 Euros per person.
We have not checked what you have paid, but we suppose it was that for you too.
So you have no reason to write at the end of your review the price is rather high.

The lesson for us after such a review will be to take care in the future before welcoming Clients at a late time, explaining them the conditions in which they are welcome.

Fortunately, every day we see numerous Clients happy after having their meal at our restaurant. That is the main thing for us, make the Clients HAPPY.

With kind regards

Laurence OLLIVIER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A real gem”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I can't decide if the best aspect of this restaurant is the tasty home cooked food or the warm service (which is not always easy to find in France!). The best dishes were the pastas, and the desserts were all equally devine. When we left, the owners walked us to the door and helped the ladies put our coats on. From start to finish, we felt very welcome and well-attended to. It was simply a pleasure to eat here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurence O, Propriétaire at Le Petit Gourmand, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hello from Le >Petit Gourmand,

Thanks so much for your very kind review after being welcome to our small restaurant.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again and that you will recommend us to people around you.

With our kindest regards

Laurence OLLIVIER
Le Petit Gourmand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
1,168 reviews
516 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed the food and the kindness of the people. The food is of good quality. The owners will pretty much cook at your desire and the overall price is attractive.
I would definetely come back.

if I have to be critical the only two things which I did not like were around the location. The restaurant is small and the preparation of the food is visible...sometime you would rather not see that they touch abd taste with their fingers....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Torino74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurence O, Propriétaire at Le Petit Gourmand, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hello from Le >Petit Gourmand,

Thanks so much for your very kind review after being welcome to our small restaurant.
Considering this review, we have missed the rate 5 for a while. Ah, Ah, Ah !
We will do better next time.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again and that you will recommend us to people around you.

With our kindest regards

Laurence OLLIVIER
Le Petit Gourmand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Petit Gourmand also viewed

 

Been to Le Petit Gourmand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing