We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't say enough good things about this hotel”
Review of Hotel Garlande

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Garlande
Ranked #1 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can't say enough good things about this hotel”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The hotel is cute and charming and so close to everything, but on a quiet street so it is not noisy. The room was very charming and I didn't mind the trek up the windy stairs to our top-floor room because the place is just so cool. It is a few min walk to the Palais des Papes and basically all of the major attractions.The owners are fantastic! My husband and I had a tire pop on the drive to Avignon and were a couple of minutes late for check-in. They graciously checked us in and even helped us locate a tire shop that we could take our car to. They were more than helpful, and we would undoubtedly stay here again! For people driving in: the hotel is located in a high-pedestrian area so there is no parking on-site, but there is a parking garage close by that the hotel has a deal with.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevanMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    219
    33
    8
    8
See reviews for
141
408
43
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Spent one night here. Fantastic location for exploring old town and very close to centre. Lovely old building. Was a bit put off by decor in reception but our room (room 2) was lovely. Very quiet and had a new shower all very modern. AC was also good and there was a small fridge in the room. Staff were very helpful and friendly and spoke excellent English. We had the breakfast (8 euros) which was very nice - croissants, pain de chocolat, bread, jam etc and plenty coffee and tea. Breakfast room is a bit small and uninviting but everything else was vg. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edinburghgal_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This comfortable hotel was well located and had a very friendly and kind host. We had the room for 3 adults and 2 children on the top floor of the building (no elevator, and 2 flights of stairs to navigate). The room was spacious and had a view of the street. The bathroom was fine, but beware of the steep step down from the bedroom to enter.
There are many restaurants within a few minutes walk from here, and the palais des papes was a 10minute walk.
Overall i would have no hesitation recommending this place for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubanoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel was good location for shopping and sightseeing of the Avignon.
Staff were very kind and friendly.We were very satisfied to service.
I think position of shower head was too low. and it would be better if it was on the wall of lateral side of a bathtub.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Takashi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had the top room (don't expect elevators in little hotels in France) and it was very clear and cosy. This charming ancient house was clearly recently renovated and the rooms and bathroom in particular are as new. The breakfast is essentially coffee/ tea and jam and croissant plus yogurt ... Basic but adequate. You are in the heart of Avignon when you step out. ...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valerieheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I can only confirm the other reviews of this lovely hotel. We also had the room that sleeps 5 which was spacious (for family with two teenagers) and tastefully decorated. The air conditioning was quiet, the beds comfortable and there was a fridge full of cold drinks. The owners were welcoming and recommended what to do as we only had an evening in Avignon. Thanks to them we enjoyed a spectacular light show in the Palais des Papes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroh62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Garlande this past week for three nights. The location is fantastic, just a couple of blocks away from the city center and many local attractions. The hotel itself is small, but we found our standard room to be more spacious that other standard rooms we stayed in during our trip. The room was very clean and well appointed (including a good quality hair dryer, for which I was much appreciative). We did not eat the breakfast, but now think that we probably should have, as it looked fantastic when we walked out the door each morning. The hotel staff speaks good English and was very helpful in providing directions and arranging dinner reservations. We would recommend this hotel without hesitation to anyone looking to stay in the city center.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so requesting a room on the ground or second floor may be a good idea if you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes
2.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Ferme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garlande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garlande

Property: Hotel Garlande
Address: 20 rue Galante, 84000, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Avignon
#3 Family Hotel in Avignon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garlande 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Garlande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garlande Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing