We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,780)
Filter reviews
1,780 results
Traveler rating
663
750
254
78
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
663
750
254
78
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main squaregreat locationterrace roomsuperior roomcentral locationwould stay here againmini barcafes and restaurantswithin walking distancepapal palacelovely hotelsmall roomcomfortable bedbreakfast was excellentreception staffold buildingcold meats
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 1,780 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2017 via mobile

Loved this Hotel. Situated right on Place de l'Horloge, it looks small, but in fact is surprisingly large, offers exceptional location, and a very good standard of comfort. Our air-conditioned Privilege room was at the side/rear of the hotel, good bathroom (shower over bath) with separate w.c, a couple of armchairs, mini-bar, tea and coffee making facilities. Good-sized bed with good quality linen. Everything as it should be, all clean and well looked after.

We didn't have breakfast in the breakfast room. There's no restaurant or bar, but with the scores of choices of both immediately available, and but a short walk away, that doesn't matter one bit. All of our chosen restaurants were within a 5 minute walk. The staff were welcoming, helpful and appropriate.

The hotel would be a good choice irrespective of location. Expect to pay 20 € for a taxi from Gare TGV, or significantly less from SNCF Avignon Centre. But with a location so central, yet so quiet inside, it's an outstanding choice. Will have no hesitation in returning to this haven from the bustling Place and beyond.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Rwwminstrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myriam F, Responsable commercial at Hotel de l'Horloge, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2017

Dear Rwwminstrel,
It is nice to read that you have loved the Hotel de l'Horloge, its location and your privilege room :) We have 66 rooms in all in the hotel and it is composed of 2 buildings. It may be the reason why you had this largeness feeling.
We make every effort to ensure that the comfort of the room, the furnishings and the welcome products bring complete satisfaction to our clientele, and I am glad to read that you enjoyed the whole!
Thank you also for your advice on transports, future travelers will certainly be happy to read you.
I hope to welcome you again in our beautiful city, see you soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2017 via mobile

We spent a couple of nights here recently and it was really good. We had a room with a terrace. The room was very comfortable with nice furnishings, spacious bathroom and sliding door onto attractive terrace with table & chairs and plants. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was good with plenty of choice to cater for all tastes. The location is exceptional, being a five minute walk to the Palais des Papes and a big selection of restaurants and bars. The one thing you have to do if you are driving is to make sure you set your satnav to take you to park in the Palais des Papes underground car park. You then have to walk with your luggage to the hotel. It's not a problem as it's close but it's best if you know in advance. There is no parking at or near the hotel in the streets nearby. We loved Avignon and will definitely return again to stay at this hotel

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank lunathedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myriam F, Responsable commercial at Hotel de l'Horloge, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2017

Dear Lunathedog,
I am pleased to know that your stay was fine and that the location of the hotel and the comfort of your room with terrace contributed to it.
Thank you for mentioning the kindness of our staff. I will send them your nice comment, they will be delighted to know that their services are appreciated!
Regarding parking, we offer a discount of 20% on the public rate, to our customers. It is indeed important to know that it is located a few minutes walk from the hotel.
I hope you have had a good return and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again during a future stay in our beautiful Avignon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2017

The location is fabulous. Right in the thick of things. Room very quiet despite being in the center of the action. Friendly staff, charming ambiance. BUT, the parking lot is very far and if you are dragging luggage, you must go over cobblestone streets and flights of stairs to the garage. The staff says the lot is not far, but they must not be dragging luggage.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myriam F, Responsable commercial at Hotel de l'Horloge, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2017

Dear Robin804,
Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor !
I am happy to read that you enjoyed the location, the comfort of your room, and the friendliness of our staff. I send them your message, they will be delighted to know that their services are valued!
Regarding parking, we offer a discount of 20% on the public rate, to our customers. It is located 5 mins walk from the hotel but in fact the streets of the city center are paved and it does not facilitate the journey with luggage.
I hope you have a good return and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again during a future stay in Avignon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2017 via mobile

Hotel L'Horloge is in a great central spot in the walled town of Avignon. I had just finished a day tour and stayed only one night, but enjoyed the experience. A beautiful, comfortable room with ensuite and full bath. Meticulously clean and neat and an oh so cosy bed and great pillows. Very important when travelling. 24/7 at reception was good as I arrived after 8pm. English speaking hotel staff, if you don't speak French . You're right near the main sights, as well as a great choice of restaurants and cafes. It's only a few minutes walk to the Avignon railway station ( trains go to the TGV from here) and the bus station for convenience. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
Thank Bowley21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myriam F, Responsable commercial at Hotel de l'Horloge, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2017

Dear Bowley21,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor and for having underscored the location of the hotel, on Place de l'Horloge, near the transports and the main points of interests !
Regarding the rooms and their comfort, we make every effort to ensure that the stay of our guests happens in the best conditions. It is nice to read that you enjoyed yours!
I hope welcoming you again in our hotel during a next trip in our beautiful region

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2017

Hotel was centrally located at the city main attraction. Room was a bit small but nicely organized and decorated. Bed was comfy, AC working great, bathroom was modern and clean, water flow is adequate. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Yoyo_Indonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myriam F, Responsable commercial at Hotel de l'Horloge, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2017

Dear Yoyo_Indonesia,
We are delighted to read that your stay with us was also enjoyable. Your feedback is a source of satisfaction and motivation and we will be delighted to share it with all of our staff.
I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Hotel de l'Horloge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews