We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Cute, small rooms but a nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de l'Horloge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de l'Horloge
Ranked #10 of 70 Hotels in Avignon
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Cute, small rooms but a nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This cute hotel is right on/off the main square - be sure to look up (re: second floor) for the sign, or you'll miss which corner it's on! If you're at the bottom of the square (with the palace at the top) the hotel is on the left hand side, just after the first cafe. We certainly couldn't find it right away since we didn't know what we were looking for, but if you've gotten to the main town hall, you went too far.

Location is great when you're staying and on foot, but if you have a car, call and ask and PLAN for where you're parking. We didn't think ahead that they validate parking at a particular garage, so we parked at the wrong one for the weekend. On a normal day, it seems easy to get to the hotel by car- go up the main drag in old town to the square, and take your first left as there does seem to be a street that you can pull up next to, but due to some festival that weekend, the street was blocked and we couldn't get to the hotel. We had to park and carry our things over (about a 10 minute walk.) Maybe it would have been less had we parked at the "right" parking place.

Our room was on the 2nd floor and was super tiny since we got the least expensive rate. It fit just the bed, a desk and just enough room for our luggage. But it was clean and snug, the shower was quite small and narrow in our room, but my in-laws had a bigger room with a tub. The soaps were really nice!

We skipped the breakfast (so expensive) and found nice places in the square or around the city to get our petit dejuner menu.

Only thing was that food festival was happening in the square, so it was somewhat noisy with the loudspeaker during this time. At least it was quieter at night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank colliderbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    508
    185
    53
    22
See reviews for
148
668
71
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in November. It is such a good location , rightt on the main square and near all the main attractions within the city walls. Our room was so warm and cosy, with all you could want for an enjoyable stay. The staff were also very helpful. The breakfast was gopod , with plenty of choice. One thing, I would not recommend the hotel to anyone with mobility problems - there is a lift , but it is still a routemarch to the dining room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

An excellent hotel. Perfectly located in the centre of Avignon Old Town and close (but not too close) to the Palais des Papes.
My room was beautifully decorated and had a wonderful view of the Hotel De Ville.
Excellent advice should be sought from Alix one of the receptionists as to where to go and also where to eat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the side not one overlooking the Place de L'Horloge. You still get a view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We reserved a junior suite and upon check in were given a corner suite with fabulous views of the Place D'horloge below. The service at this small hotel was fantastic. The front desk attendant went out of his way to help us with everything. The ice machine broke and he went to a bar next door and got us ice. He made excellent restaurant recommendations and made reservations for us. The entire hotel has been either recently redone or was built recently inside of an old building. It makes for a very charming feel but with all modern comforts. Great hotel for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for corner room, 4 windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bwm7211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mtunzini, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Perfect location at the Papal Palace, but if claustrophobia is a weakness, rather move to a more spacious hotel as the rooms can only be described as cramped and weren't always made up, add this to poor plumbing and tiny showers and it's easy to feel that maybe the location wasn't such a big factor after all.

Room Tip: Ensure you insist on a non smoking room, parking is a fair distance away, so prepare to drop off lug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for the new year and there was a Christmas market right outside the hotel and we also had a beautiful view of this market. The hotel is bang in the centre and perfect for our stay in Avignon. The hotel staff were all very warm and friendly. The room was a superior one, a bit on the expensive side but honestly well worth it. The room was clean and warm and had really great toiletries. I would definitely recommend. We did not eat here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank staryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed every second of our stay at this wonderful old, yet modernized hotel! Everything from the amenities to the most helpful service was impeccable! Location was perfect...and our spacious corner room overlooked the main square as well as the Palais du Papes. The desk clerks recommended the perfect restaurants in the area - all within walking distance. Our four night stay there was not long enough...we will return...hopefully very soon!

Room Tip: Our corner room was perfect for late October!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebiTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.1 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#2 of 70 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 stars 649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 70 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 stars 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#13 of 70 in Avignon
3.5 of 5 stars 654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes
0.3 mi away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Horloge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Horloge

Property: Hotel de l'Horloge
Address: Entree 1 1 rue Felicien David | Place de l'Horloge, 84000, Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'Horloge 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today, the Hotel de l'Horloge is a 4-star hotel with character. This beautiful 19th century stone building is in a prime location, with its doors opening directly onto the Place de l'Horloge in Avignon. From this base in the city's historic and touristic centre, you'll be able to enjoy an unforgettable break and the gentle elegance of the various rooms. Avignon and its rich and varied heritage awaits you: its legendary Bridge from where you'll be able to admire the panorama of the medieval town dominated by the Pope's Palace, and also the squares, museums, magnificent town houses, antique shops and galleries that will make your stay even more memorable. Also suitable for a business trip, the Hotel de l'Horloge offers One-Night Stopovers as well as a light, well-equipped meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de l'Horloge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l Horloge Hotel
Hotel De l Horloge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing