We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must see but ....”

Pont Saint-Benezet (Pont d'Avignon)
Book In Advance
More Info
$102.66*
and up
Avignon and Provence Independent City Tour
Ranked #5 of 90 things to do in Avignon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This emblematic site in the history of Avignon is known throughout the world in the famous song. Built in the 12th century, it was destroyed several times by spates on the Rhone River, before being rebuilt and finally abandoned in the 17th century.
Holland
Level Contributor
217 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Must see but ....”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The bridge at first sight has nothing outstanding but it is the legendary Pont d'Avignon from the soung and has an interresting story. (i didn't know dancing was not on top of the bridge but under the bridge). But again it's not a spectacular bridge

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tuurtje75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,681 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    704
    1,068
    716
    153
    40
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fall River, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
140 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great view from the middle of the Rhone”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This stop was well worth the 4.50euro entry fee. The site has a small museum and video about the bridge history. There were several nooks on the bridge to check out. The highlight for me was seeing a group of older women at the end of the bridge dancing and singing 'sur le pont d'avignon.

It was fun to stand over the middle of the Rhone - great views.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
206 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Interesting site with good views of the city”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We added an audio tour of the bridge to our Palais des Papes visit. It was quite interesting to learn about the history of the bridge and the importance of the Rhone in French history. Nice views of the city from the bridge. Glad we did the audio tour--without it we wouldn't have learned much as there aren't informational panels along the bridge.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank hengelhardt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
469 reviews
204 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sight”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

You probably have heard of this bridge from the song, and it's a beautiful sight. I wouldn't spend the money to walk onto the bridge itself unless you have no other way of getting on the river. It's expensive. But it's a great photo for any visit to Avignon.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank EC13091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
111 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“We ended up here accidently but we had such a great time.”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We just ended up here because there was no family ticket for the popal palace so we ended up with a combined ticket. We loved the bridge! The audioguide was great fun for the children, explaining a lot about the history and the legend. We were really surprised how much fun we had here.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MissMarple74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pont Saint-Benezet (Pont d'Avignon) also viewed

 

Been to Pont Saint-Benezet (Pont d'Avignon)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing