We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Family friendly hotel in heart of pedestrian zone in Avignon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Garlande

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Garlande
Ranked #1 of 70 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family friendly hotel in heart of pedestrian zone in Avignon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was a great find in Avignon. The hotel was in the pedestrian zone near many shops. It was quiet at night, even during the holiday week. This was a great hotel for travel with a family. The breakfast was wonderful with homemade yogurt and fresh bread and croissants. The rooms were comfortable and roomy. We fit 4 to one of the smaller rooms. Avignon is a great base to explore, through day trips, the Provence region in France. The restaurants were good, but not many were open during the holiday week. The hotel gives a discount on parking in Les Halles parking garage, which was very convenient. The owners were very helpful in modifying our pre-planned itinerary and spoke French to our boys, who are studying the language and culture.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    202
    32
    8
    8
See reviews for
129
388
39
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the beginning of February and appreciated the warm and friendly welcome we received when we arrived, from owners who speak great English, and who take every care to make their guests feel comfortable. The room was very cosy, and the breakfast perfect for setting us up for a long day. All the local information, advice and maps were really useful. We enjoyed the home made yoghurt and marmalade, and would recommend this hotel to anyone planning a visit to Avignon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D_McG186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed 4 nights in Hotel Garlande at the end of January 2013. Its very central, very secure and outstanding value for money. My room was very cosy. The hosts were absolutely magnificent. They made me feel very welcome, gave outstanding tips on attractions and even booked me into wonderful restaurants. Nothing was too much of a hassle for them. If you stay in Avignon you must stay here! I will be recommending it to friends who I know are visiting later this year.

Paul

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_de_Garlande, Owner at Hotel Garlande, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Paul,
Thank you very much for this so nice comment. We are happyt that you enjoyed your time in Avignon. We wish you a safe trip back in your country.
Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had a short stay in Avignon over 2 nights. Our hosts at Hotel Garlande were very helpful, friendly and accommodating. We were given advice on the top attractions and how best to optimise our short time in Avignon, including maps and assistance with booking and choosing restaurants in town. The room was very clean, newly re-furnished/renovated and very comfortable despite being on the small side ( but we chose the smaller standard room upon booking.) Overall we could not have asked more of our hosts or enjoyed our stay in Avignon more. Highly recommend this hotel for value/location and service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TVN89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We were two fifty-ish couples who only had 1 night to spend in Avignon, unfortunately, and my husband labored over where to spend our one precious night. He couldn't have made a better choice. The hotel is located in the heart of the old city, near the plaza and the Palace of the Pope's. The new owners had recently freshened everything up including new beds and did everything they could to make sure our short stay was special. We really recommend that you take them up on their breakfast which was fantastic for the price. Fresh pastries, homemade yogurt, jam, fruit, cereal, coffee and juices. I even got enough coffee, which is not easy in France, given that most serve tiny, very strong cups - but only one - no refills! We loved our stay and just wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: I think they push twin beds together to make a "double" so it is roomier than a standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

My fiancee and I spent Christmas Eve at this Hotel, we had some problem with our reservation because we've made it in the wrong date, and the attendants were very understanding and managed to get us a room. It's a very cosy place in a medieval structure and with good service and helpful people.
Delicious breakfast!
We had Wi-Fi, big bathroom in a very neat an clean room.

Room Tip: We've stayed in a big room at the highest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DRCoelho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

A friend and I stayed here for two nights, and I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough! The location is central but peaceful, close to the main attractions; the rooms are charming and immaculate; and you honestly cannot ask for a better host than Emmanuelle. She went out of her way to make us comfortable, providing ideas for things to do around town, and helping us book taxis. We had a very comfortable, entirely stress-free stay - thank you!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank selfadhesive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 70 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#10 of 70 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Ferme
0.1 mi away
Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garlande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garlande

Property: Hotel Garlande
Address: 20 rue Galante, 84000, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Avignon
#3 Family Hotel in Avignon
#4 Best Value Hotel in Avignon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Garlande 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Garlande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garlande Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing