We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Avignon Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de l'Horloge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de l'Horloge
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our Avignon Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

A little tricky for our Navigator to find. We arrived late in the day, greeted by friendly girl at front desk who provided map of area. Our room was pleasant and overlooked a back lane. The windows opened which we appreciated. Room was clean and bed comfy, only negative was shower recess. I would guess it measured about 50cm x 50cm with a curtain. Very well located for restaurants city sites.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    591
    213
    60
    25
See reviews for
182
821
84
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boyne City, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on the 2nd leg of a three part France vacation. The hotel was perfectly situated and easy to get to and from. We did have a car while we were there and found the parking to be convenient to the hotel as well as reasonably priced (8.60 Euros for 24 hours). We did not think the garage was difficult to find (just follow the signs for Palais du Pape Parking). The hotel itself had a lot of character. All of the people we interacted with were knowledgeable and friendly. We stayed in room 406. The room was huge compared to our Paris hotel room. There was a large, comfortable sitting area, desk and comfortable bed in the main part. The bath had a tub/shower unit and was very spacious. The room was clean. We found the wi-fi to work just fine. I don't know if we slept so soundly since we were constantly on the go or if the outside noise was not a factor. At any rate, we had no issues with it. Although we did not opt to include the breakfast we had it almost every morning. It was really quite good. If you are partial to more than a croissant and hot beverage for breakfast, I would definitely add this as (with much of France per our experience) "breakfast" as many American's know it is barely existent outside of hotels. Also a general word of advise for food in Avignon...while we had many good meals, I would recommend you avoid any establishment (except the take-away food) on Rue de la Republic. Overall I would recommend this hotel for your stay in Avignon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luvs2GetThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We arrived on Sept 20th during a city festival. The hotel was full and the city was crowded. I tried to book a superior room as recommended in previous reviews, but there were none available. I would have to say that the standard room is really quite basic, and definitely not what I would expect from a 4 star hotel, and not cheap either.
The hotel is very centrally positioned, which makes it quite difficult from a parking perspective. We found the hotel easily with the sat-nav, but there were no available spaces outside to park to drop off bags. It took ages driving around and we ended up in the very expensive parking l'Oratoire nearby (€20 per day). The hotel offers discounted parking at parking Palais des Papes (€9 per day). This is right beside le Pont d'Avignon, and well sign-posted. I met several other people that day with the same parking complaints. I would recommend that anyone driving here should either contact the hotel beforehand regarding parking directions. or print out a detailed street map, to get back from Palais des Papes to the hotel, just in case they experience the same difficulties.
The hotel is in the heart of the Place de l'horloge. However, I think the restaurants in the square and main streets are very tacky - we had the worst meal of our Provence trip. The following day we explored the pedestrianised area, just a few minutes walk from the hotel - this was a beautiful area, with many fantastic restaurants, and some lovely bars, around Rue de Vieux Sextier. We went to "La Tour Gourmand" - which was the best restaurant on our trip - just 5 mins walk from the place de l'horloge. When in Avignon, make sure you visit this area.

Room Tip: Try to book a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DublinKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Avignon is a tricky city. Inside the walls traffic is difficult and streets are narrow. The hotel is close to the main square, and, as the city, has narrow isles with some short stairs in the middle. We had heavy luggage, and had some trouble carrying it to our room. Parking is in a public parking, with a discount provided by the front desk.

Room was clean, clear and well decorated. Just the exact size to fit the furniture, two guests and their stuff. We had received a great tip for dinner from the front desk, which allowed us to see a beautiful street to where we would never go otherwise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fernando M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Good hotel, right off the square. Good value. Stayed in a superior room that was a respectable size with a large bathroom and huge tub. The staff seemed standoffish at first but were quite helpful actually. It's very close to the papal palace and shopping district. I'd skip the restaurants in the square though. Reception can recommend some better places to eat close by.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VanAnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We spent six nights here and enjoyed each one. Good sized room,small wardrobe a bit tight. Staff all helpful and the breakfasts were first class. Highly recommended. Location could not be better. Very close to all the best restaurants in the pizza.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
1 Thank 312wync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights. This was the hotel I chose to indulge myself by booking a Junior Suite. Everything was great. The room (No 412) was fantastic. It was very large with views onto the main square and the Place of the Popes visible behind it. The bed was very comfortable and I really slept well here. The bathroom was good with a large bathtub. The TV offering was good with BBC 1 and 2 included as well as various English speaking news channels. The breakfasts were good. The staff were reasonably helpful. I arrived early and the room was not ready, but they had a lounge/library on the first floor with a shared computer if required. The wifi connection worked well in the hotel.

The location is excellent being in the heart of the historic centre of Avignon, and within easy walking distance to all the sights of the town.

I would certainly want to stay there again if I ever go back to Avignon, and if the exchange rate allows at the time I would want to get that suite again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.1 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes
0.4 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#12 of 69 in Avignon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
3.5 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Horloge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Horloge

Property: Hotel de l'Horloge
Address: Entree 1 1 rue Felicien David | Place de l'Horloge, 84000, Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'Horloge 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today, the Hotel de l'Horloge is a 4-star hotel with character. This beautiful 19th century stone building is in a prime location, with its doors opening directly onto the Place de l'Horloge in Avignon. From this base in the city's historic and touristic centre, you'll be able to enjoy an unforgettable break and the gentle elegance of the various rooms. Avignon and its rich and varied heritage awaits you: its legendary Bridge from where you'll be able to admire the panorama of the medieval town dominated by the Pope's Palace, and also the squares, museums, magnificent town houses, antique shops and galleries that will make your stay even more memorable. Also suitable for a business trip, the Hotel de l'Horloge offers One-Night Stopovers as well as a light, well-equipped meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Priceline, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel de l'Horloge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l Horloge Hotel
Hotel De l Horloge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing