We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for exploring Avignon”
Review of Hotel Garlande

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Garlande
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This comfortable hotel was well located and had a very friendly and kind host. We had the room for 3 adults and 2 children on the top floor of the building (no elevator, and 2 flights of stairs to navigate). The room was spacious and had a view of the street. The bathroom was fine, but beware of the steep step down from the bedroom to enter.
There are many restaurants within a few minutes walk from here, and the palais des papes was a 10minute walk.
Overall i would have no hesitation recommending this place for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubanoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (821)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

377 - 383 of 821 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel was good location for shopping and sightseeing of the Avignon.
Staff were very kind and friendly.We were very satisfied to service.
I think position of shower head was too low. and it would be better if it was on the wall of lateral side of a bathtub.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Takashi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had the top room (don't expect elevators in little hotels in France) and it was very clear and cosy. This charming ancient house was clearly recently renovated and the rooms and bathroom in particular are as new. The breakfast is essentially coffee/ tea and jam and croissant plus yogurt ... Basic but adequate. You are in the heart of Avignon when you step out. ...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerieheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I can only confirm the other reviews of this lovely hotel. We also had the room that sleeps 5 which was spacious (for family with two teenagers) and tastefully decorated. The air conditioning was quiet, the beds comfortable and there was a fridge full of cold drinks. The owners were welcoming and recommended what to do as we only had an evening in Avignon. Thanks to them we enjoyed a spectacular light show in the Palais des Papes.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroh62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Garlande this past week for three nights. The location is fantastic, just a couple of blocks away from the city center and many local attractions. The hotel itself is small, but we found our standard room to be more spacious that other standard rooms we stayed in during our trip. The room was very clean and well appointed (including a good quality hair dryer, for which I was much appreciative). We did not eat the breakfast, but now think that we probably should have, as it looked fantastic when we walked out the door each morning. The hotel staff speaks good English and was very helpful in providing directions and arranging dinner reservations. We would recommend this hotel without hesitation to anyone looking to stay in the city center.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so requesting a room on the ground or second floor may be a good idea if you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had the room that sleeps 5. It was utterly brilliant. Nice TV, air conditioning, great space, very, very clean, lovely bathroom. Breakfast was not cheap but worth it. Fantastic location , literally 2 minutes from the Place de l'horloge and 4 from the Palais des Papes (apologies for wrong spellings). The hotel is in a pedestrianized area so nice and quiet. Lots of good restaurants around within a few minutes walk. The hotel owner recommended some that looked good, but our kids fancied the huge outdoor eatery that is the Place de l'horloge and which the owner urged us to avoid ( we chose La Civette, which was good and not too expensive). We arrived by train, so a 10 minute walk. Not sure what happens if you arrive by car, though, but I'm sure the owner would explain. There is a decent Carrefour nearby, (although the local Monoprix didn't do food, much to our surprise!).
The stairs are a bit ( a lot) windy and I wouldn't want to try them with much alcohol on board, but the owner carried the bags up for us, which was very kind of him. He was a very entertaining man and struck us as very clever with excellent English. He always seemed on the verge of saying something funny and the kids (surly teenagers, mostly) thought he was fantastic and insist that I give him this 'bigging-up'.
Great stay. Good value. Loved it completely.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edhuwjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed two nights in this cosy, charming hotel, right in the middle of the old town. The owners, Stefan and Emmanuelle were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious, and we really liked the homemade youghurt and marmalade. Our room was nicely decorated and very clean and so was the bathroom. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and hope to come back another year. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We stayed in room nr 1, a good choiche if you have heavy luggage, as there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 68 in Avignon
1,616 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 68 in Avignon
797 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
0.2 mi away
Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes
0.2 mi away
Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garlande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garlande

Address: 20 rue Galante, 84000, Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Avignon
#3 Family Hotel in Avignon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
Price Range: $61 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garlande 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Garlande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garlande Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing