We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Incredible” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Simple Simon

Simple Simon
Ranked #50 of 556 Restaurants in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Perfect in every way. The only downside, it's pricey. Beautiful English tea room done with French panache. The Whitby Salad blew my mind (especially the salmon pate), the dessert induced a food coma (crumble served with cream and custard, just as good as my mum's). Superb place for lunch. Be warned, go steady on breakfast, it's not light.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bingojesus63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    92
    10
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

A little off the beaten track but well worth looking for. It was packed when we visited - always a good sign - and for good reason! I can't comment on the main meals but the cakes we had were lovely. I shared a warm chocolate cake and slice of lemon meringue pie with two friends; the portions were huge so it was plenty between us. To drink I had what was allegedly a pot of hot chocolate for one; I got nearly five cups out of it! Not to mention it was the best hot chocolate I've ever had. My friend had the 'thé de Noel' (it being December; there is an extensive list of teas for the rest of the year) and it came in a beautiful vintage teapot.

The decor is very 'tea roomy' - lots of British things dotted about the place, cute pictures on the walls and very cosy and intimate. I felt very at home! Price-wise, things sound a little expensive for what they are but as the portions are so big, you get what you pay for. Service was fast and friendly even at such a busy time. Will definitely be returning before I leave Avignon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is a lovely spot to have tea or coffee. It has a very British feeling and serves the best sticky toffee pudding I have had - simply scrumptious. We didn't have lunch, only coffee and treats and would put this on the list to return to if we go back to Avignon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, KS
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Save room for dessert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

At the suggestion of our wine tour guide JB we went to Simple Simon for lunch. Step off the busy Avignon street and you are transported into a quaint English countryside cottage. Exposed stone walls, heavy wood beamed ceiling with a Union Jack and a picture of the queen on the wall. But what is most impressive is the large table of the most mouth wateringly delicious desserts you have ever encountered. My wife and I had lunch at Simple Simon on 16 October 2012. It is truly unfortunate that this restaurant is not open for dinner. During our lunch we met both owners and they did all they could to make us feel at home, right down to giving us a detailed explanation of each item on their dessert table. For lunch my wife had a salad with chicken and I had the lamb crumble. We both thoroughly enjoyed our meals and the conversations we had with the owners. Portions are generous but not overly large. But I'm saving the best for last. You cannot go to Simple Simon and not have a dessert. We split a piece (one piece is enough for two) of raspberry chocolate mint gateau. It was simply out of this world. If you are in Avignon and want a great lunch go to Simple Simon I cannot recommend it more highly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simple Simon also viewed

 
Avignon, Vaucluse
 

Been to Simple Simon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing