We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay in Avignon”
Review of Hotel Garlande

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Garlande
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and initially chose this hotel because of its reviews and it being close to the Avignon Center train station. Everything exceeded our expectations. The hotel is clean, is in a great location close to many things and has great staff. Emmanuelle is a fantastic host and is always looking for ways to please her guests. The day we arrived was my wife's birthday so I asked Emmanuelle to recommend a nice restaurant. Not only did she recommend a great place, she also called and made a reservation for us so that we would have a good table in the courtyard as opposed to inside the restaurant. We cannot say enough about this hotel and especially Emmanuelle. If / when we travel again to Avignon, we will hopefully be able to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (835)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

360 - 366 of 835 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and found an excellent, clean convenient accommodation, well worth the room rate. I'm compelled to write a review because of the outstanding hosts, though. Emmanuelle and Stephane are working so hard to make their hotel the best it can possibly be and genuinely care about your stay. People make the difference...thanks for a memorable Avignon holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had caught the train from Marseille to Avignon centre and it was a simple walk. I had chosen it for its historical character and charm and was not disappointed. Our hosts were very hospitable. There was easy access to the main attractions of the old part of Avignon, local restaurants and main square.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pippa_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Super hotel in the middle of the old city in Avignon, close to everything. Very friendly and helpfull reception, better than the tourist information. Nice breakfast and free wifi. All you need is there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johannes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon, and it was nice. We arrived late and were greeted by the owner. The rooms were on the small side for the price, but we upgraded to a superior room and it was much larger. The location of the hotel was great, but a little noisy. All in all, a great location, but not a bargain.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayandSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying two nights at Hotel Garlande, located in the heart of Avignon, steps from everything!. Emmanuelle was extremely welcoming and friendly; and (lucky for us) conversed perfectly in English. Our room was charming, clean, and very comfortable with a large window facing the street. We had no issues with noise, and did not even have to close the shutters. Emmanuelle was there for us with answers to our many questions - all very helpful - and she recommended some terrific restaurants and places of interest in the region. She really made us feel at home. This is a fantastic hotel and a great value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmdavison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a decent small hotel, well-located in the heart of Avignon. The staff are welcoming and pleasant. The room was of a reasonable size and the decor is homely. If you want to stay in a clean but basic place, well-located, then this would be a good hotel for you.

Room Tip: This is France, so if your room has shutters then close them at night for a quieter sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank accidentaltoorist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 68 in Avignon
1,644 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 68 in Avignon
805 reviews
3.5 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.2 mi away
Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes
0.2 mi away
Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garlande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garlande

Address: 20 rue Galante, 84000, Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Avignon
#3 Family Hotel in Avignon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
Price Range: $65 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garlande 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an 18th-century building, the Garlande is a boutique hotel nestled in the heart of Avignon. You should appreciate the calm and safety of its location in a pedestrian aera while being a couple of blocks of the effervescence of the Popes Palace and the famous "Pont d'Avignon". The Garlande will be an ideal home base for exploring Provence and its vineyards of Chateauneuf-du-Pape, the Luberon and its lavender fields, the immense heritage bequeathed by the Romans, the landscapes immortalized by Vincent Van Gogh ... When the evening comes, it will be time to enjoy a refreshment on a terrace and think about enjoying the restaurants of the old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Garlande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garlande Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing